We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, cheap and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Wing Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Wing Motel
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Friendly, cheap and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

This is a typical mom & pop style motel. The decor is a little dated but the room was spotlessly clean and the rates are very cheap (we paid approx $40). The owner is very friendly and helpful, she even called the cog railway ticket office for us to check if they had spaces available for that morning. We had called the day before arrival to reconfirm our late arrival and check if the rooms had hairdryers. We were told that our keys would be left in the mailbox outside reception and that a hairdryer would be put in our room, both our requests were fulfilled. The motel is within walking distance of Manitou Avenue where we found a nice local diner for breakfast. You will need to drive to the main downtown area and the cog railway as these are a bit further away.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dromomaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
14
25
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Vernon, Indiana
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

This motel is old, but very clean. The staff is great they are full of information on where to go, what to do and where to eat. The garden of the Gods park is just two blocks from the Motel. The room was very clean and very reasonable in price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandT47265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

My husband and I stayed there a few times a few years ago while we were looking for a home to purchase. We traveled with our cat, and we were all welcomed at the Red Wing. Ron, Jennifer and the rest of the gang were terrific. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable, and they took great care of our cat while we were out and about. Puddy & Jennifer became great friends! They also rent to folks needing a quality place at an affordable price for an extended period of time. I highly recommend the Red Wing - quiet, good location, and great value. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanStel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

Very clean, very comfortable, outstanding staff, in a quiet neighborhood, walking distance (2 blocks) to Garden of the Gods. One of the older motels in town, but is well maintained and the best value I have seen in a long time. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it highly for someone who is looking for a clean no-frills accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saber9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

The staff is very nice here. There needs to be a lot of updates made...although you can see they started, the bathroom was updated and nice. Need new beds, pillows, and linens. Pool was nice. If you do stay here make sure when you close your door you lock it with your key...it doesn't automatically lock. The other people staying at the hotel were very nice. If you cannot walk up stairs make sure to ask for a room on the ground level.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhd28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
2.3 km away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.8 km away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 km away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#44 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.7 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Mo...
#4 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wing Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wing Motel

Property: Red Wing Motel
Address: 56 El Paso Blvd, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-2455
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,606 - ₹ 11,986
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Wing Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wing Motel, nestled at the base of Mt. Manitou and Pikes Peak, gateway to the Garden of the Gods. Offering boutique lodging, newly renovated, clean, quiet, comfortable non-smoking facility. Your choice of one queen bed, two full beds or full size kitchen units. We are located off the main road with unobstructed views of Pikes Peak, friendly service, flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi. The Pikes Peak Region offers 25 of the region’s best attractions, 14 unique to North America. We also have biking, hiking, rock climbing, rollerblading skate boarding, deer watching, shopping, dining or a stroll along Fountain Creek all in the village of Manitou Springs. Full service accommodation offering extended stay and nightly choices. All new everything! Free Wi-Fi, flat screen smart TV, new beds with friendly customer service. The best assets of Manitou Springs are at the doorstep of the Red Wing Motel, gateway to the Garden of the Gods. The property is clean/quiet, non-smoking boutique motel, reasonably priced, views of Pikes Peak, comfortable and convenient. Nightly rooms offer a choice of one queen or two full size beds with private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Red Wing Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wing Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing