We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What I Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Girona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We travel by car a great deal and usually stay at Holiday Inn's when we are on the road. We usually get a very clean and comfortable room for a great price, so I was expecting the same at this Holiday Inn Express.
My husband booked us a larger suite since we were traveling with our child. Check-in was perfectly fine and we went upstairs to our suite. It was very late, we were exhausted, and I just wanted to get our son to sleep as soon as possible. I know this is a 3-star property, but I have always found this chain's rooms to be exceptionally clean. We walked in and there was something stuck on the carpet. I think it was a granola bar, so I just picked it up and got my son ready for bed. He is 2-years-old and we had a long travel day, so I was grateful when he fell asleep. I wanted to take a shower and then go to sleep myself. The shower did not look clean at all. There was shampoo (I think?) dripping down the tub. I rinsed it off, but I was a bit perturbed, as this was the second thing I had found. Then I noticed the pen on the wall of the bathroom. Someone had written their name all over the walls with a blue pen. Yikes. I thought about moving rooms, but our son was asleep and I was exhausted.
The bed was clean and comfortable, so I was going to go to sleep. I turned the heat off in the room and that is when I heard a very loud noise. There was a large truck parked beneath our window with its generator on. Would not have been a big deal, but then I realized it was so loud because the window was broken and would not close completely. Looking back I should have packed our things and moved rooms, but again, it was very late and I did not want to move my son and all of our stuff. I turned the fan on and this made the truck noise less noticeable. We reported our experience, but I realize we should have done it the night before.
I felt like the linens were the only thing that had been cleaned in the room, which is odd for this particular chain. Not sure if I would stay at this particular hotel again when there are so many in this area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixglenwoodgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
We apologize for an uncomfortable stay. We definitely strive to make our guest comfortable as well as happy, and this is definitely an unfortunate incident to hear about. We hope when you come through Glenwood Springs next time you will choose to stay with us again, so we can somehow make this up to you. Thank you very much for your review and honesty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    94
    52
    21
    9
See reviews for
110
82
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I drove in about 5:30 pm no Res asked for a price and recieved $ 89.00 good price for the value. The hotl is about 25 yrs old but doed not show it and has everyting in perfect order.
The High speed access was excellent no problems at al

And the nicest part was the Young Man at the desk anwsered all my dumb tourist questions with glee.What a stand-out it todays workforce.
I would defintly stay here again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixglenwoodgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
“Nice Hotel”

We are very pleased you stayed with us; our staff strives to take care of guest. We enjoy answering all questions. Our hotel is fourteen years old. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights @ the Glenwood Holiday Inn Express to celebrate out 9th wedding anniversary. We were given an upgraded room with a whirlpool tub and and extra area that had a couch and desk. The hotel staff were among the friendliest I have ever encountered. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. The only minor issue was that the beds were a little on the hard side and the pillows a little small. Everything was sparkling clean and very quiet. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pibirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixglenwoodgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
“Excellent Stay”

Congratulations!! We are so glad you chose to stay at our Hotel to celebrate. The room you were upgraded to is perfect for an anniversary. We appreciate your nice comments, and we also appreciate your comments about the beds and pillows. Suggestions are always welcomed and helpful. Hopefully we’ll see you for the 10th anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

After a disappointing check-in and immediate check-out from a nearby hotel, we were generously accomodated with a king suite and whirlpool tub, and at a savings! The hotel was a short driving distance from the Iron Mountain gondola and Glenwood Caverns. It was also nicely situated so close to the mountains--a beautiful perk!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starfortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixglenwoodgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
“Very nice king suite”

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the suite. We are glad the opportunity existed for us to solve your problem. We look forward to your return visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed at the HIE in Glenwood Springs for one night after attending a wedding in nearby Carbondale. Typically, I'm the type of person who searches for the cheapest deals in hotel rooms, graciously looking past noise and filth just to save a couple of bucks. In fact, were it not for some friends also staying the hotel, I probably would have looked for a hotel in the 60-80 dollar range. However, the extra money I spent was well worth it as our experience was fabulous!

First, the hotel and room was clean. Really, really clean. The room was extremely spacious, everything worked, and it was super quiet. We had the breakfast in the morning--above average for a hot hotel breakfast. Be sure to try the crazy instant pancake machine that they've got. All of the staff that we encountered were very nice.

This hotel would be ideal if you're looking to ski Aspen without Aspen costs. The drive is about 35 minutes. Of course, Glenwood is cool too. The only drawback that I can think of about the hotel is that it's not a comfortable walking distance to the downtown area (south side of I-70 as other hotels might be. But if you're a walker, by all means, do it!

All in all, this experience might convince me to upgrade to Holiday Inns in my future travels...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiel185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
We appreciate the feedback given in this review and are always anxious to hear comments from our guests so we may continue to improve our product and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
701 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
630 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
894 reviews
2.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
347 reviews
2.5 km away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
Address: 501 W 1st St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-2962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,243 - ₹ 13,094
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Glenwood Springs (Aspen Area). Whether traveling on business or on pleasure, this Glenwood Springs Hotel is the perfect choice offering free Smart Hot Buffet Breakfast, free Complimentary Wireless High-Speed Internet and the best hotel value in the Glenwood Springs / Aspen area! Convenient location just four blocks from the famous Hot Springs Pool. Adjacent to the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, Glenwood Springs newest area attraction open year around . Conveniently located near Ski Sunlight Resort or enjoy Aspen / Snowmass Ski Resort just 40 minutes from the hotel. Many restaurants and entertainment venues within a few blocks of the hotel. Ask about our packages! Group room rates also available by calling the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs Hotel Glenwood Springs
Holiday Inn Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing