We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They close too early!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Monte Grill & Lounge - CLOSED

El Monte Grill & Lounge
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 18
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: College and Prospect
Transit: Future development will have the Mason Street corridor at our back door. RTD bus stop with-in 3 blocks.
fort Co
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They close too early!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I like the signature gin drink, and we always have a fun time there. But when I arrived after work to meet up with my friends at 10 p.m. on a Saturday, the sign on the door said "closed!" I was able to go into the bar for one drink with them, but we were moved out of there by 11, which seems bit early for a bar on a Saturday! They also tend to be closed on holidays, when you're in the mood to go out. Bummer.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fingersfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElMonteGrill, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
We're glad to hear that you have a good time when you are here -- and we think that the Esteban is one of the best drinks around! We set our business hours to accommodate our hourly volume of business. Come check us out on a Friday night for some late night live music! We do close for most major holidays so that our employees can celebrate with their families; however, we'll be open on Easter with a killer brunch buffet that you won't want to miss. We'll be running some great specials on Mother's Day and Father's Day, and of course El Monte is the place to be on Cinco de Mayo. We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    12
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not your mother's Mexican...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We have been to El Monte several times in the past year, and are always pleased with the fresh, expertly prepared food. It is not the typical heavy, cheesy food you get at standard Mexican restaurants. The flavors of the food really stand out. Try the exotic guacamole made with avocados, goat cheese, strawberries, and mangoes. I had the seafood chilaquiles last time, and also love the steak enchilada and the red snapper veracruzana.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank farmgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElMonteGrill, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
El Monte is different than the rest! We bring the flavors of Oaxaca to Fort Collins in a fresh and healthy presentation. Our guacamole is made-to-order, and you are right -- the exotic is a must try. Thanks for reviewing us, and we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“In a word - Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I don't live in Fort Collins, but I eat at El Monte whenever I visit. The steak and enchilada is awesome.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElMonteGrill, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
There are a lot of restaurants to choose from when you visit Fort Collins, and we are glad that we've become a destination for you! The steak and enchilada is one of our most popular entrees, and pairs well with our famous coin margarita. Thanks for the review, and we hope to see you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cool and hip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Great food (like the RIO) and a warm, groovy place to enjoy drinks and wonderful entrees. Soooo fresh!

Helpful?
Thank Janjan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElMonteGrill, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thanks -- we think so too! We are glad that you have made it a point to come in and enjoy all that we have to offer -- from our ambience to our hand-shaken cocktails to our wonderful entrees. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic management”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I love this place and now so does my husband. Okay, so I have always liked this place since it opened, however my husband was not big on it due to his first and only experience when they very first opened. His chile relleno was under-cooked and tough but do read on... I had been there with some girlsfriends several times and always enjoyed it, especially happy hour yummies and their fresh made guacamole. Well we went there for our anniversary/valentines so he could give it another try and to listen to the music they had. We got stuck in the back and couldn't hear the music so once again a bit disappointed but the food was awesome! After mentioning to the management our disappointment, they more than made it right. We did not complain, but merely mentioned it and the response we got made it very clear that they were very tuned in to their customers and concerned how to accomodate everyone. They have won over a life-long customer and my husband and he will go back again and again. If you go, don't miss out on their appetizer selections, the ribeye & relleno, street tacos especially the mahi mahi fish tacos, fresh made guacomole and definitley try the drink/martini the Esteban!!! it is delicious! even if you are not normally a fan of gin, give it a try! Thank you el Monte for your customer service. We own a business ourselves and would be happy to have our employees treat our customers with equal service and consideration.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coloradosunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElMonteGrill, General Manager at El Monte Grill & Lounge, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for the comments! We take customer service very seriously, and our customers are always our number one priority. Congratulations on your anniversary, and we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Monte Grill & Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing