We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
193
15
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
15
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cement creek red fox wild rose fire pit wood stove log cabin modern amenities rustic charm warming hut minute drive great trails perfect mountain small bathroom mountain biking couple of nights two nights we've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

This is our second visit to stay with Pioneer Guest Cabins along the Cement Creek near the quant town of Crested Butte. We loved the peace and quiet as compared to our lives in busy Houston, Texas. We did some hiking around the cabins and up Cement Creek. We also found trails near town in Crested Butte. One day we took the ski lift up Mt. Crested Butte to hike around a little with that grand view. We'll come back to stay with Matt and his wife again some day at Pioneer Guest Cabins.

Room tip: Red Fox and the Humming Bird cabin are both nice. Enjoyed having a kitchen.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chuck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We stayed in the Double Top cabin. Loved it! Beautiful area. Quiet and peaceful. Kitchen was well stocked and the beds were very comfy. Nice walking trails by the river. The gas fireplace and wood stove were a great feature,

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank mtnzoo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pioneer Guest C, Owner at Pioneer Guest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Thank you so much for your visit to the Pioneer. We apprecate your comments and time. Take good care and enjoy the rest of your fall.
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

We love the Pioneer Guest cabins...period. Great home base for the BEST hiking, mountain biking and skiing in Colorado. We now go twice a year, for two weeks in the summer and a week in the fall. Looking forward to retirement so we can add a fourth week in winter too. The cabins are great, and hosts Leah and Matt are generous with their local knowledge and are totally invested in environmental awareness.

Room tip: We have stayed in every cabin, and they are all special. All spotless and well equipped. All are quiet.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Scenic403616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We stayed in Homestead two nights. We never met the on-site managers, owners, whatever. When we arrived late afternoon, our key was clipped to the office door with two pages of instructions with potential fines for any infraction— from $50 on up for dog hair, not taking out trash and recyclables or leaving dirty dishes (I’m the one who goes around picking up my dog’s poop and any others, takes recyclables home if necessary, and NEVER leaves dirty dishes.) We were instructed to sign and initial and “come find” our hosts to finish our check in. We instead drove into CB to buy coffee filters, shampoo, etc. (Providing small complimentary sizes and a blow dryer would have been a very inexpensive nice touch.) The bathroom was tiny and would have been too small to navigate for a tall or overweight person. I can only conclude (with all the potential fines and rules) that these people have been burned by past guests. The location is lovely, and the creek side chairs were nice for relaxing with a glass of wine. I can’t recommend staying here as it’s very expensive and we didn’t feel valued.

Room tip: I don’t have a tip.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pioneer Guest C, Owner at Pioneer Guest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Hi and sorry you were disappointed and sorry we missed you the day you checked. My husband was out of town and I had to run and pick up my child at school. We were here Wednesday night and all day on Thursday with the exception of a couple of hours to clean a cabin. Being a small, family owned resort, we do have a dog clean up fee if there is an excessive amount of dog hair on the beds and furniture. We rarely have to charge guests as most people are respectful of that rule. We do not charge customers for not taking out trash or recyclables but is a request that helps us to maintain a clean smelling cabin. We do not provide shampoo and conditioner but there is always and extra bottle or two in the customer office supply cabinet in addition to coffee filters. Guests can come grab whatever they need if they have run out of toilet paper, paper towels, coffee filters etc. That information was listed on your check-in documents.

We have owned the Pioneer Guest Cabins for almost 20 years and work really hard to make everything as nice as possible. We have remodeled all the cabins and all the baths with the exception of the Homestead bath. We are aware that the size is small and plan on remodeling that bathroom this coming spring. Homestead was built in 1931, so back then everything was made a bit smaller unfortunately.

We are always very disappointed when folks don't enjoy their stay, but we are always striving to improve our guests experiences and keep the cabins clean and well maintained.

Take good care --Leah and Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

We stayed in the Red Fox cabin for a couple of nights. Very clean, well kept and comfortable amenities. We were able to enjoy some great trails and peaceful brook. We would recommend these cabins for anyone desiring to have some quiet downtime.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbarry468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pioneer Guest C, Owner at Pioneer Guest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Thank you for choosing the Pioneer and hope you enjoyed the beautiful fall weather and scenery. We hope you had a safe trip back to Nebraska and hope to see you and Chelsa again soon.

Take good care --
Leah and Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews