We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #22 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We chose the Brown Palace for a night in Denver before heading out to the mountains. It is the perfect choice. The hotel offers every modern comfort in an atmosphere that feels like you stepped back in time 100 years. The interior is absolutely beautiful and extremely well maintained.

We were concerned when we checked in that the noise from the lobby would travel up through the atrium and be annoying later in the evening,but that wasn't a problem.

Unlike some older hotels, the room was very comfortable and the bathroom luxurious. We went for a moderately priced room, not the high end, and we had enough space, and even a little seating area next to the window. Showers updated with tile and plenty of hot water from two shower heads (a long hot shower is a requirement for me to give any hotel a top rating).

And check out the cigar bar. Yes, it is smoky, but has a very western feeling.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is tired of comfortable but predictable Marriotts, Westins, etc.

Parking was $30 for the night. If i did it again I'd get a shuttle to the hotel and pick up the car on day 2 when i really needed it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,279 - 1,283 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

I had Sunday brunch @ the Brown Palace. It was wonderful. The food was fresh, the selections were great. I would suggest everyone go and have a wonderful experience. Ask for Mimi she was terrific

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Last week I spent two nights on the 8th floor of the Brown Palace Hotel. Of all the hotels I have stayed in, this is without doubt, one of my favorites. It has old-time charm and elegance that the newer, big-box hotels just can't touch. The bellman was extremely helpful with directions and seemed to be omnipresent in the lobby. Both the Ship Tavern and Palace Arms restaurants were very good, with the Palace Arms ranking near the top of my all-time dining experiences.

Several minor housekeeping items prevent me from a 5-star ranking. First, there was a bar of used soap that had been left in the shower stall. A pack of opened cigarettes had been left in the desk. My in-room coffee maker did not work correctly and was not replaced until my second night (in the Hotel's defense, they did provide a complimentary carafe of coffee to compensate for the coffee maker). And, a minor detail but nonetheless overlooked was the fact that no bath mat was left for the second day shower stall.

All in all though, a very good hotel experience. I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 8th and 9th floors are quieter than the floors below as they used to be private apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

We are delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us recently and are grateful for your gracious remarks regarding the hotel facilities and services.

It was especially rewarding to know that we rank as one of the top hotels you have visited and that your dining experience at Palace Arms was second to none. It also gives me great pleasure to know our staff were accommodating and pleasant throughout your stay.

I am very disappointed to know, however, that we did miss the mark in several areas of our Housekeeping service. Please accept my sincere apologies and be assured that this is not the level of service that we strive for. Your feedback will be shared with the respective team and reinforced with the staff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon and providing you with the five-star experience I know we are capable of!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The high tea is lovely. Serving includes small sandwiches,desserts, and the most heavenly scones. Tea choices are excellent, but not too many choices for iced tea. Service is very good, but had to request water for the table.
The atmosphere is perfect. You are in the center of the hotel and look all the way to the ceiling that is stained glass. All the rooms are in a quadrangle surrounding the lobby. High Tea costs range from $32.00 to $40.00 to start. If you order cocktails it will be extra.
This is perfect for a large group or small. Couples,friends,and children. Be sure to make a reservation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I've lived in the Denver metro area for over 20 years, and I've always wanted to stay at the Brown Palace. I had been to visit in the past for afternoon tea and for brunch, but still had a yearning to stay in one of the rooms. So when it came time to choose a vacation destination this year, I chose to stay in town. Furthermore, I chose to stay at the Brown. A friend flew in from out of state, and we both got rooms. We started our luxurious stay with a smooth check-in transition, much earlier than expected. We arrived around 12:30 for a one o'clock afternoon tea reservation, utilized the valet service, and were able to check in right away! My room was the "Top of the Brown", and it was indeed the top of everything! We enjoyed afternoon tea -- so decadent! Then we had massages down in the spa and enjoyed champagne and snacks as part of that experience. There was turn-down service and music playing in my room when I arrived back for the night. That evening, I enjoyed a luxurious bath in my huge bathtub. The next morning, we enjoyed the brunch at the Palace Arms. The whole experience was perfect in every way! The only regret I have is that I didn't indulge in the butler service. Sigh. The hotel definitely lived up to its reputation. Well worth the time and money!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
949 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
688 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,135 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#20 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: ₹ 14,449 - ₹ 26,109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing