We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Must "do" when in Boulder” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Local Table Tours

Local Table Tours
Ranked #6 of 20 Food & Drink in Boulder
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Local Table Tours brings small groups on culinary walking tours for an exclusive taste of the town. Food tours, cocktail tasting tours, coffee and chocolate tasting tours,progressive dinners and private dining experiences offer a unique taste of the Boulder food scene. Discover America's foodiest town, one bite at a time. Please visit our Local Table Tours, Denver Tours as well for more information on our Denver culinary excursions.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must "do" when in Boulder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We love visiting Boulder, and there are so many places to eat! It is often difficult for us to decide where to go. On this visit we tried something new, the "Local Table Tours". Our guide and owner of Local Table Tours was Megan Bucholz, she is delightful! She makes arrangements with local eateries for her tours to visit and sample some of their menu items. We were served food and drink at each of our stops. What a wonderful way to try several resturants in a single afternoon! This is a true behind the scenes tour of some delicious places to eat. Table Tours also offers Cocktail tours as well as tours of Denver area resturants.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PamInABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    3
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The restaurants we went to (they can vary from tour to tour) were Salt, the Pinyon Cafe, Pizzeria Locale, and then to Tee & Cakes for dessert. All the restaurants are really good ones, and it was cool to talk with the chefs, learn more about the food and the restaurant, and in one case, get a glimpse behind the scenes.

Everything we tasted was delicious. The overall quantity of food was good too, so by the end of the tour we were pretty full. I'm not sure if it would have worked out as well if there were more people (we had 7 and the limit is 10), but it's probably plenty for the majority of adults.

We also got to sample drinks in each place, which was fun. Each place gave us something unique to try, and they were all full-sized drinks, so if you like happy hour in the afternoon, it's a nice tour from that perspective as well.

I would have given the tour five stars, but honestly the tour guide really didn't add much value. She was really more of a chaperone, getting us from place to place, with some occasional chit chat. We also were a little rushed from place to place, and in one case we even missed out on food the chef had prepared for us because we had to move on to the next restaurant. Oh well.

Overall though, it was a pretty good value for the money and a nice experience.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank cpetrizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Owner at Local Table Tours, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thanks so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself. Tours are sometimes a bit rushed so we can pack as much into the allotted time as possible. The Boulder International Film Festival was in town, so our first stop was slammed and they did apologize to me about being slow and being unable to serve the second dish before we had to move on to Pizzeria Locale.

If there had been 10 people, there would have been more food. Don't worry about that! You definitely eat on dining tours.

Hope to see you on tour again.

-Megan Bucholz
Founding Foodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing food, amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

This food tour was fantastic! We have lived in the Boulder area for over 10 years and I never expected to learn so much. The four places we went to had outstanding food and service. This is definitely a DINNER tour, not a sampling tour, like the site says. By the fourth restaurant we were so full that we could barely eat dessert. For your money, you absolutely get plenty of food and plenty of knowledge.

The food tour would be great for couples, friends, families, ANYONE.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank piccolina983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
2 reviews
“A wonderful slice of Boulder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Rena and I finally took advantage last week of a cocktail tour of Boulder with Megan Bucholz. It was quite fabulous. We went to three different bars and each bartender gave us a little introduction to their specialties and served us two different (half-size) cocktails each. The first specialized in Bourbon whiskey, the second in tequila, and the third in beer (cocktails!). It was all quite delectable

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2010Boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LTT is the only way to have your cake and eat it too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Last Sunday, Local Table Tours helped me host a delightful and delicious surprise party for my wife. Each of our friends commented, "Wow, I would have never expected all of this!" as they were personally escorted to a series of tasty store fronts along Pearl St. in downtown Boulder. The staff at each stop was was attentive and articulate about their establishment, specific dishes and paired beverage. LTT accommodated those in our party who were gluten free and provided equally exotic and tasty non-alcoholic selections as requested. Megan, our LTT host, was charming and offered interesting insights on food and the restaurants we visited. The very satisfied birthday girl received a special chocolate creation as a finale to our tour. If you have friends in town, plan to host a party or just want to try a few new places, put Local Table Tours on the table!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank manimannion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Local Table Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing