We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Place would highly recommend”
The Champlain, entrance and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Champlain, entrance and garden
Le Vermont Holiday Home front & courtyard side (before pergola). terrace is great for BBQs!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Champlain, entrance and garden
Le Vermont Holiday Home
front & courtyard side (before pergola). terrace is great for BBQs!
Le Champlain entrance and back
Le Champlain in the spring
Downstairs bedroom, view of back field, en suite bath
Upstairs double room, courtyard view
Upstairs bedroom, view of backfield and orchard
Kitchen and salon giving onto terrace
downstairs bathroom, wheelchair accessible
upstairs bathroom -- king sized shower!
upstairs bathroom
complete kitchen, washing machine included, and living room
the Champlain at night. Pergola up.
Champlain kitchen window gives onto the courtyard.
entrance to the Vermont
Le Pointe du Hoc, photo taken from the end of our road.
Le Chaos, Omaha sector
Omaha Beach--about 6 km from us.
living room.  telly & DVD player--we have a good selection of DVDs for all ages.
well-lit kitchen.  big table, great for a games night!
homey touches
the port at Grandcamp-Maisy; you can buy fish at the market, fresh off the boats.
Champlain, on the left, from the backfield.  Good for croquet, badminton, or just running around!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Saint Pierre du Mont, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SuffolkMa...
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place would highly recommend”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great location for D-Day beaches, especially Omaha.
A short walk to the end of the road gives you a beautiful view of Pointe du Hoc.
Accommodation is of a very high standard and Hillary did everything to make us feel completely at home, nothing was too much trouble. We were a family of 7 - and the accommodation worked very well. Would definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polly S
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just...the best”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How lucky am I to know the first people to ever book with Hilary? I stayed at Le Champlain at Le Vermont in April 2015 with friends June and Trevor and had a wonderful couple of days visiting the locality, taking walks along the top of the beaches, enjoying the gardens and animals that surround Hilary. Good food - good wine - good company...what more can any one wish for? Will be back for sure.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location was wonderful and the animals lovely, their names made me giggle
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DogGreenS...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb !!!!!!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My apologies to Hilary for not writing this sooner, I was lucky enough to stay at Le Champlain in August 2014 with my partner and daughter. I've been visiting Normandy for over 25 years and this is probably the best Gite I have ever stayed in in the region. Hilary was fantastic from when I first asked about availibility to the moment we left. The accomodation is located just down from Pointe Du Hoc and is ideally located for exploring both the landing/invasion areas to the whole of Normandy in general. The accomodation has been prepared to a fantastic standard and covered everything we needed and more. There is private on site secure parking in a very peaceful and tranquil spot with the cliffs just a short walk down the road outside the house. Hilary is a top host and nothing was too much trouble and this would be a great location both for the first time visitor to the area or the regular Francophile like myself. If I have one regret its that we could only stay for four days and that was due to the fact that it was fully booked the rest of the time !! So my advice would be to get in early with your bookings and you won't be dissapointed and I hope to get over again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Literally everything, it really was that good !
Liked least: nothing it was all superb !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hog-Catch...
St. Augustine, FL
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“PAR Excellence!!!”
Reviewed 6 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My family stayed 5 nights at Le Champlain at Le Vermont while on touring the Normandy area in France. We were received like her family, the rooms were exceptionally clean. very comfortable, and we loved the place. It was very quiet and centrally located for touring around the Normandy countryside.

Hillary went out of her way to make us feel at home. She is the most gracious and accommodating hostess, always ready with driving directions, restaurant recommendations and suggestions for day trips

I would not hesitate to come back and in fact would look forward to it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of the property.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glavalson
oakland, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic stay in the French countryside.”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Le Vermont is beautiful, quiet, secure, clean and just a 10 minute walk through farm land to the cliffs. A small fishing village with restaurants, bars and a supermarket is just a 5 minute drive through the French Countryside. Hillary was very attentive and her dogs are friendly and fun to play with. It was ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surrounding countryside!!!
Liked least: Internet access was difficult.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing