We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value in Boulder”
Review of University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Inn
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Value in Boulder”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The University Inn is well-located in Boulder - within convenient walking distance to the CU campus and Pearl Street Mall etc. The property is an older motel design but comfortable and well maintained. If you are a light sleeper request a second floor room since the floors creak when guests walk across them. The Alfalfa Market across the street is a Whole Foods type store and good source of hiking lunches, etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    112
    39
    11
    15
See reviews for
83
87
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed here for three nights and it was very comfortable. If you pre-pay online the already amazing price drops even further. The bed was comfortable and the room was a good size. I had a great view of the mountains, which were especially beautiful because it snowed while I was there. There is a free continental breakfast, and also free internet. The staff was both helpful and kind. When my Super Shuttle was two hours late the man at the front desk took it upon himself to help me call to see where my shuttle was and to keep me entertained while I was waiting. My only issue was that the heater made a funky noise when it came on, but it worked in the end.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a better view, and rooms the furthest from the street will be the qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

In the first room it was very obvious that it was pet friendly. They moved us to a better room. Not bad for a budget hotel but nothing special. Convenient location, loaner bikes, off street parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoulderCreek, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for staying at the Boulder University Inn. We are pleased you found our location and parking to be convenient- we pride ourselves on providing top-notch service in a superior location! We are proud to offer designated pet friendly accommodation to our guests. All of our pet friendly rooms offer the same amenities as our non-pet friendly room and our deep cleaned after our four-legged guest checks-out. Please note that The American with Disabilities Act (ADA) does welcome service animals in any guest room at any time. That would be the same in any hotel you were to stay at. We hope the next time you choose to visit Boulder, CO you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Sorry, but we have to disagree with the previous review.
It is well located to Pearl Street but we were disappointed with the condition of the room for the price paid. The room we stayed in was rather 'shabby' and is in need of updating.
We usually stay in fairly basic places, and stayed in several hotels and cabins during our trip, but unfortunately felt this one didn't provide value for money.
Yes, free breakfast and internet were an advantage.
We were at the end of a long day's drive so didn't shop around for other places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoulderCreek, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our property. Thank you for noting the complimentary amenities we offer such as free high speed internet, parking and breakfast. We are sincerely sorry you did not find the room up to your standards. We take guest comments very seriously and will review your comments with our staff and ownership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed here for 1 night October 7, 2011, and was chosen because of it's very close proximity to CU and Pearl Street Mall. We walked to Pearl Street in less than 5 minutes. It's a safe location all the time. The staff is very helpful, rooms are above average with hot showers and great beds and parking is free.The next morning the free breakfast was very good, hot coffee plentiful and staff right there to assist. I'd definitely stay here again upon my next return to Boulder.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patagonia779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 20 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
2.5 km away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
0.5 km away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 20 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
9.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
1.5 km away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 20 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Property: University Inn
Address: 1632 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80302-6297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#7 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,343 - ₹ 15,837
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulder's best lodging value offers it all with spacious rooms, complimentary WIFI, continental breakfast, and outdoor seasonal pool. Walk to CU and Pearl Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing