We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Front of Gite Sitting Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Kitchen
Front of Gite
Sitting Area
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Candlelit Evening
Shower Room
Shower Room
Field to rear of gîte - a large, safe area for children to play or for adults to soak up the sun!
BBQ and Terrace
A Balmy Evening
Some Visitors!
Winter!
Before the Renovation!
Le Lac de la Verte Vallée - just a short stroll away!
Callac - Start of Cycle Race
Guerlesquin
Chapel at Trégrom
Roscoff
Benodet
View to Rear of Property
Over the Fields to Callac Church
Tree-lined Lake at Callac
Santec
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Callac, Cotes-d'Armor, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Sue M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This gite has got to be one of the best we have stayed in. Really comfortable and warm, superb bed and extremely well equipped. Ideally situated to visit Breton coast and countryside. Owners are very welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_The_T...
Lancashire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“One Gite to rule them all!”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

For once, Trip Advisor does not tell the story of the Gite. That story is hidden in the guest book at the Gite. Reading through those comments, we never once thought they were exaggerated in anyway. It is a lovely and comfortable home away from home. While cosy, don't expect it to be cramped in anyway. The living room and kitchen area is nice and spacious. The bedrooms also offer good space and there is plenty of storage space in cupboards/drawers.

The Gite was part of buildings of the old manoir and some of the features of the building make it really charming - particularly the fireplace (which was most welcome on a wet and windy day :) ) and the rather wavy roof on the outside gives the Gite lovely character. However, what makes the whole place amazing are the hosts Val and Bryn. They are very warm, welcoming and incredibly helpful but not in an overbearing sort of way. We felt very comfortable and welcome throughout our stay. They were very responsive since we made our first enquiry. We were offered the discount code for the Ferry which was very helpful. They also offered various helpful tips even before we set off from the UK. Upon arrival at the Gite (after a day in Roscoff) the tired travellers received a warm welcome, home made cake and tea. Within the GIte itself, a welcoming gift of red and white wine, milk, eggs and various sundry items awaited us (which was most welcome after a long journey). The guest book as well as an information booklet were little gold mines of tips about the surrounding area and we made good use of them. And, as noted above, the hosts' warm and welcoming nature added that extra factor that made the stay very pleasant indeed.

The Gite itself is very nice and clean with a kitchen that is the most well-stocked we have seen to date in a holiday rental. We never felt short of any appliances or crockery and cutlery. Interestingly, even if we did, we wouldn't have felt uncomfortable asking our hosts. There is a large garden area at the back and the children enjoyed playing in it. The Gite is located in-land but within easy driving distance of the Cote de Granite Rose. Places such as Ploumanac'h, Perros-Girrec and Locquirec are within an hour's drive. The Gorge du Corong (you have to see it to appreciate it) a short 20 minutes drive away and the charming former silver mining town of Huelgoat also around 30 minutes away. So there is plenty to do and enjoy in the area and you can get to some lovely (and less commercial than usual!) beaches easily.

Overall, a lovely, comfortable and charming place to get away for a holiday. Future holiday rentals beware - the bar went up (very high up!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite was top notch
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MPBConnec...
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Homely perfection”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in a few Gites and B&Bs in France and England and Le Gite Au Manoir must rate as the best. It was not only the ambience and facilities that made our stay perfect, but the warm friendliness and the genuine hospitality of the owners, Bryn and Val. After a five hour drive from the Loire Valley, we were welcomed with a glass or two of wine and beautiful, home cooked snacks, the perfect antidote to a tiring day. The Gite - part of a beautifully and tastefully restored barn and house - overlooks lush farmland and is about a five minute drive to the village of Callac De Bretagne, which has a good size supermarket, patisserie, butcher etc. to fulfil all your supply requirements. There is also quite a good restaurant in the village, the L'Auberge Basque.
Back to the Gite; beautifully decorated with all you need for short or long term stays. The open plan lounge/dining and very well equipped kitchen are downstairs, with two very comfortable bedrooms, shower and toilet upstairs. The master bedroom has plenty of room for the long term traveller to spread out and the bed is sublimely comfortable. The smaller bedroom has two single beds.
For us, nothing could be faulted, Bryn and Val are the perfect hosts; the Gite is cosy and comfortable with all you need, and the location is perfect for the quiet getaway in picture perfect Brittany countryside, but close enough to larger towns if you need it. Hopefully we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner hospitality, location and comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday!”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Although a long drive (I thought it was at least 100 miles less!) from Calais, we were greeted by the owners with a lovely cup of tea and cold drinks for the children - and then red and white wine when we opened the door to the Gite! A lovely, clean, warm, inviting home from home - nothing was too much trouble and we were made extremely welcome. Never been to France for a driving holiday before but was very pleasantly surprised - the surrounding area is lovely, especially the Coast and we were lucky with the weather. We had a day at Amoripark - a real bargain being the first day it was opened - loads for the children to do including a great pool! Thank you Val and Bryn for a great time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The drive from Calais - was better going back as more prepared!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 76
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing