We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simple Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn(Salida)(Great Value!)
US$ 168
US$ 149
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites(Salida)(Great Value!)
US$ 164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Browns Canyon Inn(Salida)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Ridge Lodge(Salida)(Great Value!)
US$ 128
US$ 122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Inn & Suites(Salida)(Great Value!)
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Motel(Salida)(Great Value!)
US$ 121
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loyal Duke Lodge(Salida)(Great Value!)
US$ 126
US$ 123
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salida Hostel(Salida)(Great Value!)
US$ 134
US$ 131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 204
US$ 190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
47
17
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
17
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstay there againother guestsarkansas riverhostelmelhostsmattressdogaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2011

If a cheap place to stay is the only thing you are worried about, then this is the place for you. Other than that the clientele is weird, the managers are never there, the beds are uncomfortable, and the room that I stayed in was almost unbearably cold, even with the provided small space heater on all night. The whole place is secured by a number pad lock on the front door. When I arrived, there was a note posted for me that contained pertinent information, like the key code to unlock the door. Unfortunately this was posted on the INTERIOR of the building where I couldn't get to it!

Bottom line: Cold, creepy, cramped, and cheap. The only "C" word lacking is comfort. Would NOT recommend and will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simplehostel, Owner at Simple Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2011

Sorry to hear about your experience with us. That time of year is generally very slow so staff is limited. I think your bad visit was an anomaly (see our other reviews) and we'd like you to visit again. Contact us anonymously via email, so we can compensate your last stay and make it worth your while for the next. Unfortunately, we have little control over clientele, but again, vast majority are "normal."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed here for a New Years snowboarding trip and loved it. We will definitely stay again next time we do a multi-day trip that way. The value was good and it was a comfy, cool place to call home base. I was a little chilly in our room but it was also -22f at night!

Room Tip: We picked a private room which does cost a little more but had a kitchen so we could save some $$ on food.
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerilynjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

the simple lodge is an amazing stay. the hosts are great, kind people with adventurous spirits. so fitting for the town. i stayed during a grueling bike race in june 2010, they welcomed me with open arms and warm food, tending to my every need. it was like i was at home. can't say enough.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The room was great and the service was even better. It was nicer than any hostel I've been to in Europe. We chose the privacy of the suite, but were able to mingle with the other guests in the common areas (the back yard, front patio, lounge and kitchen). Definitely go with the host's restaurant and bar recommendations. There are several impressive options within walking distance.

Room Tip: Couples should definitely go for the suite if it's available. It was ample and comfortable, just like a home away from home should feel.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simplehostel, Owner at Simple Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2011

Thanks for the positive response! We try to make our place feel homelike. The suite is the only room in downtown with its own bathroom and it is perfect for couples.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

enjoyed my stay and the friendly serrvice from John and kimberly. they care about you .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bruce w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews