We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Modis

Modis
Reserve with OpenTable
Modis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 154 Restaurants in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ski Hill Rd
Transit: "Free Ride" transit stop located 1/2 block south on Main Street at the Blue River Plaza.
Description: Colorado contemporary cuisine in a vibrant and eclectic atmosphere. We focus on the art of food, drinks, and life. Come in a try our seasonally changing menu. Enjoy 44 wines by the glass and more than 40 craft cocktails! We have 2 daily happy hours 3-6 P.M. And 9-close. With dinner service starting at 5 P.M. And ending around 9:30 P.M. Tuesday - Sunday.
Breckenridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I love walking into Modis and sitting at the bar for a drink and an appetizer (great people watching). And for full on dinner it is a great location.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Barbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    147
    44
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Walked in for a drink but ended up staying for a great meal”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was our last night in Breck after as week. We were planning to do a sushi dinner elsewhere but wanted cocktails and some apps before.

The space is warm and welcoming and we sat at the bar for a few hours. Bartenders were great and friendly.

For our apps, we had the mussels (much above average) and an interesting Indian inspired app with saag, eggplant curry, and chickpea potatoes. Very good indeed.

Since the dinner looked quite interesting, we decided to forgo sushi and stayed. I ordered the tenderloin special - meat was very tended with a nice Steak Diane sauce. My wife had the Pho bowl that was pretty unique for a non-Vietnamese place. We also got the brussel sprout leaves - we have grown very attached to brussels in the last couple of years, but these were some of the best. The asparagus was also very nice.

So all in alll our best dining experience in Breck - slightly better than Petit Paris and certainly better than Relish.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to go by yourself - if you sit at the bar”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Saw the restaurant mentioned, and long waits at other places, so I walked in. No tables were open, but there were a few seats at the bar. There were two young guys tending bar, and they were great. Friendly and accommodating. Had the roast duck breast which was excellent, as was the cherry sauce.

Found out the next day the origin of the name. Seems like the owner had a younger brother who would say at dinner, when there way something he really liked: " Mo Dis."

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service, good food.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a reservation on a Friday evening in February, it was busy but we were seated quickly. The restaurant decor is interesting, nice art, maybe not as cozy as I would have liked for a "romantic" restaurant (no candles on the tables, paper table cloth, etc).
The waiter was friendly and helpful.
The food came out surprisingly quickly, which was nice. The food was good but not great. I had an asian noodle dish that was tasty but logistically hard to eat.

I would probably try another area restauarant before returning to this one, but it was ok.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pnda410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really, really disappointed”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The food and ambience was good, the experience was terrible!!! Wee forgot a new camera on the table and although we were the last persons to leave the restaurant because they were closing, the camera never appeared and the owner did not felt responsible for the theft

  • Visited February 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pi-Suner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modis, Owner at Modis, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
I don't normally respond to reviews since everyone is entitled to their own opinions. Accusing my staff or me of theft is another issue. In the 25 years I have been in business in Breckenridge no one has ever accused me of stealing. Immediately after you left I cleaned the table myself, there was no camera on or around the table. I don't feel any responsibility for your lost camera because you did not leave it in my restaurant. Eric Mamula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Modis also viewed

 
Breckenridge, CO
Breckenridge, CO
 

Been to Modis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing