We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Camping Colorado 2024

The hike up was difficult for me but I have asthma and I’m not used to the altitude and it was... read more

Reviewed today
r0bin49
,
Saint Louis, Missouri
Doc Holidays grave?

There's a very steep and I do mean steep trail that goes up to the cemetery where the grave is... read more

Reviewed 28 June 2023
perennials2003
,
West Lafayette, Indiana
Read all 585 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Glenwood Springs
More Info
More Info
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
219
240
110
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
219
240
110
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kid curry short hike buried here half mile memorial marker history tombstones trail field benches incline elevation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2023 via mobile

We somewhat stumbled on this experience on our latest trip to Glenwood Springs. My 3 pre-teen boys like ghost hunting and we thought this would be a great way to get them outside to try something different with some history. We walked from Hotel Colorado (.8 mile) to the Trailhead and then on up to the cemetery. It was a short hike (under a mile round trip) with a decent incline. Beautiful views of the town and the cemetery was awesome. Very unique, rustic, and like you went back in time a bit. Never would have a pictured a cemetery where this one was! We enjoyed looking at all the tombstones and of course Doc Holliday and Kid Curry. Really appreciated the information displays and the information on Potters Field. Take water and wear tennis shoes. There were maybe 2 benches on the trail. Saw people of all ages on it.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank 509katharinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2023

There's a very steep and I do mean steep trail that goes up to the cemetery where the grave is located. Apparently while they know Doc is buried here they are not sure exactly where, he was a pauper when he died so there was no permanent marker installed. However there is a nice memorial to him and the cemetery itself is very pretty. Be advised a couple told us they had seen a bear and another man said people had seen a cub.

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank perennials2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2023 via mobile

Great place for a quick stop. Park on the neighborhood streets and bring your walking shoes.

I read it was a half mile and hilly walk up to the cemetery. The views going up are great but hilly doesn’t describe it, mountainous would be more accurate. You can stop and rest but there aren’t benches going up. Visited with my 16 year old daughter and we stopped twice going up, but we aren’t used to the air at elevation either. The trail can be rocky but it easily passable in good weather.

I’m glad we made the trip up to see it.

Date of experience: June 2023
1  Thank ccarlson2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2023

Be sure you have appropriate footwear for the hike. The trail was snowy, muddy and icy. The views along the way are spectacular. There are many graves to view, including Kid Curry.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank SkiBug5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2022

We decided to check this out since we were driving through the area. You can park on the streets in the Neighborhood and walk the trail up to the grave site. There are signs and information at the bottom of the trail, a water fountain for humans and dogs. Yes, dogs can go on the trail up.
Interesting how much work they had to go to to get the caskets up to the cemetery, it can be a steep grade for some.
Very interesting, Kid Curry, Doc Holiday and others buried here.

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank mynameisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews