We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family spot or couples”

Historic Downtown Durango
Ranked #10 of 77 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Historic Downtown Durango is the heart of the community. Filled with over 200 unique shops, stores and restaurants, Downtown Durango has something for everyone. The Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is located in Downtown, and has daily excursions plus a FREE museum. The Strater Hotel is also in Downtown and has been in operation since the 1800's. We have wonderful restaurants, from fast food to fine dining and everything in between. Plus there are amazing shops with unique items, including nearly a dozen world class art galleries. To learn more about Historic Downtown Durango, visit our website, and use the FREE wifi Downtown at Durango WiFi. Thanks for visiting!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Such a cute downtown area with lots to do and see. Many little shops and restaurants to check out. The train runs right through it too!

Thank Banana427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWalsworth, Public Relations Manager at Historic Downtown Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"main street"
in 88 reviews
"lots of shops"
in 49 reviews
"art galleries"
in 29 reviews
"strater hotel"
in 59 reviews
"great shopping"
in 19 reviews
"parking meters"
in 18 reviews
"window shopping"
in 21 reviews
"fun town"
in 23 reviews
"old west"
in 66 reviews
"western town"
in 39 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 27 reviews
"train station"
in 45 reviews
"tourist town"
in 16 reviews
"walk around"
in 25 reviews
"mesa verde"
in 18 reviews
"animas river"
in 21 reviews
"stroll"
in 84 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This town has a great feel and good energy. People I encountered, several clearly local, were super friendly. Tons of shops and restaurants and a general enjoyable stroll through a beautiful downtown.

Thank Deanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWalsworth, Public Relations Manager at Historic Downtown Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting, and for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our time in Durango. The old downtown is awash with beautiful well kept historic buildings and a lot of great choice for shopping, eating and relaxing. We wished we had a few more days to sample the ambiance and food choices on offer.

1  Thank BCbikeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWalsworth, Public Relations Manager at Historic Downtown Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the review! Hope you can come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I grew up in the area and am astonished how bad it has become. Growing up it was so clean and friendly. I was excited to bring my kids back to experience my part of the world. Literally felt my kids were unsafe with the homeless everywhere. Growing up we all joked about a few dirty hippies in Durango but it is overrun now. Glad I left and certainly won’t be coming back. There are at least 20 historic ski towns in the west and this has become the worst.

1  Thank AAGexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWalsworth, Public Relations Manager at Historic Downtown Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry you did not have a good experience coming back to Durango. There are not homeless everywhere, but like every town in America we do have people who are homeless in our community. Durango is not Vail, or Aspen, where the town is basically the ultra wealthy. Durango is a real town, with real challenges, again just like everywhere. Personally, the few people I encounter who are homeless are polite and nice.

For anyone reading this review, please look at the others and you will see that what is described here is not the norm for how people view Historic Downtown Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Durango with my kids ages 8-15, and we truly enjoyed walking and shopping in historic downtown Durango. People are friendly and the shops offer unique gifts.

Thank Mina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWalsworth, Public Relations Manager at Historic Downtown Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Historic Downtown Durango? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing