We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Experience”
Salamander garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salamander garden
the Salamander, 9 July 2013, roses in bloom upstairs bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Salamander garden
the Salamander, 9 July 2013, roses in bloom
upstairs bedroom
downstairs bedroom
downstairs bathroom
Le Vermont from the back field
Norman armoire in the master bedroom
The Pointe du Hoc
the conservatory
the coast line east of Saint Pierre du Mont
The American Cemetery at Colleville sur Mer, 15 mn from us
The church at Saint Pierre, the earliest part of which dates from the 12th century
the reception committee, Georges.
the Salamander at night
Henny & Penny
Kitchen showing mezzanine and bedroom
kitchen
the Vermont gates and the Salamander
the conservatory
Salamander  garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Saint Pierre du Mont, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
khawk22
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My wife and I travelled to Normandy with my parents who are around 70 years old. We stayed at the Salamander for a week in July and had a great time. The unit is comfortable and well appointed. We really can't find anything to complain about. We spent 6 weeks of the summer staying in different gites and this one was our favourite. The place was clean, comfortable and well-located (assuming you have a car). The hosts were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is interested in staying in this area.

Oh, and I would consider it excellent value for money!

Thanks Patrick and Hilary!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamandBon...
Plainfield, Vermont
1 review
“Perfect cottage, perfect hosts, perfect location to explore WW ll sites”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Le Vermont for 5 days in April, 2014, and were so happy with the charming cottage and our very helpful hosts, Hilary and Patrick. The cottage was spotless, more than spacious for my husband and I, and with an efficient kitchenette, allowed for cooking at home (which we did after buying just-caught fish from the wives of the local fishermen). Hilary and Patrick provided maps, guidebooks and their expert advice on what to see and where to eat. Since we chose the bed and breakfast option, Hilary made us a hearty breakfast and took special care to respect my husbands dietary issues.
Le Vermont is located in the center of the D-Day beaches, near the American Cemetery. With our rental car, we drove to nearby towns like Bayeaux to see the Tapestry (incredible!) and to the coastal city of Honfleur, a delightful town filled with cafes, shops, art, and a wonderful antidote to the somber historical sites.
Normandy was truly memorable, and Le Vermont is a perfect place to stay while exploring the region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muleskinn...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Serenity in Normandy”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed here with family, for three nights while visiting D Day sites in the area. The host Hillary couldn’t have been more helpful or friendly; the converted barn where we were staying was everything we could have hoped for. After full days site seeing it was great to come back, relax and chill out. Hillary keeps geese, chickens & ducks, and it was a highlight of our morning to see them be let out and the ducks running for the pond. I would highly recommend the Salamander to anyone who’s planning to visit the area; it has a great location, within walking distance of pointe de hoc and Grandcamp-massy just down the road. We crammed as much as we could into the time we had in Normandy, it would have be nice to spend more time at the Salamander, there’s always next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ducks
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alynthomp...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“escape to the Salamander in beautiful Normandy”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

chose the salamander after reading how comfortable it seemed on the reviews and after emailing Hilary the owner who got back to me immediately I knew this was the right place to stay to visit the Normandy landings with my husband my sister & my brother in law.
when we arrived at the Salamander we were very impressed with the style and the very warm welcome Hilary gave us.
nothing was too much trouble there was a lovely bottle of cider left in the fridge for us, and the cottage exceeded our expectations it was so comfortable, and everything you could need was provided.
the cottage has two bedrooms one on a mezzanine level The downstairs bathroom is quite large and has a wet room.
the kitchen has every convenience and the lounge has a TV a wide range books to read
for all ages. We were also introduced to Hillarys ducks and chickens who were all great characters.
It's a great place to stay and Hillary makes you feel very welcome. I would highly recommend staying at the Salamander.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort an quirky ness of the cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming home away from home in a perfect location”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My husband and I and our 16 year old son stayed in the Salamander Cottage at Le Vermont for four nights between Christmas and New Year 2013. We would happily have stayed longer. Le Vermont is a lovely, charming property, conveniently located close to D Day landing beaches, historical sites and the American military cemetery. Normandy is a beautiful region and there is so much to see and do. Bayeaux is a 20 minute drive away and Mont St Michel, about a 90 minute drive, is an easy day trip. The cottage is modern and cosy and has all the comforts of home, along with a bookcase full of information about the area, and free wifi. We self catered and enjoyed going into Grandcamp Maisy, about 5 minutes or so by car, to the supermarket, boulangerie and patisserie for supplies and also enjoyed a meal out at one of the local restaurants. Hilary is a warm and engaging host - nothing is too much trouble - and we enjoyed our aperitif with her and her son, Tom, on our last night. We hope to be back one day. Terrific value for money and highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm and comfort of the cottage - and the location!
Liked least: There was nothing to like least -
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing