We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Napa Valley Railway Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Yountville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So much fun !!!!!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is a very unique hotel - each room is an entire railway car. The rooms are huge with modern bathrooms and a very comfortable bed. The skylights throughout really make it lovely and bright.

This hotel is right in the centre of town - walking distance to The French Laundry. For sure worth a stay - and if you had kids with you, they'd LOVE IT !

Room Tip: they're all good - and at the end (the caboose) there's a great place for coffee and delicio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    60
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
12
91
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
pleasant hill
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We loved our stay at the railway inn! The rooms are spacious, clean, and very quiet. The location is perfect. We parked the car and walked from place to place. The price is affordable and worth the cost. We will return and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisapickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I would love to give this place a 4 or 5. It is quaint, perfect location, spacious, somewhat clean and loved the little fridge and wine glasses. However, the first day I woke up with a very ichy bite on my elbow, and then the next day 2 on my back. I won't go into detail about these bites, but they definetly happenend while I was sleeping. I would recommend they clean better and/or bring in an exterimnator. I didn't see any bugs, they could had been spider bites...but FYI.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Travler008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

It was decent enough and we had a good stay, but when I called to confirm our arrival, as well as when I stopped by to ask about check out, they seemed really annoyed to be talking to me. Another person at the desk gave me a good recommendation for dinner (Pacific Blues)- it was just too bad most of my interaction was with the disgruntled employee. Overall though, the beds were comfortable, the railway idea was cute, and it was reasonably priced compared to other places in the area. Kids love the idea of a railway car so it's great for a family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KidsInT0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Great location.

Really more like a motel than an inn: outdoor entrances and few services or amenities.

Water pressure in shower was pitiful.

Good value compared with some of the pricier Yountville places.

Mattress in our unit seemed old and about at the end of it's life cycle.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HomoQuiScitOmnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yountville hotels
0.2 km away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
907 reviews
0.3 km away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
737 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,362 reviews
0.2 km away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,313 reviews
0.7 km away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#4 of 6 in Yountville
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Railway Inn

Property: Napa Valley Railway Inn
Address: 6523 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Yountville
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,320 - ₹ 21,566
Hotel Class:3 star — Napa Valley Railway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wine Country in the center of the sophisticated town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Railway Inn provides the perfect Napa Valley getaway. Let the Railway Inn's converted 100-year old train cars provide you with memorable accommodations walking distance to Thomas Keller's 'The French Laundry,' 'Bouchon,' and 'Ad-Hoc,' as well as Michael Chiarello's 'Bottega,' and 'Napa Style.' Comfortable, contemporary and convenient, relax outside your room in the evening on our patio with a glass of wine or in the morning enjoy a specialty coffee and fresh pastry from the Model Bakery's soon to open 3rd Napa Valley location right at the hotel. Outside your doorstep stroll to any of the 11 wine tasting rooms, boutique shopping or world-class dining located just steps away. A mix of history with all the modern conveniences for today's traveler, make the hotel an ideal destination when visiting the Napa Valley. In room amenities include complimentary WiFi, flat screen TV's, inviting luxurious linens and refrigerators for that just purchased bottle of Chardonnay. Hotel guest rooms consist of eight steam-era railcars permanently parked in the center of downtown Yountville in the heart of the Napa Valley. Each of the guest cars offers few hints of their former function: you'd never guess that No. 4 used to carry cattle or that the skylight in No.9 was once a hatch for ice-block deliveries. Providing the best location for your wine country escape, the hotel offers the convenience of not having to get into your car to enjoy an evening out in the best restaurants in the Napa Valley as well as great views of the surrounding mountains and adjacent vineyards during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Napa Valley Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Railway Hotel Yountville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing