We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
189
15
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
189
15
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred foxcement creekwild rosefire pitlog cabinmodern amenitiesgreat cabinminute drivewarming huthummingbird feederssmall bathroomgreat trailshiking trailsadirondack chairsour favorite placewe've stayedtwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We love the Pioneer Cabins. Early 20th century ski cabins that sit far away from Crested Butte to feel secluded but close enough to easily do all of the town activities. The cabins are wonderful. We have visited the Pioneer three times and will return again. The owners are very friendly.

Room Tip: Only some room had WiFi.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pioneergc, Owner at Pioneer Guest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback and review. We appreciate the review and for choosing the Pioneer again.

Wishing you and your family Happy Holidays and take good care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

On our yearly trips to CO we always end up at Pioneer Guest Cabins as our last and best place to relax. Cabins are very rustic but comfortable which is great for us. Kitchen has just enough equipment to let us cook for cool weather, beds are comfy and warm, and gas fire is easy to use. Numerous hiking trails start right from cabin area. It wouldn't be CO vacation for us without Pioneer Cabins.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Our cabin was very nice. We had everything we needed. The beds were super comfy. The scenery around the cabin was beautiful! We enjoyed hiking around the Cabin. I liked that we were only 10 or 15 minutes from Crested Butte. We drove in every day and ate at a different restaurant. Lots of delicious food!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bonnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We recently stayed at the Homestead Cabin. Our visit far exceeded any expectation. Situated along Cement Creek, the cabin provided a cozy retreat with a wonderful seating area decorated in a ski motif and heated by a gas fired stove. We were lulled to sleep by the sound of the creek and rain on the tin roof. The kitchen was fully equipped and the outside barbecue was an added bonus. Several hikes emanate from the cabins. Be sure not to miss the remnants of Pioneer Ski Area and Colorado's first chairlift......fascinating for those who love skiing and history. The cabin and our experience were beyond wonderful.

Room Tip: Every cabin is unique......best to match a cabin to the size of your group.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

I've been staying here since 2003, and I am never disappointed. If you are looking for the solitude of Crested Butte, a great experience at the edge of the wilderness, and some rustic charm, you will not be disappointed. It's a short trip to town, and an even shorter trip to some of the areas best mountain biking. Cement creek has great fishing just steps from your door as well. Pioneer even has their own trail up to the top of Colorado's first chairlift, with great views from the top. In 14 years, we've tried it all repeatedly, and will come back again and again.

Room Tip: Last I checked, only some of the cabins had wi-fi. There is wifi in the office though. No cell service.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pioneergc, Owner at Pioneer Guest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Graham--
We appreciate your continued business and always great to have you guys! We do have wi-fi in ALL the cabins now!

Enjoy your ski season and take good care,
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews