We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We chose to stay in the Carriage House for the extra bit of privacy. Due to the fabulous location: (you are close to everything and off both the main street and adequate parking) I can say that the pricing was fair. However, the mismatched furniture in the lower carriage house is old, broken down, and not very comfortable! It's not "rugged" which might conjure an image of a certain style that is function and comfortable but not formal,- it's just plain old and worn out.The arm chair may have been charming many years ago, but is so "butt sprung" that one almost hits the floor when sitting. The sofa is faded and threadbare and not very comfortable, and the day bed is...well, it's a day bed. Everything looks like the furniture you might send to college with a rough and rowdy son so you would not worry about it being damaged.
Another problem was that the entire unit is very, very dark: very dim lighting overhead, and only a few lamps here and there making it tough to read! I planned to spend hours reading, but was only able to read during the daylight next to a window, or sitting on the edge of the bed with the book shoved under the lamp on the bedside table.
Having shopped in many of the stores downtown, I know it would take a very minor investment to completely change the interior of this one unit. There is a wealth of used furniture available. Perhaps the owners do not need to change anything to have plenty of business. We would probably stay elsewhere if we returned to the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenn1, Owner at Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your suggestions for improving the lower Carriage House. We have been working hard the past 3 years we have owned the Avenue Hotel B&B with the Carriage House to paint, replace carpet, refurnish, and replace beds, bedding and linens in all 7 rooms of the inn as well as the 2 units in the Carriage House.
“Rugged” is not a word we have used to describe our cottage but quaint and cozy. The dark red floral couch is an older style, a bit faded but is still in good condition and not threadbare; comfort is different for everyone. We do more often than not rent to families with small children, hence the day bed to provide twin beds for children. The arm chair is old and charming the springs are not in great shape but it is not threadbare. Replacing used mismatched furniture with more used furniture?
It is surprising to most guests’ how quickly we lose our sunlight in the winter tucked up against the mountain as we are. The garden level Carriage House seems dim by mid-afternoon in the winter. In the living room we are trying to provide enough light, each of the two end tables have a lamp, the entertainment center has a lamp, and the overhead fan has a lamp kit which has the maximum watts allowed. Perhaps a pole lamp should be added for reading in the living room. The bedroom has an overhead light and each bedside table has a lamp. We are trying to move into being a “Green” inn and use energy smart bulbs, they take a while to warm up and seem very dull at first.
We have a short season that has to get us through a long, long winter and we make improvements as we can. Thank you for staying with us and appreciate your business and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our fantastic location. We always like to hear how we can improve and make things better for guests yet to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    37
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
219
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
jrc11
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We loved our stay at the Avenue Hotel. The location is fantastic, right in the heart of Manitou Springs. The proprietress is very friendly. We stayed in the Pawnee Room, which has a separate sitting room apart from the bedroom. We'll stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed at this bed and breakfast on two different occasions. The first stay was with my two young daughters. The unit was comfortable, but there were a few pesty little insects who took residence in the room and after I got rid of them everyting was fine.The breakfast started out good, but the french toast pastry was doughy.

The next stay was during the Christmas holiday with a family member. The rooms were nice but chilly. You would have thought the innkeeper would have adjusted the temperature for the only guest in the B & B, not. The food was better this time around and the innkeeper is very pleasant. The owner recommended the Manitou Suite, however the bathroom is quite tiny, the shower was so small I bumped my elbow several times. There was another room which would have given us more bathroom space. I mentioned in a phone call upon my arrival that I had a coupon for a free night stay. The B & B was running a special rate and the owner stated she would honor the rate special, when I recieved the bill it was round $40.00 higher. The flat screen TV is also small and could have been bigger.

Room Tip: Checkout the bathroom first before committing to a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAWW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenn1, Owner at Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
The special room rate of $95 per night was honored as well the free night coupon. However, as with all good things you do have to pay the state & city taxes. Plus a Girls Night Inn package was added. I try to make sure my guest are comfortable . My phone number is in the rooms in 2 different places for you to call if you need anything. The heat was turned up as soon as you asked I did not know it had been turned down. These old 125 year old historic buildings don't have insulation and cool off quickly between heat cycles. I never mind if guests choose to change rooms if the room is unoccupied. The Manitou Suite is the only room with 2 Queen beds; we toured the house I don't believe you wanted a Twin bed and a Queen bed for the bigger bath. Yep, we have little flatscreen TV's for light viewing we have no intention of big TV's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Hard to find a bed and breakfast that will accommodate a child.....and understandably so. But Avenue has the lower level of a garden cottage out back where they will allow a child. We brought our 5 year old (a well behaved one mind you) and this worked very nicely for us as it felt much more special than a motel and yet appropriate for our daughter. Gwenn serves breakfast directly to the cottage so as not to have a child hanging out in the main house. Yet she was definitely very warm to my daughter and we felt appreciated. The place is very nice but not stuffy or "museum" like. The house was decorated BEAUTIFULLY for the Christmas season. One more thing of note....all of the windows are large and above ground in the bottom part of the cottage so it feels like a regular cottage. We did not have anyone above us during the time of our visit.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here years ago when we were first getting to know one another. We came back for an anniversary of sorts, to find new owners had taken it to the next level. They are great proprietors, friendly, helpful, and the rooms have all been improved somewhat. The baked goods are fantastic, and the location is superb for wandering around downtown Manitou Springs, and only a short drive to Colorado Springs for more advanced sightseeing. Highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyMntWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.4 km away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
827 reviews
8.5 km away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,906 reviews
1.3 km away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
548 reviews
8.1 km away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,284 reviews
4.7 km away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 711 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,575 - ₹ 10,539
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience, the Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast a Manitou Springs bed and breakfast inn, the venue voted the best bed and breakfast in the Colorado Springs metro area the past 3 years. The 1886 Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast, a stately Queen Ann, is beautifully restored with the guests comfort in mind. We offer a comfortable retreat and warm friendly atmosphere with complimentary beverages, wine or beer in the afternoon, homemade cookies and a scrumptious breakfast. Let us pamper you! Hosts Gwenn and Randy provide thoughtful amenities; locally made bath products, free movies, free WIFI. Explore the picturesque area then soak in the hot tub on the patio. Massage therapy can be scheduled in advance. With an ideal location in the downtown historic district all shops, galleries and restaurants are just a walk out the front door.The Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast is a great starting point for your Colorado adventure. Enjoy the many area attractions in Manitou Springs, such as Pikes Peak and the Cog Railroad, Garden of the Gods, Manitou Cliff Dwellings, and Cave of the Winds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing