We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute and comfortable hotel on the Sunset Strip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

On arrival we were quite happy that after a 14 hour flight from Australia we were allowed to check in at 10am. We had a beautiful room overlooking the pool. The bed was extremley comfortable and the wardrobe had plenty or space for hanging our clothes.

Our room was very quiet and we never had any disruption to our sleeping at night.

The location is good and surrounded by diners and restaurants. The house of blues is less then half a block away and the Sadel Ranch across the road is a great place to get some dinner.

There is also a taxi stand right out the front of the hotel, which is very convienant because locations such as The Chinese Theatre and Walk of Fame are just out of walking distance.

There is a rental car place just across the street and we found it better to hire a car for 2 days (on of which to drive up to Disneyand) then pay for taxi's of shuttles. The car was only around 75 a day so we saved a lot of money as a taxi ride to Disneyland is 105 each direction anyways. The second day we drove to Santa Monica and Venice Beach as as these locations are slightly futher it was more convienent to have our own ride. The hotel does charge 18.00 a night for parking.

The breakfast was amazing. Nothing hot but a great selection of bakery goods including bagels, waffels, crossaints, toast and donuts. There was also juice, cerals and many more items. We ate here every morning before we went off on out day.


Overall we had a great stay here and would recomemed it to anyone. My only note is that the front desk could have been more enthusiastic. The were never rude or unfriendly but alot seemed like they would rather not be there.

Room Tip: We had a room overloooking the pool and it was a beautiful view. We did not have any problems with n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,215 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed here in march for two nights with my two teenagers. The location is not bad and they have parking. The room is very spacious, which is always appreciated. A couple of things about the hotel were a little annoying. The layout of the hotel is a little strange. To get to our room from the lobby we had to take the elevator down. Then we had to walk through the outdoor pool area. Then we walked down two flights of steps and around a corner before we arrived. Also, the hotel allows smoking at the pool. One day the breakfast room was packed and there was no place to eat. We took our plates to the pool area and ate there.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank brendabei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We arrived at the Sunset Plaza after a 15 hour flight from Australia and when the lovely lady on reception saw how exhausted we were, she let us check in to our room four hours early. We stayed in room 215 which was very spacious with a large bathroom, generous kitchenette / dining area and a great view of the pool. The room decor was modern, clean and created a cosy environment which was just what we needed to get rid of the dreaded jetlag.

Pros

- GREAT breakfast
- King size pillow top beds...heaven!
- Huge flatscreen TV
- Iron / Ironing board / Gym / Guest Laundry
- Short walk to House of Blues, The Viper Room, The Whisky and more...
- Saddle Ranch Chophouse directly across the road...mechanical bull and all! Try the 'Original Burger'. Great food and atmosphere.
- Lovely pool area an garden
- Close to shops

Cons
- For the light sleepers: room walls were a little thin but you have to expect that in hotels and it was nothing a good pair of earplugs wont fix. I still got an amazing nights sleep so not really a complaint, just an observation.
- At check out I was advised by the concierge to get a town car to Union Station as it would be cheaper than a taxi. Luckily, I had learned a lesson from another hotel in LA about Town Cars Vs Taxi's and insisted on a taxi anyway. Town car quote given was $60, Taxi cost us $45.

Overall an excellent stay, would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: 215 is great for two singles or two couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IGetAround78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great location, Clean rooms, comfy beds, Beautiful pool area and friendly staff. I had a room on the back side of the building with a balcony and a great view of LA. I had a great experience and will definitely stay here on my next trip to LA.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovethewag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel was absolutely great. We actually booked 3 rooms between a group of us and space was certainly not an issue. All of our rooms had two queen beds, a bathroom, and a tv. One actually had two TVs and also a couch. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and so were all the beds. The queen sized beds very comfortably fit 2, and comfortably fit 3. We also had the pleasure of being close to the pool, which had a very relaxing layout and spacious patio. Absolutely loved the location and even had windows overlooking Sunset Blvd. If you're visiting Hollywood and want a great hotel at a cheap price, Best Western Sunset Plaza is the one! Friendly staff, good stay, great times.

Room Tip: Room 406 ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
436 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#14 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,004 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,038 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: ₹ 15,308 - ₹ 24,480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing