We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time Soaring!”

Soaring Tree Top Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Soaring Tree Top Adventures is a full day zip line adventure that takes you over 27 different zip line spans through Old Growth Ponderosa forest and Aspen groves and across the Animas River. Remotely located in the San Juan National Forest near Durango, CO and only accessible by the Durango & Silverton Train, Soaring is unique Colorado zip line adventure that has been enjoyed by guests ages 4-94! Price includes First Class train transportation to/from the property via the historic Durango & Silverton train, 5.5 hours Soaring across the 27 zip line spans, an Ecology tour interspersed in your day, a four-course gourmet lunch in the trees on a platform overlooking the Animas River, and all Sky Ranger guides and equipment. Reservations are required.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a great time Soaring!”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The soaring location is very peaceful and away from it all. We had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly, and very much focused on safety. The course is well designed with safety in mind. We had some rain at the start, but we took our rain suits and we were just fine. A nice combination of a remote and rustic location, with high tech soaring through the trees. We hope we can go soaring again in a few years.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,033
    8
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, US
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most Awesome Vacation Experience”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Soaring Tree Top Adventures provided the most exciting and fun soaring experience. The staff was personable, friendly and very professional. They are very safety conscience and you feel safe during the whole experience. Their course is very exciting; you have high platforms, double zip line course, over the river, through close trees, and the 1400 ft. long zip line which is defiantly, without a doubt, the highlight of the course. Can't wait to see or hear with what they come up with in the future. We are looking forward to coming back. And the gourmet lunch was FANTASTIC!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Time Ever!”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We were riding the Silverton train about 2 years ago looking out the window and admiring the view when suddenly this person flys by in mid-air! From that moment we were hooked! We came back in September 2011 with 2 other couples n (ages 55-65) and couldn't wait to zip through the air ourselves! The crew, the zips, the lunch - all phenominal! We'll all do it again in a heartbeat! I recommend it to everyone!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding; truly outstanding.”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Great day, great fun. We went in October. I suspect its still great fun in the summer but I prefer the cooler weather. This company (family run) has put a great deal of thought into their guests comforts and the entire experience....start to finish its all very smooth and easy without being annoying or plastic. They clearly have enthusiasm for their business and it shows. Magical setting, terrific crew, well worth the trip!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peter Pan, eat your heart out.”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Soaring Tree Top Adventures is top-notch in my book. From the train ride thru the scenic San Juan Mountains to the Peter Pan-like flying over the Animas River, it's all great fun. I've told friends about this place (by the way, this last trip was my third time there), and the response has been "oh yeah, I've done it in Costa Rica" or "I've done it in (insert place here)" ... Ok, great. So you've done one span ... maybe two. And you've probably had to brake yourself or slam into the mattress tied around the tree you were barreling towards. Yeah, that's fine .. but did you have a chance to do up to 27 spans in one day and not have to worry about your safety? Good stuff I'm tellin' ya.

The staff at Soaring are all the nicest, coolest bunch of people. Thanks to Neal, Clara, Andrew, Field, Luis, John Roy and Denny for another fun-filled trip.

P.S. Did I forget to mention that lunch is served on a platform suspended amongst several trees and sits alongside the Animas River? Nice view. Oh yeah, and lunch is pretty yummy too.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank LifeAsIz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soaring Tree Top Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Soaring Tree Top Adventures? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing