We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Celeste Mountain Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
US$ 150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
US$ 88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tenorio Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
US$ 185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
US$ 29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 1,085
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 78
US$ 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 48
Travelocity
View Deal
US$ 63
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$ 152
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rio Perdido(Bagaces)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
635
184
47
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
184
47
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerrio celeste hideawaythe rivernational parkswim up barrainy seasonour honeymoonprivate trailhidden gemoff the beaten pathdown the roadbeautiful placesan joseremote locationcevichehotel groundstrip to costa rica
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

This place is beautiful. Each room is it's own little bungalow. Hardwood floors, jacuzzi tub, outdoor shower and a spacious patio perfect for a morning cup of coffee. The walk to the river is a short and mild hike. My mom who is in her mid 60s was able to walk it without a problem. The Rio Celeste itself was beautiful but quite cold. The staff was some of the friendliest we've ever met. We were only hear one night and it was definitely not enough time. Would love to come back and stay a few days. Be warned the road to get here is ridiculously bad. Don't even try it without a 4x4, and even with one be prepared for a very long and very rough road. Totally worth it though!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank rebecar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Rio Celeste Hideaway is the best resort in the area to experience the river. There is the Tenorio National Park that gives you access to view the falls and river, but you can't swim and you must deal with other people. There is also a small bridge that spans the Rio Celeste that you can park on either side of and sit in the water, but you must deal with the road and passers-by. RCH has it's own private trail to the river and it is stunning. No other place in the area has this benefit. We spent a whole day swimming and watching the rainforest around us without another soul in sight. The river is everything the photos make it appear. Gorgeous. Eat breakfast with a friendly coati. Listen to the monkeys in the morning. Blue morphos everywhere. Flocks of toucans flying by. Did I mention one of the most beautiful rivers in the world?
Please plan on spending more than one night or day here. We saw far too many people just come in to see the falls and they miss out. There is so much to do in the Bijagua-Alajuela area.
Yes, you are definitely in a rainforest. It will rain. But it will also clear up. The road is bumpy and you need a four-wheel drive. I found it pretty typical for Costa Rica away from the primary tourist areas though. It was better than some of the roads we drove in the Chirripo Mountains. Yes, the TVs in the rooms are iffy. I found this to be a positive by the end of our visit. You don't want to watch the news anyway. WiFi was pretty good in the rooms. The local people are fantastic. The staff is helpful and genuinely friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015

The drive to get to the hideaway was well worth it! Arriving to this beautiful resort in the middle of the rainforest and volcanic area was just amazing! We were greeted with a refreshing drink and were immediately taken to our casita! There are only 26 "rooms" in the hotel which makes it exclusive and romantic. Our room had a large balcony among the trees and an outdoor shower which was amazing in the rain! The staff was very attentive and friendly! Our favorite staff person was Greivin who was our bartender and waiter most nights. He decorated our table after we told him it was our honeymoon and even left us a nice note and small gift when we left! We were only there for 2 nights but he was so friendly and amazing, it was nice to make that friendship with him. Wonderful hotel that is close to the waterfall- about 1 km away. A relaxing hotel with a nice pool and private atmosphere!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony! Very nice to relax among the trees!
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoFloBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2015

From the moment we arrived at the Rio Celeste Hideaway it felt magical. Checking in was a slick operation - a brief tour of the restaurant and bar area, welcome drink, then a golf buggy to our casita, which was absolutely stunning. The room was massive and beautifully furnished. We loved the twin basins, balcony area, four poster bed and secluded outdoor shower in particular. It certainly felt very luxurious.

Although the casitas are built next to each other along a path, they are well screened and very private. The landscaping throughout the hotel is wonderful and you feel as if you're in the midst of the rainforest at every turn.

The pool area was great - clean and well maintained. One of the highlights of our stay was sitting in the hot tub during a thunderstorm. Clean towels are provided, and there is a rather funky swim-up bar.

Breakfast was good, and we had some enjoyable evening meals in the restaurant. Prices are expensive - similar to UK prices in a mid-range restaurant - but we found this everywhere (for tourists, anyway). You'll probably get a bit fed up of the menu after a few days, but we only stayed 4 nights.

The staff were incredibly friendly, courteous and helpful. We had a wonderful massage in the spa, which though pricey was one of the best I've ever had. We did some other trips - Tenorio hike, tubing and bird watching - which were all excellent, though you can easily make the trip to Tenorio yourselves and save quite a bit of money.

In summary, this is one of the finest hotels I've ever visited. If you've got the money and want a really enjoyable, relaxing stay, this is the place to come.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biz_e26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

So glad we decided to stay at Rio Celeste Hideaway. I really wanted to do the Rio Celeste hike and this property was the best option to accomodate that. The road leading tot he property is a very rough gravel road, so be prepared for a jolting ride. This road last for about 22 KM/45 mins before you make it to the property. The grounds of this property are beautiful and the cabanas are awesome. There is a very cool outdoor shower that we loved. The rainforest view from the balcony is tranquil and you can hear the Rio Celeste. The wifi is only available in the common area, but seeing as how you are so far off the beaten path it's nice that it's offered at all. It is in a very remote location, not close to any restaurants, so plan to eat on property at the Kantala Restaurant. Mauracio and Gustavo who worked the dining room were awesome. We had quesadillas, pina colodas and chocolate souffle for dinner and all were very good. They have the same menus all the time for lunch and dinner, but they will make lunch menu items for dinner if you ask. We ate off the snack menu quite a bit, the ham & cheese with tomato soup and chicken fingers are good. The pork and pasta were just ok. They also serve a very good traditional Costa Rican breakfast which is included in your stay. The property has a nice pool with a swim up bar(wasn't open for off season) and 3 different hot tubs at different temperatures. There is also a good trail on the property that leads to the blue water of the Rio Celeste River. It is a 15-20 minute walk and there is a cabana with towels and you are allowed to swim (at your own risk) here. It is worth mentioning that the power in your room only works when you put in your key card, so no cool room to retreat to when you've been out in the heat all day. There was a thunderstorm while we were there the 1st night and the power was out for 2 hours, be sure you have some flashlights with you because the emergency lights in our room went out after 15 minutes and it is dark in the rain forest! This leads up to our hike to Rio Celeste Waterfall. It was a 4 hour intermediate hike w/ some difficult parts that were muddy, slippery and steep. There are over 200 steps down (and back up!) to get to the waterfall, but it was certainly worth it. You can't even imagine waht a brilliant blue it is until you're standing in front of it. There are 4 stops on the hike: the waterfall, the bluest deepest part of the river, the natural hot spring where the bubbles are and the sulfur vein where the water passes over it and changes to blue, so amazing! There is a narrow swinging bridge that leads to this section, which was pretty cool. This, to me, was the most amzing part of the Rio Celeste. It's amazing to see the exact spot where on one side the river looks like any other river and then all of the sudden it's this brilliant blue, just amazing! We did hire a guide for this hike through the Rio Celeste Hideaway. Our guide was Alex and he was great. His family was the first to live in the National Park and he's been giving tours since he was 12 years old. He pointed out so many things we would have otherwise missed and gave us a lot of history about the Park. It is also worth mentioning that we had our 8 year old (non-athletic) daughter withe us for this hike and she did great. When first booking our trip to Costa Rica I knew this was a hike that I really wanted to do, but I was so worried that it would be to hard for here, but she loved it and I'm so glad we did it!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Aliann413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews