We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experiment with horrible employe”
Review of Hanging Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanging Lake Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible experiment with horrible employe”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

1/We arrived october 26th around 3 pm. At the front desk the woman just has asked us without any smile 'do you want something?'! We got the key but no other detail concerning the wifi the breakfast (location hours) check out ?
2/ We went back to the front desk to ask for an additional blanket. She told us(without any smile again) that she will see. When we asked when I may expect the blanket she answered '15 minutes'.
3/ 30 minutes later no blanket no wifi thus I went back to the desk. We told her that we think that she forgot to give us the information about breakfast and wifi. For the breakfast she gave us some examples of what material we should find (i.e. waffles) but again forgot to tell us the schedule so that I had to specify 'yes but when'?. Afterwards I asked 'what about the wifi?' and she answered 'yes we have!'. But did not give any more specific information so that we had to insist telling specifically 'could you give us the password please?'.
You won't believe it she asked us 'do you really want it?'!!! Each information was so difficult to obtain!!
By the way the blanket was still not there.
4/ Next morning is the crux! As you see in the joint file our reservation includes breakfast. The breakfast time should run from 7 to 9 am. So we went to the office at 8:15 am. The office was closed! Nobody was at the front desk. We knocked long time at the door we couldn't believe it!
We checked the whole building just in case it would have been in another room but nothing.
Afterwards I rang the bell during 2 minutes. Finally the same woman as the previous day came out: she was dressed in pajamas hair not coiffed and she opened the door yawning telling 'what do you want?'!!!!!!
Of course no breakfast was ready! We had to do the coffee by ourselves. By the way no juice was available no bread?. Only dry stale waffles and jam hard as a rock so that you could break your teeth.
Finally she called someone by phone. When she came back she told us that she will give us a refund. 15minutes later she came back again telling us that there will be finally no refund. All this time we don't see her manager whereas we asked for it.

Thus as a conclusion we have never seen such unacceptable bad service such unfriendly non-professional non-efficient person in a hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    96
    26
    8
    12
See reviews for
110
212
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Loved our bed with fluffy comforter. We expected noisy flushing toilets after giggling reading another review. We didn't hear any toilets but we had our fan running. We had a one bed room on the 2nd floor which might have helped keep things quiet. Our room was immaculate and newly remodeled. The price was cheap. We were so excited...we just wish we could find rooms like this everywhere!

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

When I checked in I noticed the sheets were dirty, reeked of cigarette smoke, no one answered phone in office. There is no safety chain on the door or safety features, No staff around. Cheap price but bad neighborhood. I was physically ill when I left from the cigarette smoke. All the desk clerk wanted to do was argue. I am truly sorry I wasted money here. Read these reviews and wake up owners this place is a DUMP. Definately protect your family by avoiding this place. Couples yeah by the hour.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and stay where it is clean & safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank elmer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Branch, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Great place if you need a place to sleep. The beds are extremely comfortable, room was very clean. Close to several attractions, altough it is a busy road to get out on. The view wasn't great, table and chairs outside room had stairway and large bushed that obstructed the view. Oh well. Disappointed in the "deluxe" continental breakfast...a few hard rolls, a couple unthawed Eggo waffles, and cold coffee. We went out to eat! Rosi's Bavarian for breakfast...expensive, overpriced in relation to quality. The Hot Springs Pool was awesome tho, and worth our trek to Glenwood Springs to check it out!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

An updated yet quaint motel with a beautiful view! Super clean and appointed like a resort - opening the door to our room, we were greeted by a bed decked out with carefully arranged and abundant pillows - only needed champagne and chocolates to complete the setting and atmosphere!

Extra friendly and courteous staff. Nice porch to sit out on to view the mountains. The pricing was below what tripadvisor indicated - low 50s.

Only shortfall: the morning breakfast was a bit sparse.

We'd definitely stay here again, and look forward to the opportunity!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
1.9 km away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
800 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
610 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
675 reviews
1.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
337 reviews
3.9 km away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Lake Inn

Property: Hanging Lake Inn
Address: 51871 Highway 6 and 24, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,758 - ₹ 10,869
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanging Lake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing