We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
University Inn
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Sorry, but we have to disagree with the previous review.
It is well located to Pearl Street but we were disappointed with the condition of the room for the price paid. The room we stayed in was rather 'shabby' and is in need of updating.
We usually stay in fairly basic places, and stayed in several hotels and cabins during our trip, but unfortunately felt this one didn't provide value for money.
Yes, free breakfast and internet were an advantage.
We were at the end of a long day's drive so didn't shop around for other places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoulderCreek, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our property. Thank you for noting the complimentary amenities we offer such as free high speed internet, parking and breakfast. We are sincerely sorry you did not find the room up to your standards. We take guest comments very seriously and will review your comments with our staff and ownership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    112
    39
    11
    15
See reviews for
83
85
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed here for 1 night October 7, 2011, and was chosen because of it's very close proximity to CU and Pearl Street Mall. We walked to Pearl Street in less than 5 minutes. It's a safe location all the time. The staff is very helpful, rooms are above average with hot showers and great beds and parking is free.The next morning the free breakfast was very good, hot coffee plentiful and staff right there to assist. I'd definitely stay here again upon my next return to Boulder.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patagonia779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

My last review of the University Inn was from our 2nd stay in May 2008 and although we have stayed there a many times since, I wanted to take the time after our most recent visit to say that this hotel is still a good bang for the buck and for it's location.

*I find the pictures of the room & property accurate. *If you cannot forgo marble baths, fancy bedding, and flat screens tv this hotel is probably not for you.

We find the front desk staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are a little outdated, but are clean and comfortable. Having refrigerators in the room would be a huge plus as most of our stays are for 4 nights or more and it would be nice to be able to keep cold drinks in the room as well as leftovers. We fly from the East coast and do not travel with a cooler, but if you are coming by car and staying a few nights I recommend bringing one to keep in the room.

Over the years we have stayed in rooms with 1 king bed, 2 full beds, and during our most recent stay in July we had a junior suite; which is regular room with a full size bed and off of this room is a small room with another full size bed and 2 built in end tables. It was an extremely hot week while we were there and our adult son was not able to shut the door to his "room" as the AC did not work in there. Not a huge deal, but hindsight we should have booked a standard room with 2 beds for 3 adults. I think we would have been more comfortable, space and temperature wise.

The continental breakfast has the typical offerings: choices of dry cereal, packets of oatmeal, bagels, donuts, danishes, muffins, yogurt and a variety of hot & cold beverages. Unless I missed it, fruit would have been a nice addition.

Besides the comfortable sleep, a good hot shower, and something to eat in the morning, what we like best about the University Inn is the location! If you have student at CU, living on campus or on The Hill, this hotel is so convenient. We like that we can walk to where they are living and not have to search for a parking spot. It is an easy walk to Pearl Street for shopping and dining, again do no need to worry about parking. And for on campus activities like football games & graduation, no need to get in your car! It is also on the Boulder Creek path and about a block from the seasonal Wed & Sat Farmer's Market. And if you like to ride bikes, the hotel lends them out for free! The new Alfalfa's market across the street has awesome take out sandwiches and salads and the Thai restaurant a few buildings down has delicious spring rolls and pad thai!

I for one hope management keeps the hotel & rooms simple, clean, comfortable, and affordable!

Looking forward to our next visit!

Mare

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mare123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoulderCreek, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you so much for your continued patronage of the Boulder University Inn. We appreciate you stating that our property pictures are accurate – I’m pleased you noticed that we are correct in our portrayal of our property. Our service commitment is everything you expect in a budget hotel with a great location, but without the frills like granite countertops and flat screen televisions. We appreciate your feedback and would like to comment on a few of your suggestions. We recognize that some of our guests would like to have refrigerators in their room. On your next visit with us, please request a refrigerator with our front desk and provided we have one available we will deliver to your room for use during your stay complimentary – no need to travel with a cooler! We apologize that you were unable to close the door to the second room in your suite as the air conditioner should have easily cooled that room to a comfortable temperature without having to leave the door open. We have addressed the problem with the air conditioner and would like to apologize to you and your son for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Boulder and again – thank you for your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This served my purpose for visiting my CU student. Clean, nearby, good front desk staff. It does need a major facelift, though, and did not feel completely comfortable (safety-wise) for a woman traveling alone...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ONGOLDENPOND2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

No granite counter tops or anything fancy. But great simple very clean room in very great location. I was visiting friends on the hill, and I could easily walk to "the Hill" or the Pearl St Mall. Also there were restaurants very near by (Thai place almost adjoining motel). It is not anything smart of fancy and doesn't aim to impress. But I was totally happy with my stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 20 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
2.5 km away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
0.5 km away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 20 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
9.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
1.5 km away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 20 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Property: University Inn
Address: 1632 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80302-6297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#7 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,696 - ₹ 14,961
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulder's best lodging value offers it all with spacious rooms, complimentary WIFI, continental breakfast, and outdoor seasonal pool. Walk to CU and Pearl Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing