We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch ”

Kikis Japanese Casual Dining
Ranked #1,003 of 3,482 Restaurants in Denver
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Well this restaurant is very close to where I live and the luncheon items are kind of hit or miss. seriously I think I’ve eaten here 50times.Somethings are just wonderful like the California roll in this restaurant is just consistently great the tempura shrimp and the tempura vegetables great too. At lunchtime they offer free soup and free salad -soup is a miso tofu and the salad has a wonderful sesame dressing and you serve yourself.I happened to eat here the day before yesterday and had a lunch combo and ordered broiled shrimp California roll and tempura shrimp and seriously on a dinner size plates they put three little tiny shrimp and they tasted kind of strange so I told the waiter and he didn’t say let me get you anything else and I didn’t ask for anything else service there is spotty and they don’t like it when you complain so I certainly didn’t want to complain. But on this large plate they put a tiny piece of watermelon two pieces of shrimp tempura and three little broiled shrimp it was embarrassing for $11.50 and that California roll was on another little plate 4 little pieces you don’t get a ton of food that’s for sure.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Martine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017

This little place gets a good balance between low-key casual with a fine quality food. Lunch for 3 was about $30 with myriad options. My husband and I both ordered the combo lunch special platter/bowl. Each comes with rice and you can choose 2-3 toppings from about 20 options. He had chicken katsu and gyoza and I opted for shrimp tempura and surprisingly, korroke (a fried potato patty). I've never seen the latter in a Japanese restaurant in the states. Our table mate had a tuna bowl so sushi and sashimi fans can get their fix here too. All lunches come with a salad with a sesamee-soy dressing and miso soup from a self service area. Being Japanese, I've become very skeptical of so called Japanese eateries serving weird fusion dishes. This place gets it right by keeping things simple. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality=cost ratio. Worth your time and money; we'll go back again.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teadivamuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Ok this is a casual and not at all fancy authentic Japanese restaurant, the dining area is simple and not overly impressive but the food is absolutely exceptional. The service was very good and most of the clientele were Japanese. If you must have elegant atmosphere then you may be disappointed, but your palette will be pleased.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I've been going to Kikis for more than 10 years now, maybe 1-2 times a year. Never reviewed it before. Went last night and found the prices have gotten way too high. $19.95 for a beef bowl, just a bowl of mostly white rice with some fatty meat. An extra $2.75 for a small portion of brown rice. Two people ended up costing $45, and no alcohol. Kiki's has a really nice atmosphere, the people are friendly, but for the price it's hard to justify.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Great food and service! Large menu. If you love ramen and udon this place is for you! A good variety of items on the menu. From sushi, rice dishes, and all types of noodles. You won't be disappointed. At least I loved it!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Oscar d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kikis Japanese Casual Dining also viewed

 

Been to Kikis Japanese Casual Dining? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing