We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Classy Yet Casual - Outdoor Organic Dining Picnic Style

On the right hand side of the road on 550 close to leaving Durango toward Silverton, James Ranch... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
ViewsAndReviews
,
Albuquerque, New Mexico
via mobile
Great Views, Great Food

James Ranch is a wonderful place to have lunch and relax! It’s a family owned ranch that serves... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Ruth J
,
Las Vegas, Nevada
Read all 205 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Durango
from US$ 47.00
More Info
from US$ 148.73
More Info
from US$ 85.00
More Info
from US$ 97.37
More Info
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
155
30
11
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
155
30
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef hamburger grass fed harvest grill james family fresh eggs farm tour baby goats farm to table farmers market grilled cheese self guided tour healthy food band night outdoor picnic tables sloppy joe fresh farm
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

On the right hand side of the road on 550 close to leaving Durango toward Silverton, James Ranch offers a unique and classy yet casual place for a fresh farm-to-(picnic)table lunch. Order at the tiny vending unit window, grab your number and find a picnic table overlooking the farm. Some folks bring the family leashed dog while others sit beneath the pavilion. Locals rave about the grass fed beef on the limited menu, but there is a vegetarian option too. There is also a tiny yet comprehensive farm store. Fresh but pricey, cheeses and meat as well as some local crafts are available. A nice refreshing stop on a sunny day.

Thank ViewsAndReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

James Ranch is a wonderful place to have lunch and relax! It’s a family owned ranch that serves food that is produced from their ranch and gardens...fabulous hamburgers, sandwiches and salads. You can also buy cheese and meat products there. They have picnic tables on their property so you can order your food and have a relaxing lunch looking at the beautiful mountains and their meadow. It’s not unusual to see their variety of chickens, goats and cows while there. It’s our favorite place to have lunch on a beautiful Durango, Co day.

Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

James Ranch is a small roadside stand with a limited menu for lunch. The food was good, they have outdoor picnic tables and a Gazebo to sit and enjoy the view while eating.

Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Good place to stop for lunch or dinner. Outside picnic tables with great views of the ranch and mountains.

Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

The grass fed beef was the best we ever had.
Family is so kind and engaging.
Farm tour lots of fun especially when cattle were called for water and they all responded.
Burgers and Bands in a wonderful relaxing setting.
They care about the environment in all aspects of the farm.
Wish they were adopting children, I’d apply.

Thank diane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

I went with girlfriends to James Ranch's Thursday night blues n' burgers. The burger was probably one of the best I have had in a long time, the music was very enjoyable, great people watching, and a delightful way to spend an evening. I would suggest being able to either: take your own alcoholic beverages, or be able to purchase there.

1  Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

This was one of the most relaxing things we did while in Durango. It allowed our large group time out of busy week to just hang out in a beautiful setting and enjoy some great music and food.

1  Thank heidi12965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Great experience, kids were able to feed baby goats, wander the property. Food was organic, well prepared, and service was timely.

Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stumbled upon James Ranch and we are so glad that we did. We happened to be visiting Durango in early July. We went to James Ranch for lunch and I believe it was the best hamburger I have ever had.....We could have set out there all day just watching the animals. We went into the market and came out with cheese, pickles, dog treat and would have left with beef if we hadn't had so far to travel. I don't remember her name but she was the owner's daughter and she was so sweet and told us about the many different products made by the different James family members. She told us about her own family and what they were doing and how one of her sons had come home and was over the pork. If I ever get back to Durango I will definitely be back to James Ranch more than once.

1  Thank CINDY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

We had a nice evening at James Ranch. Although we did not have supper there, we enjoyed the short self guided tour and lounging on the lawn. The kids played with the baby goats and we met other travelers taking a break. Nice quiet place to kick back with a lemonade and watch the cows.

Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews