We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Great stay! We are staying here with family and friends to enjoy some Spring skiing. We have been returning to this hotel for the past 15 years during Spring Break which is indicative of our feelings about this hotel. It is definitely a total package for our needs. The rooms are reasonably priced, as we reserve several rooms for our group, and are clean and well appointed. The bathrooms have BIG, fluffy towels along with nice toiletries. The pool and hot tub are well maintained and have a good seating area with tables for those who are watching children. A complimentary breakfast is included with guest rooms. There are many choices including biscuits and gravy, fruit, cereal, and this year there are additional breakfast choices such as Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches. Guest may also take advantage of free use of two washers and dryers. The hotel is in a great location for walking to Main Street restaurants and shops. Great place for us, and we would highly recommend this property!! Mary Kay did a great job is reserving the rooms we wanted, and Elisia did a great job of refreshing our rooms each day!

Room Tip: We like the rooms that are inside by the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetFreedomRing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. We appreciate your kind words and acknowledgement of our efforts. My staff is great and go above and beyond to ensure that your stay is a memorable one. We hope to see you again next year! Have a great summer and be safe in your travels.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    262
    114
    49
    23
See reviews for
304
316
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We visited Durango, Colorado while attending a Seminar. I would, highly, recommend a stay at the Best Western Plus in Durango. Our room had all the amenities anyone would need and it was very clean. The front desk staff were very friendly. Durango is a very nice small town. We took a ride on the Durango-Silverton Steam Train, a must when visiting Durango. We counted over 40 restaurants in town. Unlike other touristy-towns, Durango does not shut down at 6 PM. We are looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and never heard any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlynGramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you so much for the kind review. We so appreciate your business and hope that you will return again and enjoy more that the area has to offer.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

After a long ride on motorcycles in July, we finally got there. The front desk young lady began checking us in.. She Wanted the bike plate numbers. I did't have them. and asked if I could just give make and colors. She respond "yours are not the only bikes in the parking lot..." ok...then I questioned the room price It was higher than I remembered for the rewards price. Rather than a friendly response, she answers "would you like me to find you a cheeper room somewhere else" I should have said yes. Electronic keys didn't work we wait an hour, Another room air conditioner replaced not repaired in the middle of night.
The rooms were $179 per night, Free Happy Hour [...]. Not worth the price at all! Go to Holiday Inn Express instead

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timetoride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Please accept my sincere apologies for my employees shortness with you at check in. We do get a great deal of motorcyclists staying in the summer months and it does help us if we have more information to contact the owner of the bike if there are issues during their stay. We do pull the air conditioning units out of the rooms and replace them with a new unit if there are issues. A lot of times we do not know what the problem with the unit is until they actually pull it apart and can diagnose the issue. I do apologize that it happened in the middle of the night but I am glad that we came up with a temporary solution so that the room was comfortable for you. Durango is a great area to ride. I am sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as you would have liked but I do hope that you were able to enjoy the town while you were with us.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schweiz
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stay a lot in BW, this was the most moderate one (but pricest) we stayed on our trip.
The rooms are dark and could use some renovations. The indoor pool is great, but as the rooms are directly above and around it, you hear the laughing and playing very loud through the glass door of the rooms. Breakfast was also a big dissapointing and not BW like we were used to.
Ok to stay for a night, but we wouldnt come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquamarina75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently working on the lighting in the rooms to make them brighter. We have replaced all of our case good this year, added flat screen television sets, and upgraded our linen. We have also added several breakfast items and I again apologize that you were disappointed. We do have children that use the pool and it can get noisy but we do only have it open from 9 am - 9 pm so their activity does not upset other guests. I hope that you enjoyed your time in the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed here one night for a high school volleyball game the following morning. Easy walking distance to restaurants. Clean rooms, nice reception at night and breakfast in morning. Nice flat panel televisions. Location/parking lot a bit dark in the evening. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for the review. We do have a great location and offer several amenities for our guests. We are adding lighting to our parking lot and redoing our bathrooms this off season. We enjoyed having your team stay with us and hope that they will consider us again in future travels to the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.4 km away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#9 of 33 in Durango
1,051 reviews
1.2 km away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
469 reviews
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
4.3 km away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,666 - ₹ 16,498
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing