We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Delightful Neighborhood Restaurant!”
Review of Cherry Tomato

Cherry Tomato
Ranked #311 of 3,483 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 June 2017

The Cherry Tomato is located on a residential street, and sits quietly on a corner. It is a charming place to have dinner! The hostess was super friendly, our waitress obviously loved her job, and the food was splendid! We had a wide variety of meals and it was all outstanding. We topped dinner off with coffees and desserts, and again - we were not disappointed! I would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a delicious dinner, in a quiet, quaint atmosphere! We'll go again!

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank ShoppingM0M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

If you're looking for great Italian cuisine, look elsewhere. If you're looking for decent food with a friendly neighborhood ambiance, the Cherry Tomato fits the bill.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

I have lived here my entire life, in Lakewood. Our "best Italian" has always been Cafe Jordano, which has always been the best in my opinion. My husband said Cherry Tomato was better, so we went and unfortunately, he was correct. I have been here 8 times now, and I can honestly say that I have never had such good Italian food. My favorite dishes are:

Pasta Filise
Pasta Puttanesca
Sauteed Mushrooms and Garlic Pasta

On top of these three entrees, I will order any special that sounds amazing (they change each time I go) and a dirty martini. The bartender is awesome and I cannot say enough about this little gem. I wish I would have known about it years ago!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nicolew2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

My third trip here and all 3 visits were great. Our server was helpful and attentive without hovering. My ravioli was terrific and sauces are always great. Several red sauce choices ranging from tame to spicy.
A very nice, quaint place with ambiance. Often full so might want to call ahead!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

This is a popular place. We visited on a Sunday evening and every table was taken. There were couples, larger adult groups and families with young children. A tub of crayolas on the table indicates that families are welcome.
The wine list here is quite extensive and they have some good wines, however the prices, I thought, were quite expensive. They have some Italian wines but I would have expected to have a wider choice of Italian.
We started with the antipasto which we shared, the waiter suggested that one antipasto would be fine, we could have done with two. We followed with what was labelled as their award winning lasagna. Yes, it was good, probably as good as I have had in the US, but coming from Europe, I thought the lasagna was pretty ordinary.
I was disappointed with the service. It was slow and I felt that the food was rather thrown at the table.
I am not convinced that I would rush back to the Cherry Tomato.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 560philipm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cherry Tomato also viewed

 

Been to Cherry Tomato? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing