We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In The Words Of A Teenager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Colorado Springs
Ranked #84 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“In The Words Of A Teenager”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

From booking my hotel going thru priceline we finally made it to the Howard Johnson in Colorado Springs 8280 Hwy 83 80920 is the address. I walked into the lobby with my teenage son to check-in and thought I was home. We got our keys and went in to the room in the words of my son " Dude this room is Official"! I could only laugh and say that this was priceless, looking out my window and seeing the mountains the sight was amazing! Breakfast all I can say you don't have to have all the many things others offer just the great breakfast that they have to offer, waffels,cereal and "Great Coffee" thats all we need. Everything is walking distance to the hotel, and the staff in dad's words "They To are Official" friendly smiles and great people. My recommendations in the words of Nike "Just Do It"

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    84
    144
    141
    184
See reviews for
234
128
68
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This hotel is horrible! My grandson warned us not to stay there but it was the best price so we booked 5 days non refundable. Big mistake. It is shabby and old. The breakfast is gone and not replaced if you don't get there 2 hours before they stop serving. The internet doesn't work in the rooms. The sheets have holes in them and stains. The mattresses sag into a hole in the middle. But the very worst part was the bed bugs. We were literally eaten alive. I was able to discourage the nasty little creatures with lavender lotion, but my husband wouldn't use it and so got bitten every night! No amount of "savings" was worth the stay here. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank civmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usually Pennsyvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

After booking this hotel by a second party website because of its good price for the quality of the reviews, we arrived to find things not as we'd expected. We've been to plenty of discount hotels that were charming, good value, clean and completely fine. We figured we'd get the same here. When we entered the room, the first thing we noticed was the lamp hanging out of the wall by its electrical wire. Next we pulled the sheet back to find a clump of hair and a stain on the sheet. The matress pad beneath the sheet only went up as far as chest height and the matress had no firmness to it. When I got on the internet to start looking for another hotel, I found that the internet speed was the slowest I'd ever encountered at a hotel - it's been years since I used dial-up, but it seemed just that slow. The rooms facing Pike's Peak are probably amazing, but we were stuck on the back side of the hotel (half of their rooms do NOT face the mountains, remember). Not only were we on the back side, but right next to the VERY busy road. Road noise was HIGH. We did not stay long enough to report on the breakfast. We took a one night's fee beating to get the heck out of there as fast as possible. The general conditions of the hotel were aged at best. One positive thing I can say that at least we only were charged for our one night.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for mountain view - otherwise, there is little good to be had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank priest21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando fl
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

If you just want a bed to sleep in then expect that it's all you're going to get. The WiFi doesn't work in the rooms, and they don't have very many channels to watch on tv. When I called before checking in they informed me that they had microwaves in the rooms, and that they had cribs to rent, so I thought "great, how convenient ." When we got here there was no microwave, and the crib was a folded up play pen and they didn't provide any blankets for it. When I called the front desk about the microwaves they said I was misinformed. The next day when I went down for breakfast at 9, they were putting breakfast away even though they said it ends at 10. The Asian lady was very rude and stingy and pretty much watched my every move to ensure that I didn't take more of their free breakfast. The next day I had trouble with the waffle maker and asked for help, and the front desk lady was very rude. I went downstairs to ask for more toilet paper and the stingy manager was rude and only gave me one role. The blow dryer doesn't work, and the iron leaks rust, so your clothes get stained..nothing works but maybe the fridge. The pool is green, so don't expect to go swimming. To make a long story short if you want a CLEAN, convenient, comfortable place, there are many other hotels around the area....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2011

No real complaints as this was THE cheapest room in the Springs on a Saturday night and delivered just that, not much more. The receptionist Sat. P.M. was coarse and gritty when explaining the stupid "safe" charge, which they tack on UNLESS you specifically take it off on checkout; what a rip-off. Not too clean, not "any" appointed, but provided decent shelter for a quick budget hit. The breakfast was reminiscent of cardboard carb-loading, but the morning receptionist was cheery.

Room Tip: Upper floor w/ Pikes Peak/highway view was still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grottytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.7 km away
Econo Lodge North Academy
Econo Lodge North Academy
#72 of 105 in Colorado Springs
132 reviews
0.3 km away
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Fo...
#29 of 105 in Colorado Springs
559 reviews
0.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Colorado Springs
Baymont Inn & Suites Colorado Sp...
#65 of 105 in Colorado Springs
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado Springs North
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#57 of 105 in Colorado Springs
107 reviews
6.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Colorado Springs
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#77 of 105 in Colorado Springs
126 reviews
0.3 km away
Super 8 Colorado Springs/AFA Area
Super 8 Colorado Springs/AFA Are...
#67 of 105 in Colorado Springs
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Property: Howard Johnson Colorado Springs
Address: 8280 Voyager Pkwy, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-5508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,027 - ₹ 6,376
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Colorado Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-story Inn. Great location, beautiful views of the Rocky Mountains, shopping and restaurants within walking distance, modern guest comforts, outdoor seasonal pool, near the Air Force Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing