We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Doc Holidays grave?

There's a very steep and I do mean steep trail that goes up to the cemetery where the grave is... read more

Reviewed 28 June 2023
perennials2003
,
West Lafayette, Indiana
Doc Holliday (may or may not actually be there!!!)

Be sure you have appropriate footwear for the hike. The trail was snowy, muddy and icy. The views... read more

Reviewed 9 March 2023
SkiBug5
,
Rochester, New York
Read all 584 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Glenwood Springs
from ₹5,129.83
More Info
from ₹5,813.81
More Info
from ₹6,326.79
More Info
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
219
239
110
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
219
239
110
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kid curry short hike buried here half mile memorial marker history tombstones trail field benches incline elevation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2023

Very Interesting. Nice short hike easy to get there from down town. Great views of the city. Kid Curry is buried in Potters field too.

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank S9550WEjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2023 via mobile

Lovely stop to stretch your legs and delve into some history. It’s a short hike, sort of, straight up, to some incredible old stones and history in Glenwood springs.

Date of experience: September 2023
1  Thank Travelinglizarded
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2023

Happened to be going through town and climbed the trail at about 3pm which was not ideal. The grave marker is pretty cool. Signage is okay but not great. Cool viewpoint with a bench about halfway up.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank 782aprilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2023 via mobile

We somewhat stumbled on this experience on our latest trip to Glenwood Springs. My 3 pre-teen boys like ghost hunting and we thought this would be a great way to get them outside to try something different with some history. We walked from Hotel Colorado (.8 mile) to the Trailhead and then on up to the cemetery. It was a short hike (under a mile round trip) with a decent incline. Beautiful views of the town and the cemetery was awesome. Very unique, rustic, and like you went back in time a bit. Never would have a pictured a cemetery where this one was! We enjoyed looking at all the tombstones and of course Doc Holliday and Kid Curry. Really appreciated the information displays and the information on Potters Field. Take water and wear tennis shoes. There were maybe 2 benches on the trail. Saw people of all ages on it.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank 509katharinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2023

There's a very steep and I do mean steep trail that goes up to the cemetery where the grave is located. Apparently while they know Doc is buried here they are not sure exactly where, he was a pauper when he died so there was no permanent marker installed. However there is a nice memorial to him and the cemetery itself is very pretty. Be advised a couple told us they had seen a bear and another man said people had seen a cub.

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank perennials2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews