We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic, Magical and Memorable”

Majestic Dude Ranch
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Mancos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A family-owned and oriented guest ranch nestled high in the pristine wilderness of the San Juan Mountains and just 35 minutes from Durango, CO. Since 1956, Lake Mancos Ranch (now re-named the Majestic Dude Ranch) has been offering our guests a home away from home in the Colorado mountains 35 miles west of Durango. A week-long, all-inclusive dude ranch vacation provides families with a lifetime of memories, whether that means long rides on a mountain trail, guided mountain bike tours, hikes in the neighboring national forest, catching a rainbow trout along the banks of a cool stream, lake or river, or just relaxing by the fire with friends.
Reviewed 4 July 2017

The Majestic Dude Ranch set the bar high. Robert and his wonderful staff made my family feel welcome, at home and completely at ease. It was wonderful from the vistas to the serenity of the never have to leave the ranch grounds. MDR has days and nights filled of activities and fun. My kids couldnt get enough and bonded with the camp counselors. The kids have been on Disney cruises, trips to Hawaii, and by far this trumps them all. It was just as much for the adults and the dining was as good as it comes. It was nice the entire family went off the grid and enjoyed activities together and among the other families. I cant say enough nice things about MDR. We will be back! Only recommendation is come on an empty stomach!

Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert b, Owner at Majestic Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for putting us in the category of Hawaii and Disney cruises - we really appreciate the classification. We will certainly add "come on an empty stomach" to our brochure :) We really miss hosting your family and hope you'll be able to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mountain biking"
in 24 reviews
"fly fishing"
in 13 reviews
"clay pigeon shooting"
in 6 reviews
"paint ball"
in 3 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 12 reviews
"kids program"
in 3 reviews
"ranged in age"
in 3 reviews
"incredible staff"
in 2 reviews
"hot tub"
in 4 reviews
"kitchen staff"
in 2 reviews
"riding abilities"
in 2 reviews
"clay pigeons"
in 2 reviews
"family reunion"
in 2 reviews
"mesa verde"
in 3 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 2 reviews
"counselors"
in 9 reviews
"foosball"
in 4 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017

Our three-generational family, ages 13 to 88, just spent a week at Majestic, and each and everyone of us had a great time. While I (the 88er) mostly watched, the others were kept busy trying to do all the activities scheduled., mornings, afternoons, and evenings. Owners Robert and Jamie also accommodated us and others with any special activities requested. The staff was very helpful, the food was great, and Melton (?) the alpaca put on a great show!

Thank pabloburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We had a great time. The staff was phenomenal, welcoming, accommodating, experienced and friendly. The food was great and the chef made accommodations for a food allergy with a phone call ahead to be sure he was aware of our needs, and then followed up everyday with special items. The activities abound with opportunities for all levels, there was more than enough adventure to go around with plenty of time to relax as well.

Thank jcreaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert b, Owner at Majestic Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Thank you so much for the terrific comments about our staff - they really do take pride in providing guests with a memorable vacation experience. We're really happy you had the chance to experience our adventure oriented activities and have a chance to relax as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

My granddaughter wanted to spend time with horses and not just for a day or two.I came across majestic dude ranch and boy am I glad I did!It was out of this world from the staff(always willing to do whatever to make you comfortable and happy to the activities they provided at no extra cost. Our accommodation was great, very clean and tidy with a selection of free snacks (that were replenished daily)... the views from the cabin were great with masses of wildlife coming up close (Humming Birds, Mule Deer etc). The week we stayed there were a lot of guests, mostly families and everyone (particularly the children) really got on well... nothing too forced but lots of encouragement for joint activities (team challenges, table tennis championship, long trail rides). Daily activities were also great with opportunities to fish, ride, bike, shoot etc the quality of kit for all these activities was great... really good mountain bikes, fly rods, lots of horseback rides and even a petting zoo.the miniature horses were a big hit with the kids.They would lead them around for hours and even ride bareback.. Again the staff were fantastic with nothing ever being too much trouble and everyone always trying to go out of their way to help.There was plenty of food breakfast{lots of berries}a wide choice hot and cold,lunch and dinner{prime rib,trout etc. corn dogs,and if you didn't like something they would go out of their way to fix something you did like. (and great free snacks and drinks all day - brilliant for the kids)There was a hot tub perfect for after ride aches and pains and a pool {outdoors of course}I was injured and couldn't do much participating in the activities but I enjoyed watching and the staff helped in anyway they could(including driving in to town for motrin my granddaughter is ready to move the entire family there.The kids have a lot of freedom(there are counselors and other staff around to keep them safe}I didn't believe it when they said-YOU COME IN AS INDIVIDUAL FAMILIES AND LEAVE AS ONE HUGH FAMILY.This was by far the best vacation I have ever had and well worth the money and if we ever get the choice to do it again we will.The only thing I would change is to fly in instead of driving.Minnesota flat driving doesn't compare to Colorado mountain driving

Thank Ri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert b, Owner at Majestic Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

So special of you to give us the opportunity to share in such a special time with you and your granddaughter. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - we really do consider you and all of our guests family. Come back again soon - we love taking care of repeat guests...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Hard to know where to start... we booked for a family of 5 (kids 15,13,11) as part of a road trip round the Mid West.
We arrived early and were greeted by the owner who was charming and helpful. Our accommodation was great, very clean and tidy with a selection of free snacks (that were replenished daily)... the views from the cabin were great with masses of wildlife coming up close (Humming Birds, Mule Deer etc).
The week we stayed there were a total of 44 guests, mostly families and everyone (particularly the children) really got on well... nothing too forced but lots of encouragement for joint activities (team challenges, table tennis championship, long trail rides).
Daily activities were also great with opportunities to fish, ride, bike, shoot etc the quality of kit for all these activities was great... really good mountain bikes, good quality fly rods and (not that I am any expert!) all the horses seemed extremely well schooled.
Last 2 things to mention - the staff were fantastic with nothing ever being too much trouble and everyone always trying to go out of their way to help. The other point to mention and the only slight negative was the food, plenty of it (and great free snacks and drinks all day - brilliant for the kids) but a few meals lacked finesse!
Unfortunately I doubt that we will have the opportunity to return any time soon BUT given the chance we would love to stay again.

Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert b, Owner at Majestic Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we love having large families visit the ranch. We are working hard to improve the finesse of our menu and hope to have you back someday to wow you with our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Majestic Dude Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Majestic Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing