We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knowledgable Wine Tour Guide for Napa Valley”
Review of Consort Wine Tours

Consort Wine Tours
Ranked #4 of 8 Tours in Yountville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Consort Wine Tours located in the town of Yountville, California, in the heart of the beautiful Napa Valley. Welcome to a world of luxury, and relaxation brought to you by Consort Wine Tours. Your wine tour begins when you step into either our Cadillac Escalade,or Range Rover HSE. You are welcomed with a bottle of complimentary Sparkling Wine to enjoy as you tour the Napa and (or) Sonoma Valleys. We will build the perfect day for you, which will include your must see wineries, or the hidden gems we love so much. Please call or email so that we can personally assist in planning a day that will stay with you forever. The finest tasting experiences await you. Wine Country Pleasures.... TCP 27362 P
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Knowledgable Wine Tour Guide for Napa Valley”
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Our guide David Locke of Consort Wine Tours got us into lesser known wineries through his many years of experience in the Napa Valley. Between stops, he provided a history of both the area and the wineries and added greatly to our positive overall experience. Be sure to book early and ask for suggestions on the best wineries to tour.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only the Best”
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We have toured with Consort three times now. The first two were on the Napa side and we just toured the Sonoma side. The Sonoma side is definitely more low key.

Because Dave is a "homegrown" his knowledge of the area is unmatched. I asked Dave how he met Susan, who is British, and it was the best story. It's clear they are very happy and that makes all the difference in a customer service based business.

Our first stop was at Benzinger. We did the library tasting (a seated tasting), which was a great experience. Side note: went on our own to their sister winery, Imagery, with the free tasting they gave us and it was a fun place.

Ledson was next and Dave took some nice photos of hubby and I. Beautiful property. Tasting was just ok, but that's mostly because the guy pouring was a little uncouth, given the winery.

Our third stop, and by far our favorite, was Kunde. As always, Dave has the Buchon lunch for you. Kunde has a large patio area with some old bean bag games. It was a Thursday so it was very quiet. But the real joy at Kunde, outside of the amazing views, was the patio tasting. It is very reasonably priced and you get a cheese and dried fruit tasting with it. There's nothing better than a leisurely, seated tasting. We also did the free cave tour (about 20 minutes). We spent over two hours at Kunde and would do it again in a heartbeat.

Fourth stop was Little Vineyard. Small, local winery with outdoor patio tables for tasting. Beyond low key and the colors on the grape leaves were amazing. Loved it.

Lastly we headed next door to BR Cohn. This winery is owned by the Doobie Brother's manager. A little too gimmicky for us, but it was the end of the day and there were only standing tastings available.

Once again, Dave delivers. They keep the business small so they can control the experience and it serves them well.

See you in a couple years!

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank Keely B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Absolute "Must Do" in Yountville”
Reviewed 29 October 2015

This was without doubt our favourite activity during our recent honeymoon in California. The booking process was very straightforward and Susan was a fantastic guide - great company and very knowledgeable. We left the plan for the day entirely in her hands and we visited some lovely places (Duckhorn being our favourite - Susan had called ahead and reserved a table for us in the perfect spot). You really can't go wrong if you plan a tour with these guys!

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best experience ever!”
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Susan did a superb job of our tour from beginning to end! As a Napa newbie, I spoke with David before arriving and we discussed my likes/dislikes and let him plan our day. His wife, Susan, was our guide for the day and her knowledge, hospitality, and sense of humor made our trip that much better. I would highly recommend this company, the splurge is well worth it. I didn't have to research anything, nor rely on gps to get around. I will definitely call upon Consort again the next time we travel to the Napa area.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank joyce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you David!”
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Since 2013, we traveled in Napa and Sonoma with David. He is always calm and very helpful. He arranges all winery visit including lunch, carton boxes for wines and so on. Also he finds small but beautiful wineries as surprise every year!

We will come back to Napa again and drive with David! Super summer vacation for us!!

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank Lovecat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Consort Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Consort Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing