We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
183
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer tasting twin buttes hot chocolate bar gourmet breakfast other guests charming b b expert chef his guest crisp mountain air bulletin board an amazing host store leftovers each evening every morning dietary restrictions private balcony gave great
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is a fantastic B&B, just a few blocks from the main downtown area of Crested Butte. A friend of mine stayed at a different B&B nearby and said the walls were really thin, and there were far more people there so it felt more like a small hotel. My husband and I stayed at the Purple Mountain B&B in early October so we caught the end of the Aspen leaves changing. Having the hot tub and bikes is a great plus. We enjoyed walking to the edge of town where there was open space for our dogs to run, and also walking to the main street in just a couple minutes. Chris cooked wonderful breakfasts both days, and provided excellent recommendations on hikes nearby and restaurants in town. The living room is comfortable to relax in, and has plenty of games & books to keep you busy if you want a mellow afternoon/evening! We will definitely be back this winter and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencer-CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Purple Mountain Lodge with a group of friends. In fact, we took up most of the living room during a football game and then the dining room for those delicious breakfasts. Chris was a very informative host, offering info on restaurants, hiking/biking trails and even offering his help after we left Crested Butte.
Our room was cozy with a good shower. Some of the rooms are larger than others but all are comfortable.
We were there at the height of the aspen glory, before snow, so no crowds either.

Room Tip: Just ask Chris when making reservations which rooms are larger. Also, the room on the first floor might be noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

A perfect B&B in the best mountain town in Colorado, and maybe the US. Chris runs a terrific launching pad to get to know the place and all it has to offer, which is a ton. World class skiing, unbelievable fall colors and vistas, great fishing, hiking, and the best mountain biking in the world. Chris thinks of every detail, from having the weather posted, hike/bike suggestions each week including trip reports and maps for every route, to having plenty of cruiser bikes to use to explore the town (even a tandem!), menus for every restaurant, immaculately clean and comfortable rooms, a nice outdoor shared jacuzzi, an onsite day spa, and not to mention the delicious well thought out healthy breakfasts. Enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. The Twin Buttes and Whetstone room have the best light and view of surrounding peaks.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Fantastic! This was our first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast and it was wonderful. We made ourselves right at home. Chris helped guide us with dining options and then made reservations for our group of 4 couples. The bicycles out front were for the guests to use and Chris gave us information on where to bike, then in the afternoon we drove a short distance to hike into the hills. The breakfasts were fantastic homemade dishes and we left our plates empty. The house and bedrooms were very clean and comfortable. It was like visiting a fairy tale town. The views outside were goregous. Many different types of restaurants and a definite place for a peaceful get away from everything.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

First time ever going to a bed and breakfast. Was very cozy and very welcoming. Chris was very knowledgeable of the area and great recommendations for things to do in the area. Some of the best breakfast ive ever ate. You will get full. The whole experience was amazing and my girlfriend was very impressed. We are in our late 20's and is great for all ages and adventurous people. Romantic also. Would recommend this place to everyone. It's definitely a must!!! They run a top notch b&b!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maverick8099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews