We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Mountain Town Flair

We enjoyed our time in Durango. There are many shops, restaurants, and bars. The ambience was fun... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
CassandraAKD
,
Saratoga Springs, New York
via mobile
Great charming mountain town

Downtown Durango is a lovely village of charming shops, upscale restaurants and old character... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Paul_NYC_10
,
New York City, New York
via mobile
Read all 1,687 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Durango
from US$ 47.00
More Info
from US$ 85.00
More Info
from US$ 148.73
More Info
from US$ 97.37
More Info
Reviews (1,687)
Filter reviews
1,687 results
Traveller rating
1,027
520
115
8
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,027
520
115
8
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main street lots of shops art galleries strater hotel parking meters fun shops great shopping window shopping beautiful town old west western town great place to visit train station tourist town walk around lots of fun mesa verde
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,687 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This town has a great feel and good energy. People I encountered, several clearly local, were super friendly. Tons of shops and restaurants and a general enjoyable stroll through a beautiful downtown.

Thank DeanneHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWalsworth, Public Relations Manager at Historic Downtown Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for visiting, and for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We enjoyed our time in Durango. The old downtown is awash with beautiful well kept historic buildings and a lot of great choice for shopping, eating and relaxing. We wished we had a few more days to sample the ambiance and food choices on offer.

1  Thank BCbikeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWalsworth, Public Relations Manager at Historic Downtown Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much for the review! Hope you can come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

I grew up in the area and am astonished how bad it has become. Growing up it was so clean and friendly. I was excited to bring my kids back to experience my part of the world. Literally felt my kids were unsafe with the homeless everywhere. Growing up we all joked about a few dirty hippies in Durango but it is overrun now. Glad I left and certainly won’t be coming back. There are at least 20 historic ski towns in the west and this has become the worst.

1  Thank AAGexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWalsworth, Public Relations Manager at Historic Downtown Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Sorry you did not have a good experience coming back to Durango. There are not homeless everywhere, but like every town in America we do have people who are homeless in our community. Durango is not Vail, or Aspen, where the town is basically the ultra wealthy. Durango is a real town, with real challenges, again just like everywhere. Personally, the few people I encounter who are homeless are polite and nice.

For anyone reading this review, please look at the others and you will see that what is described here is not the norm for how people view Historic Downtown Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

I visited Durango with my kids ages 8-15, and we truly enjoyed walking and shopping in historic downtown Durango. People are friendly and the shops offer unique gifts.

Thank Mina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWalsworth, Public Relations Manager at Historic Downtown Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Restaurants, bars, diners, shops and attractions - a pleasant place to visit, stay in and enjoy. Durango is a historical town that is quaint, family friendly and yet fun for adults. If you like history, the west, antiques, old architecture, an enjoyable night life and a wonderful train depot with museum, you're going to love Durango, Colorado!

Thank altheonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWalsworth, Public Relations Manager at Historic Downtown Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews