We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Great room with balcony over~looking the river. Walking distance to downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lostmyshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful view from our hotel. We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,295 - 1,299 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

The hotel is lovely, balcony rooms overlook the river, nice bar with some outdoor seating, convenient location at the foot of College Drive for families of Fort Lewis students, within walking distance of great restaurants, the train tour and downtown shops. Sadly, there is no contintental breakfast but there is a Denny's across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the Animas River.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Kathy224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback. We're pleased that you found our hotel comforting and convenient.
We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The location is great with the Animas River flowing right behind the hotel. The rooms are in need of a remodel & I for one cannot take the super soft mattresses, I need more support than sinking into a mishaped old matttress set. Otherwise, the room was fine for the one night we stayed & the price was good. I definitely would not pay the higher price in their high season for this hotel though especially since there is no breakfast due to the restaurant on the premises. The bathroom could have been cleaned better especially under the vanity where there was some trash. I only noticed it while I was in the tub for a bath. Anyway, it is sad to see it looking so tired, come on Hilton, remodel & bring it back to life again!

Room Tip: Get a room on the Animas River side, its beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texgal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your stay with us on Trip Advisor. At Double Tree by Hilton Durango, we know that the look of our guestrooms is very important. Our focus on a great guest experience and reviews like yours have led us to renovate our guestrooms beginning in this year. This renovation will include updating the beds, which you mentioned were unsatisfactory. We also apologize for the trash you saw in your room. This issue has been addressed with housekeeping as this is not our standard. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to our area you'll stay with us and tell us what you think about our new guestroom experience. We hope you'll be one of the first to enjoy our improvements. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We recently spent 1 night at the Doubletree in Durango, opting to check out early and into another local hotel rather than enduring the pain of another night at the Doubletree.

How this property got to be the Number #1 rated hotel in Durango is mind boggling. The location of the Doubletree is terrible relative to the other downtown hotels. The Doubletree is located at the busiest intersection in the city and is the wrong side of the highway. You must cross over 6 to 8 lanes of heavy traffic in order to walk downtown. While the hotel is technically "On The River", the bulk of the rooms are located overlooking the busy highway.

The rooms are standard issue "motel like" and not in any way representative of the
characteristics or uniqueness of the area. The bed was the worst that we have slept of any hotel that calls itself 3 star or better. The king mattress was essentially a combination of a few large
coils sandwiched between two mattress pads. The mattress coils were essentially "exposed" on
all sides of the bed. The result was a bed that sagged wherever any weight was applied, thus
providing no support whatsoever. Believe me, this is one cheap bed! While some may find this
"comfy", if you have back/neck problems, you will have a miserable experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peeauslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango. We are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation in our future which will include new beds and many other changes to our guest rooms. We apologize that you did not have a good experience staying with us, we wished we had known about your issues, we'd have been happy to put you in another room that would be to your satisfaction. We do hope that in the future you will stay with us again to give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a handful of times to visit family & ride the DSNGRR. Never Again!
3 out of the past 5 stays at Doubletree Durango have been horrifically filthy. This last stay there was dried bodily fluids on the white coverlet with hair stuck to it, brown dried splashes on the wall in plain sight, something gooey all over the phone cord. I took pictures with my iPhone to show them and the very young staff was not even surprised. We were moved to an allergy pure room and there was half eaten candy on the floor and a wrapper.
We will no longer stay here, at $150/night this is unacceptable. Appalling!
They have also removed all the hutches with fridges and microwaves, that used to be present in every room. Housekeeping will roll some scratched dented and dinged ones into the room and leave on the floor at your request.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced. This is definitely not up to our standards. Our staff works hard to provide clean and comfortable rooms for our guests and we will work hard in the future to see that this doesnt happen again. It is interesting you mention hutches with microwaves and fridges, our hotel has never had those. We are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation which will include microwaves and fridges in addition to many other changes for our guest rooms. We do hope that in the future you will consider staying with us again to give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
3.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.4 km away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,090 reviews
0.3 km away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.5 km away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: ₹ 7,675 - ₹ 17,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing