We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fancy, but clean and friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We had never been to Durango before - close - (Mesa Verde); but were unfamiliar with the territory, and we had made some last minute changes to plans, so had to act fast and select a motel. We had to shift plans on what days we would be in Durango, as we had wanted to ride the narrow gauge railroad from Durango to Silverton. After finding where the train station was, we selected the Best Western Durango Inn & Suites as it was near and also on the end of town we would hit first. We had a LONG day of driving, and were so ready for the motel when we got there! The front desk was friendly and helpful, it was a pretty warm evening, and we checked in and got into our room - very clean, nice size, adequate air-conditioning. The beds were really comfortable. The bathroom was a tad small - one had to shift around in order to get the door shut to perch on the toilet! And a small toilet at that! We couldn't get the remote to work on the TV, so had to go back up to the front desk and they brought another one down to the room. We didn't realize that Durango was in BEAR country! There are bear-proof trash cans at the motel, and all around town. We didn't see any, but that was okay with us. We had booked two night, but ended up booking a third, because of it's location to other things we wanted to do, plus it was clean and comfortable. We had breakfast in other locations though after the first day. All in all, the price was decent and the motel room was comfortable, clean and the front desk personnel were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the center of the motel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ready-two-go-4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toriGolden, Owner at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 608 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

This motel has a good location and we chose it partly because there is a restaurant next door and we were not sure how late we would arrive. In the event we should have gone into Durango to eat, the restaurant was disappointing. As for the motel itself, the room was fine and the service was friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was tiny and the breakfast itself was poor - we had juice and coffee and took a couple of apples for later. Compared with others we stayed in it was overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toriGolden, Owner at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

We appreciate your valuable comments. We regret you were disappointed with the adjacent restuarant. We will forward your feedback to the owners of Christina's. They value the input as much as we do. The staff always appreciates being recognized for their efforts in being friendly and helpful. We are lucky to have a team of dedicated service professionals. We were disappointed to hear you found our breakfast poor. We have made many improvements this year and felt we were on the right track. We will keep working on it. Thank you so much for the input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We all loved this hotel! We got a 2 room suite, with 2 queen beds in one room and a fold-out bed in the main living space. The room was quite clean and quiet (we were on the 2nd floor) and we all slept quite well. Our room even had a back balcony and we saw deer one night from the balcony! The breakfast in the morning was the usual fare: cereal, eggs, sausage, waffles, etc, although the 2 days we were there for breakfast we noticed they were not open at the time specified and had people waiting to get in. The lobby staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends!

Room Tip: We always go for top floor rooms so we don't have to listen to the people above us stomping arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goophygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I was on vacation with my wife and three kids and found this hotel at the last minute. We chose it because it was pet friendly and had an outdoor pool. Unfortunately, when we got down to the pool they had closed it down for some reason. They told my kids to go play in the hot tub which was very hot and not inviting when it was 100 degrees outside. The free breakfast was continental with a waffle machine. Pretty average. The room was clean and everything functioned. There was free internet. It claimed to have a playground but this was only an old swingset overgrown with weeds. There is an attached restaurant but I didn't try it - looked too expensive. Nothing is in walking distance, so you have to drive into Durango, although it is not that far. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, but it was not very memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrTom234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toriGolden, Owner at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your taking your valuable time to submit your input. We take very seriously, our guest comments. We apologize for the inconvenience of the pool closure. We do make every effort to insure that it is open and ready for use during the busy summer season, and regret that very rarely we do need to close it . We close it only with guest safety in mind. We continue to try and improve our guest breakfast experience and were disappointed to see that you only enjoyed the continental items of our breakfast buffet. We will look at the placement of our items to insure that our guests can readliy see the sausage, eggs, yogurt, juice, cereal, waffles, breads, danish, muffin and roll assortments. Great feedback. Indeed, for those who are looking for a a property with a playground, we would not recommend ours! We will be sure to adjust our property amenity information, as the playground area should not be marketed as such. Thanks for your valuable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at 4 hotels while travelling through Colorado. This was my family's least favorite. I liked that they had both a sink in the bathroom and outside the bathroom. The staff is not really friendly. The food left alot to be desired. We paid $160 a night and that was with a teacher's discount. When you turned on the a.c. there was a strange odor and it was very noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruiser1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.8 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
4.1 km away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
1.2 km away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
286 reviews
3.6 km away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#7 of 34 in Durango
559 reviews
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Durango Inn & Suites

Address: 21382 Highway 160, Durango, CO 81303-6857
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#13 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range: ₹ 5,643 - ₹ 10,638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Durango Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing