We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Super Friendly Place!”
Review of Simple Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simple Lodge
Jacksonville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Super Friendly Place!”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Our family visited this hostel during our Christmas vacation and loved everything about it! Mallory, who greeted us when we arrived, was able to answer all of our questions. Jon and Julia, the owners, were also very friendly! The location is perfect because you can walk to restaurants, bars, quaint shops, and a locally owned movie theater. The mountain scenery is absolutely breath-taking. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. We can't wait to visit again in the summertime!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    16
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
17
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alamosa, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2011

If a cheap place to stay is the only thing you are worried about, then this is the place for you. Other than that the clientele is weird, the managers are never there, the beds are uncomfortable, and the room that I stayed in was almost unbearably cold, even with the provided small space heater on all night. The whole place is secured by a number pad lock on the front door. When I arrived, there was a note posted for me that contained pertinent information, like the key code to unlock the door. Unfortunately this was posted on the INTERIOR of the building where I couldn't get to it!

Bottom line: Cold, creepy, cramped, and cheap. The only "C" word lacking is comfort. Would NOT recommend and will never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simplehostel, Owner at Simple Lodge, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Sorry to hear about your experience with us. That time of year is generally very slow so staff is limited. I think your bad visit was an anomaly (see our other reviews) and we'd like you to visit again. Contact us anonymously via email, so we can compensate your last stay and make it worth your while for the next. Unfortunately, we have little control over clientele, but again, vast majority are "normal."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed here for a New Years snowboarding trip and loved it. We will definitely stay again next time we do a multi-day trip that way. The value was good and it was a comfy, cool place to call home base. I was a little chilly in our room but it was also -22f at night!

Room Tip: We picked a private room which does cost a little more but had a kitchen so we could save some $$ on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerilynjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

the simple lodge is an amazing stay. the hosts are great, kind people with adventurous spirits. so fitting for the town. i stayed during a grueling bike race in june 2010, they welcomed me with open arms and warm food, tending to my every need. it was like i was at home. can't say enough.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The room was great and the service was even better. It was nicer than any hostel I've been to in Europe. We chose the privacy of the suite, but were able to mingle with the other guests in the common areas (the back yard, front patio, lounge and kitchen). Definitely go with the host's restaurant and bar recommendations. There are several impressive options within walking distance.

Room Tip: Couples should definitely go for the suite if it's available. It was ample and comfortable, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simplehostel, Owner at Simple Lodge, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Thanks for the positive response! We try to make our place feel homelike. The suite is the only room in downtown with its own bathroom and it is perfect for couples.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
2.4 km away
No photo provided
2.4 km away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Salida
91 reviews
1.5 km away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
201 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.3 km away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simple Lodge

Property: Simple Lodge
Address: 224 E 1st St, Salida, CO 81201-2113
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Salida
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,483 - ₹ 5,158
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only lodging located in historic downtown Salida. Walk to everything or use a bike for free. We have bunk beds, private queen rooms, and a private suite with kitchen. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing