We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best on the Mountain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations

Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations
Reserve with OpenTable
Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 190 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 31 - US$ 50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Located inside the Silver Pick Lodge
Mancos, CO
1 review
“Best on the Mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

The food is great and the view are spectacular. Waitstaff was friendly and very attentive. We had burgers from the bar menu and they were some of the best I've had in long time!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sierra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    28
    7
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top notch dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

This was far and away our best meal in our week at Durango. Every part of the meal was exceptional. The restaurant has nice character and great views. Service was helpful and attentive all night. All of the food we had was outstanding - from the before dinner rolls to the trout and filet main dishes to the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies for dessert.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wilki2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for the rich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We had just arrived at our condo after driving 14 hours. We were famished. We drove a little south of our condo and found the only place we knew about was the Sows Ear. Phenomenal food, great atmosphere but a hamburger for $11? It only came with fries. Don't get me wrong it was great but....

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OU4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and location in the mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Enjoyed a spectacular evening at the Sow's Ear north of Durango Colorado. The food was exceptional, both in presentation and taste! The view of the mountains and the sun setting on the peaks was breathtaking! We can't wait to return!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mongoose10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Order a Burger, It might be ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Dined twice at The Sows ear over the past holiday, and both experiences were mediocre at best. On the first trip I had ordered the Elk Loin off the bar menu. The sides and sauce were fine but the loin it's self was a four oz gristle laden over cooked (ordered rare) tail piece of the loin after attempting to chew through one bite, I sent it back. Our server hesitantly told me there was nothing she could do since I ate half of the entree, What??? The chewed up piece of inedible meat was still on plate. There was no discount no offer to buy a cocktail or dessert on the house egregious at best. I ended up splitting a burger with one of our guests and over all it was quite good.
On the next visit I ordered a salmon which was promptly spaced by the kitchen and showed up 20 minutes after the rest of the meals. The fish was fresh and properly prepared, however the sauce a shrimp ettoufee, was broken and way salty the shrimp were over cooked. Rock shrimp by the way are almost impossible to overcook, but these guys can do it.
If I return it will always be a burger. They try hard but seem to fail when they venture out of the box.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3pin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations also viewed

 

Been to Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing