We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“totaly unexpected Kelvin UK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rico
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“totaly unexpected Kelvin UK”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We travel every year to the USA from the UK staying at inexpensive motels/hotels and usually quite satisfied.The only comparison with the Rico
is the inexpensive bit.An exceptional hotel and such a relaxing place to stay. The best inclusive breakfast eaten in an old fashioned lounge with a log fire and people talking to each other.The 30 min. drive to Telluride for the skiing was pleasant and there was easy parking there .Ate evening meal at the hotel and again exceptional fine dinning at cafe prices.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kelvin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    17
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We traveled to Rico in June 2011 and because of the Rico Hotel, we are making plans to return in a few months. My husband found the Rico Hotel while looking for places to stay close to Telluride. We had the third floor apartment that had a bedroom, living room/kitchen, and bathroom. It was plenty of space and a gorgeous view of the summer mountains. The rooms were spotless! But the best part was the breakfast each morning. Fresh fruit, breads, breakfast casserole, coffee and juice. And the owner happens to be a world-renowned chef who left the fast paced life to settle down in this quiet town. The restaurant connected to the hotel is worth saving your pennies for. The service is outstanding as well. I have a much more detailed report on my blog with pictures of the rooms and meals. If anybody is looking to visit the Telluride area, consider the Rico Hotel.
http://www.katrina-runs.com/rico-hotel-colorado-2011

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinaRuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Do not be put off by the rather unkempt appearance of the outside space of this hotel; the proprietor and his staff are far too busy making the hotel comfortable and preparing the most amazing food for their guests to be worrying about the weeds and the overgrown grass outside!! Our room was a little out of the ordinary in that it had a large metal bedstead with cosy mattress, a small writing desk and an enormous leather chair and foot stool that had clearly seen many a wet pair of ski-pants and jacket at the end of a long day on the slopes! The bathroom was large by anyone’s standards and fitted with storage space for clothes and boots. We had a room on the first floor but we believe that the rooms on the ground floor have shared facilities. The view wasn’t particularly noteworthy – apart from the mountains! – as the surrounding dwellings were assorted cabins rather haphazardly scattered around this, the only hotel in Rico. There is a large communal area in the hotel boasting a huge fireplace; we could easily imagine log fires after a day’s skiing. The dining room is a little dark and has a number of alcoves for its diners all of whom have a good view of the relatively small kitchen…….but the food is to die for!! The chef used to cook for the rich and famous but quit the rat race to work in his own space and on his terms – more likely as not he will be the one who checks you in and out of the hotel as well! He looks relaxed, has a lovely young girl quietly washing up as he cooks and any wait you might have for your meal is well worth it. Sweet corn chowder and steaks the like you will never have tasted before! If you get up the following morning feeling as if you probably never need eat again…..wait until you smell breakfast!! We celebrated our wedding anniversary in this hotel and only wish we could return to do the same next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WirralStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I just had the best dinner I've had in ages!!! Wow! The hotel is quaint and clean and I will stay here every time I travel to Rico for work.

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank redlizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We originally had reservations in Dolores but cancelled because it was not clean and tidy. The Rico Hotel was a blessing. They had a room where pets were allowed and we were pleased with every aspect. It is an older building so the rooms were not soundproof but it wasn't a serious issue. We had an amazing meal in their restaurant - a trip highlight.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desertsand12282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rico
15.5 km away
Circle K Guest Ranch
Circle K Guest Ranch
#2 of 2 in Dolores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
31.0 km away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
20.4 km away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 km away
The Angler Inn
The Angler Inn
#1 of 1 in Placerville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
33.2 km away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
31.5 km away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge

Property: Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge
Address: 124, S. Hwy. 145, P.O. Box 65, Rico, CO 81332
Region: United States > Colorado > Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rico
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,156 - ₹ 11,341
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter in the San Juan mountains of Colorado.Relax after a hard day of skiing on the world class slopes of Telluride.Sit by a cosy fire in our Great Room with a beverage of your choice from our full Bar.Afterwards enjoy a memorable meal in our award winning restaurant.Rooms from $50 -$180. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rico Hotel Mountain Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing