We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Stunning views even when there’s no ice

Park is at the south end of town shortly before the entrance to Box Camyon Falls. Observation... read more

Reviewed 26 August 2018
chitownsam
,
Chicago, Illinois
Beautiful

First visit and first time climbing 100 feet on an ICE wall. An existential experience to say the... read more

Reviewed 21 February 2018
hikingforreal
,
The Springs
Read all 71 reviews
  
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
61
6
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
6
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews school room frozen waterfall rock walls learn how climbers rope spectator canyon lesson spray
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Absolutely beautiful. A must see during the winter. Ice climbers and all!! Fun day.

Date of experience: February 2012
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

It's amazing how some people are able to climb up a wall of ice

Date of experience: February 2012
Thank patricia452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

AWESOME park! The park crew does a fantastic job farming the ice and keeping it as fat as possible. A bunch of friendly guys and gals that are there to help. Been going there for 9 years and always a GREAT time. Climber or not, you got'a see the park!

Date of experience: February 2012
Thank Wild-Bill742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The Ice Park is amazing! The walks to the climbing areas is very well maintained and so easy to get to. Once in the canyon, there is so much ice....it is really a beautiful spot! The ice climbing is super fun and it is easy to set up top ropes.

Date of experience: February 2012
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I suppose some people might consider the Ouray Ice Park the Disneyland of ice climbing because the approach is not one scattered with the ghosts of climbers past, but I love the Ice Park. My friends and I only get to climb ice once or twice a year so we like to fit in as much climbing and vacation into one giant but time-off-from-work friendly package.

Outside of the madness of trying to climb during Ice Fest, the park is generally not overly crowded and the people you run across there are friendly. The routes vary in difficulty from schoolroomesque beginners level difficulty in the Schoolroom section to more difficult seasoned climber difficulty in the mixed or lead only sections.

My first visit to Ice Fest and the park was in 2001 and back then, it was much easier to enjoy being a climber and also watching the real climbers compete. The last Ice Fest I attended, the crowds had grown (hooray for your success), but because of that, it was harder to find a place to run a rope for our group of four. That said, if you are near the Park during Ice Fest, it is worth a visit to watch and share some climbing lifestyle!

The park is free but there are some rules and if you are unexperienced as a climber or moving on ice you should consider hiring a guide. The cliffs are indeed cliffs and a fall is indeed a fall. Be smart, be safe and have fun!

Date of experience: February 2012
Thank starfishprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews