We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$288
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$288
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$274
View deal
Official Hotel$298
Travelocity$288
getaroom.com$403
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
211
89
55
44
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
211
89
55
44
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teddy roosevelt the shuttle driver roosevelt suite front desk christmas decorations hot springs historical hotel coffee shop hotel restaurant great history step back in time fun stay historic charm across the street air conditioning guest rooms vapor caves
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2022

The hotel was a unique experience, the atmosphere is one of a kind. But I have to say the staff make the visit enjoyable. A memorable staff member was alta-jo. She was very friendly and helpful , professional and knowledgeable about the area as I was new to the Glenwood area. She was a great waitress! Might I even dare say beautiful! Anyways, wonderful hotel, great staff, I'd keep her around!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 808ashtond
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael Provenzano, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2022

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay! Please know that your feedback regarding Alta has been passed along to our executive committee so that she is appropriately recognized. We hope you will join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2022

Staying at this historic old hotel has been a long time on our 'to do' list. For our 30th anniversary we decided to take Amtrak to Glenwood Springs and make it happen. We weren't disappointed as Christmas decorations were up and the place was tastefully done to the max. The hotel lobby during the holidays are second to none, they go all out with a world class job of decorating.

Staff was helpful, friendly, and really could not do more to accommodate us. The rooms and hallways were period themed, I felt like I was visiting the wild west. A very comfortable bed and the bathrooms were spotless clean.

The only downside was not having complimentary morning coffee, my wife had to trek down to the coffee shop and buy our morning coffee. Not a really big deal, yet it would have been a nice touch, as would have been an in-room microwave and fridge. They still use the original steam heat cast iron radiators, which are quaint and work great (for sure you won't be cold!) but with limited control over temperature. There is no room air conditioning, but we were there in winter so I can't say how well open windows work in summer, though I have not read any negatives. Keep in mind this is a very old hotel that retains a lot of its original charm, these minor inconveniences are the price one pays for a taste of a long gone era. Overall we were glad we stayed here, the history is unreal dating back to 1893.

Of interest: Its a short walk to both Glenwood hot springs (largest pool in the world!) right across the street, and also the Yampah vapor caves, we love both places. Great dining is just a little further walk over the new pedestrian bridge as is the Amtrak station.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank V548GZfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael Provenzano, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2022

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Please know that we do have microwaves and refrigerators available upon request, but do not keep them in the rooms simply due to the fact we are getting ready to renovate and the amount of space they consume in some of our smaller rooms. We apologize for the inconvenience, but are still happy that you enjoyed our decorations and the service you received. If there was anything else at all that we could have done to make your stay better please do not hesitate to let us know. Thanks again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2022 via mobile

Amazing hotel and great experience. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean and gorgeous, hotel history is fun! The beds are pretty stiff, which made it hard for myself and my husband to sleep but we prefer more cushiony mattresses.
The bar and restaurant food was absolutely delicious! And wait staff was very accommodating and quick to respond.
Before we checked in we did ask the staff if there were things we could do in town while we wait for our room to be ready and they said ‘just skiing and snowboarding’ which was a bit underwhelming of a response. We did some googling after and found the caper caves, hot springs, downtown area to walk around, adventure park…etc.
overall experience was amazing and definitely will be back!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shelbeybale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael Provenzano, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2022

Thank you joining us at Hotel Colorado, we are excited you enjoyed your stay! I apologize for the response by our team while asking if there were things that you could do whilst waiting for your room. We will be addressing this with our staff directly to ensure they provide anticipatory and exemplary service. Thank you so much for your feedback, and we hope you will join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2022 via mobile

We had an excellent experience at Hotel Colorado! The food/drinks were amazing, and we had had excellent service from our waiter Luke. He really made our trip to Glenwood a positive experience. Thank you!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JosephJ1652
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael Provenzano, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2022

Thank you for your feedback, we are excited you enjoyed your stay! Please know that I have passed along your kind words regarding Luke to our upper management team so that he is recognized appropriately. We hope you will join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2021

The exterior and the lobby are great. Walking down the hallways and taking in the pictures and exploring the hotel, very cool! Kind of a Stephen King vibe going with the long hallways--totally expect to see the two creepy girls down at the end :) The rooms are sort of disappointing--not in great shape, no coffee makers, fridge or microwave. Tub needed to be re-caulked, pretty small bathroom. Also, no complimentary coffee in the lobby early in the morning. :( Very dog friendly! Lots of doggies stayed at the hotel which we thought was awesome. Sort of pricey for the state of the rooms. Torn on whether we'd stay again or not. Maybe if a reduced rate, and maybe if they did at least a light renovation of the rooms.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B6687OMerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael Provenzano, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Colorado, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2022

We apologize for the state of our rooms, as we actually just began renovating them this month from the ground up. We do plan to add in-room amenities such as coffee makers, and provide refrigerators upon request at a cost. We sincerely apologize again for the inconvenience during this transition in our property, and hope that you will join us again in the years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews