We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Celeste Mountain Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
US$ 150
US$ 135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
US$ 88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tenorio Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
US$ 29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 252
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Perdido(Bagaces)
US$ 280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 67
US$ 65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 49
TripAdvisor
View Deal
US$ 64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$ 127
US$ 109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (882)
Filter reviews
882 results
Traveller rating
635
184
48
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
184
48
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerrio celeste hideawaythe rivernational parkswim up barrainy seasonour honeymoonprivate trailhidden gemoff the beaten pathdown the roadbeautiful placesan joseremote locationcevichehotel groundstrip to costa rica
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 882 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2015

From the moment we arrived at the Rio Celeste Hideaway it felt magical. Checking in was a slick operation - a brief tour of the restaurant and bar area, welcome drink, then a golf buggy to our casita, which was absolutely stunning. The room was massive and beautifully furnished. We loved the twin basins, balcony area, four poster bed and secluded outdoor shower in particular. It certainly felt very luxurious.

Although the casitas are built next to each other along a path, they are well screened and very private. The landscaping throughout the hotel is wonderful and you feel as if you're in the midst of the rainforest at every turn.

The pool area was great - clean and well maintained. One of the highlights of our stay was sitting in the hot tub during a thunderstorm. Clean towels are provided, and there is a rather funky swim-up bar.

Breakfast was good, and we had some enjoyable evening meals in the restaurant. Prices are expensive - similar to UK prices in a mid-range restaurant - but we found this everywhere (for tourists, anyway). You'll probably get a bit fed up of the menu after a few days, but we only stayed 4 nights.

The staff were incredibly friendly, courteous and helpful. We had a wonderful massage in the spa, which though pricey was one of the best I've ever had. We did some other trips - Tenorio hike, tubing and bird watching - which were all excellent, though you can easily make the trip to Tenorio yourselves and save quite a bit of money.

In summary, this is one of the finest hotels I've ever visited. If you've got the money and want a really enjoyable, relaxing stay, this is the place to come.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biz_e26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

So glad we decided to stay at Rio Celeste Hideaway. I really wanted to do the Rio Celeste hike and this property was the best option to accomodate that. The road leading tot he property is a very rough gravel road, so be prepared for a jolting ride. This road last for about 22 KM/45 mins before you make it to the property. The grounds of this property are beautiful and the cabanas are awesome. There is a very cool outdoor shower that we loved. The rainforest view from the balcony is tranquil and you can hear the Rio Celeste. The wifi is only available in the common area, but seeing as how you are so far off the beaten path it's nice that it's offered at all. It is in a very remote location, not close to any restaurants, so plan to eat on property at the Kantala Restaurant. Mauracio and Gustavo who worked the dining room were awesome. We had quesadillas, pina colodas and chocolate souffle for dinner and all were very good. They have the same menus all the time for lunch and dinner, but they will make lunch menu items for dinner if you ask. We ate off the snack menu quite a bit, the ham & cheese with tomato soup and chicken fingers are good. The pork and pasta were just ok. They also serve a very good traditional Costa Rican breakfast which is included in your stay. The property has a nice pool with a swim up bar(wasn't open for off season) and 3 different hot tubs at different temperatures. There is also a good trail on the property that leads to the blue water of the Rio Celeste River. It is a 15-20 minute walk and there is a cabana with towels and you are allowed to swim (at your own risk) here. It is worth mentioning that the power in your room only works when you put in your key card, so no cool room to retreat to when you've been out in the heat all day. There was a thunderstorm while we were there the 1st night and the power was out for 2 hours, be sure you have some flashlights with you because the emergency lights in our room went out after 15 minutes and it is dark in the rain forest! This leads up to our hike to Rio Celeste Waterfall. It was a 4 hour intermediate hike w/ some difficult parts that were muddy, slippery and steep. There are over 200 steps down (and back up!) to get to the waterfall, but it was certainly worth it. You can't even imagine waht a brilliant blue it is until you're standing in front of it. There are 4 stops on the hike: the waterfall, the bluest deepest part of the river, the natural hot spring where the bubbles are and the sulfur vein where the water passes over it and changes to blue, so amazing! There is a narrow swinging bridge that leads to this section, which was pretty cool. This, to me, was the most amzing part of the Rio Celeste. It's amazing to see the exact spot where on one side the river looks like any other river and then all of the sudden it's this brilliant blue, just amazing! We did hire a guide for this hike through the Rio Celeste Hideaway. Our guide was Alex and he was great. His family was the first to live in the National Park and he's been giving tours since he was 12 years old. He pointed out so many things we would have otherwise missed and gave us a lot of history about the Park. It is also worth mentioning that we had our 8 year old (non-athletic) daughter withe us for this hike and she did great. When first booking our trip to Costa Rica I knew this was a hike that I really wanted to do, but I was so worried that it would be to hard for here, but she loved it and I'm so glad we did it!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Aliann413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

On first arriving, the place looks amazing. However, on entering the room, there is a distinctive musty smell which as a bit off putting. The room could do with a lick of paint and the tv was very temperamental -it would switched off half through and then you'd lose the channel.

Focusing on the positives, the setting is amazing the pool and jacuzzi are great, the walk to the river is a must do and it's safe to swim but be careful of the rocks. The restaurant was lovely but the food is rather expensive and the breakfast is quite limited. As a bird watching place, it doesn't disappoint as we saw toucans, parrots and loads of hummingbirds. There is free wifi but not a lot more to do, as the name of the hotel suggests, hideaway it certainly is.

Stayed: November 2015
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Very nice hotel. The staff was great! We arrived in rainy season and late in the afternoon. The river runs behind the hotel and you can walk down to Rio Celeste and it is safe to swim. You are not allowed to do so in the nation park, so that was a cool experience. The rooms are huge! The pictures don't do them justice and each little house has it's own patio so you can sit outside and hear all the animals. Very romantic and extra large bathroom! Food was a little expensive compared to there places, and the wifi works great in the lobby. If you need your cell phone (AT&T) be careful. My phone and texts did not works and I had business back home to check on which stressed me out a little.

Room Tip: Wifi is free, doesn't work in the rooms away from lobby. Room 17 had views of the jungle, Room (16) viewed the walkway and another house.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _Vanessa_R_M_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Each room is a cabin set in the rainforest garden The bedroom is huge with four ouster beds lots of sitting space inside and outside on the balcony There is an outside hot shower as well as an inside shower over the jacuzzi bath Lots of birds yo see plus an opussum which wandered into the dining room There is a lovely walk down to the river there is a good pool The breakfast buffet is good as are the evening meals. It did rain quite a bit in the evening (what else would you expect in the rain forest?) but each cabin has an umbrella outside and there are lots more in the main reception areas

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Jew23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews