We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very relaxing!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We arrived from sea level thoroughly exhausted. The relaxed atmosphere with four hot tubs on site could not have been more welcome. Just the right distance from Main Street so we feel that we get to walk a little and acclimate to the altitude. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: For a quieter stay request a room facing away from the parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear KenyPat,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

At 7850 ft, Ouray is definitely a change from sea level! The short walk to all of the shops and restaurants on Main Street is a great way to not only get a feel for the altitude, but it is also just a lovely walk. The Victorian arcitecture of most of the homes on Main Street date back to the birth of Ouray and are truly works of art.

Our mineral hot spring tubs, which are tiered on the hillside in our courtyard are a perfect way to relax and experience these soothing waters. Whether enjoying your morning coffee in the crisp morning air, or soaking sore muscles under a blanket of stars, the views are spectacular.
Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    145
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
119
333
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have been to Ouray many times and have stayed at multiple properties. The Box Canyon Lodge was our most recent stay. My room was in perfect working order, very comfortable bed and all the basic amenities were there. It has a log cabin feel on the outside with beautiful flower everywhere. No trash anywhere and everything was in perfect working order. The real bonus is that they have six hot tubs outside with varying temperatures, so you can manage just how hot you like it. The provide coffee, juices and muffins complimentary for breakfast. If you want more, you will need to walk drive a couple blocks to the restaurants in town.

Room Tip: No pool, but I rated the pool as a 5 for the hot tubs. If you get a room on the back side of the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Steve W,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to Ouray and the Box Canyon Lodge.
It is very important to us that each guest receives excellent service in addition to providing clean comfortable rooms with all of the amenities you have come to expect on vacation. Part of providing a comfortable stay is the appearance of our grounds. Ouray is such a lovely place, adding flowers and hummingbird feeders in the warmer months seems to only add to the magic of the place.
Our four mineral hot tubs terraced on the hillside in our courtyard are a great addition. the water comes out of the ground at about 140 degrees. We pump it into a cooling tank, which also serves to heat the tap water in the rooms, as well as to heat the rooms in the winter months. when the water is cooled enough and put into the tubs, we do try to vary the temperatures to accommodate as many tastes as possible. Above the tubs, did you get a chance to check out the picnic tables and bench swing? Definitely a wonderful place to enjoy the peace and beauty of Ouray without leaving the property!
We provide a very light continental breakfast for our guests. Fresh muffins baked by a local caterer, juice, tea, and coffee we roast ourselves; just enough to get you going. We want our guests to enjoy the many great restaurants just a few blocks away.
Once again, thank you for reviewing our property, and we look forward to seeing you time and again!

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchville
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay 2 night stay at this hotel and loved Ouray! The staff at the front desk couldn't be friendlier and the location has beautiful views. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hot tubs are fabulous and we enjoyed a soak at night under the stars after a long drive the first night we arrived. It was an easy walk into town and also to the Box Canyon Falls. I'd love to travel back to Ouray again and would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadtripperColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear RoadtripperColl,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your time with us.
The entire staff at the Box Canyon Lodge takes great pride in providing guests with a wonderful experience. Living in such a beautiful spot, it is always a pleasure to share the best activities and locations with our guests.
Our mineral hot springs are a great way to wind down after a day of exploring the San Juans, particularly on a clear night under a blanket of stars, and Ouray boasts a number of terrific restaurants and shops to explore.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, AL
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Spent two nights at Box Canyon while visiting Ouray, Silverton, Ironton ghost town, Yankee Boy Basin and the Million Dollar Highway. Large, clean and comfortable rooms in a convenient location near restaurants and hot springs.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALALtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear ALALtraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us in Ouray.
Ouray is the perfect central location for an adventure in Southwest Colorado. The Million Dollar Highway, or Red Mountain Pass is an extraordinary drive. Often listed in the top ten scenic drives in the country, and with access to so many four-wheel drive roads, the 27 miles between Ouray and Silverton can take one hour, or a full day if you explore the ghost towns and waterfalls easily accessed from the highway.
Our goal at the Box Canyon Lodge is to provide every guest with clean, comfortable rooms, and service that will exceed any expectations. Nestled in the south west corner of town, it is easy to feel far distant from the hustle and bustle of town while in truth, you are only a couple of blocks from all the activity.
Thank you again for your visit, and taking the time to write a review for us. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful, great place to stay with the family

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Stephanie R

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on our property.
Located in the southwest corner of Ouray, at the base of the entrance to the Box Canyon Waterfall and Park, The lodge is in a perfect location for whatever you may want to do on your Ouray adventure.

We are just a few blocks from all of the restaurants and shops on Main Street, but appear to be so much more secluded, giving the Lodge a more secluded feel safe from heavy traffic. Our Mineral Hot Springs, located in a grassy little courtyard are great fun for the entire family, providing yet more of a sense of privacy in a beautiful setting.

Than you again for your visit, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.1 km away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
1.5 km away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
857 reviews
0.4 km away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#4 of 15 in Ouray
460 reviews
0.3 km away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
94 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Property: Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ouray
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,125 - ₹ 14,510
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is Ouray's most popular getaway experience. We offer extremely clean, attractively decorated rooms with a unique rustic flair. Our rooms range from king sized suites to beautifully designed honeymoon suites. Our rooms come equipped with Satellite TV, Wi Fi, and microwaves. Kitchens and fireplaces are also available for select rooms. Our hot tubs are what keeps our guests returning every year. Utilizing the natural local hot springs, our barrel shaped hot tubs offer a relaxing and unique experience for our guests. Open all day long, our guests enjoy a beautiful view of the San Juan Mountainside, under a gorgeous sky or a blanket of stars. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our springs after a long hike or jeep trip up the mountain during the summer, or after a challenging ski trip or ice climbing excursion in the winter. The natural, beautiful countryside offers the perfect backdrop to a wedding as well. We are able to accommodate wedding parties with advance notice. Join us for your next getaway, and see why our guests keep coming back every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing