We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We were in a group of 8, we all had great rooms and great service. The concierge desk was excellent!! they booked us tables at restaurants, a hire car and helped with trips to tourist spots. The staff were friendly, helpful and knew what they were doing. The skybar was beautiful, if only we had time to relax here longer! The only downfall of the stay was the $450 they took from our travelex card as a hold for the room. If this had been at the end of trip when funds were low it would not have been possible. Most hotels offer a cash deposit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I also really appreciate your nice comment regarding our Concierge team. Hope to see you back very soon. Best, Chloe Linder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,417 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

The mondrian has basically become my home away from home in LA. I moved to Miami with my wife from London and now whenever I am in LA whether for work or pleasure this is where you will find me, most probably at the poolside, enjoying the beauty of the crowd, the music and the vibe. Until I start to grow old you're not really going to see me anywhere else :P

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for the nice review. We are ecstatic to hear the Mondrian is your “home away from home”. We appreciate your patronage and can’t wait for you to come back and see us! Best, Chloe Linder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I always read Tripadvisor reviews before I travel so I noted a few negative reviews of the Mondrian in West Hollywood. That said, I know some of the other properties owned by this company, so I felt pretty confident.

We were not disappointed. We upgraded to a suite with a balcony and, yes, all the balconies face the pool and the SkyBar. Yes it's loud. We were on the 9th floor so it wasn't really an issue. One night we simply went there and that solved that. Our room was very comfortable, the bathroom with its two headed shower was nice, the bellman was awesome, the valet guys wrestled the top off our rented Jeep (no small feat) and Jason the concierge hooked us for drinks and dinner at various spots on Sunset and Melrose like we were movie starts.

Everybody was friendly and helpful the vibe is very young, hip and fun even for an oldster like me...I'm in my mid-fifties and I was perfectly comfortable there. We ate at Asia De Cuba one night in the hotel and our waiter was awesome and the Butter Fish and Cuban Chicken BBQ were delightful.

If you like hipster hotels (Morgans, Kimpton, etc), you'll love the Mondrian...It's not the Marriott or Shutters On The Beach, or The Beverly Hills Hotel - it's a different kind of hotel. If you check out their web page, you should know what to expect. If it looks the part, just engage the staff and you will be rewarded with great service and a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Equisport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for your past stay with us. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. I am glad you enjoyed your room and that Jason from our Concierge made you feel like a “movie star”. I am also happy you enjoyed the Butter Fish and Cuban Chicken BBQ from Asia de Cuba. They are some of my favorite dishes as well. We really appreciate your feedback and hope you come back to visit very soon! Regards, Chloe Linder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Our experience at the Mondrian was mixed. We arrived very early and had a great check in experience with Saraee. Our room was ready well before the normal check in time which was appreciated. And we found the room quite comfortable (facing the pool but high enough not to be affected by noise).

But the bad; we booked a table at the restaurant but were not seated until an hour after our booking. Makes a booking kind of pointless. Service was pretty disinterested. And then on check-out i'm glad we checked the bill. There was an additional charge of 'porterage' for almost $100 that had been added to our bill. The explanation was that if bags are taken to the room and people don't have cash, then this tip can be added to the bill by guests. However we had given a cash tip, and had not authorised anything like that. $100 for bags to the room? Felt like
someone had decided to slip a $100 tip for themselves onto our account. Did not leave a very nice taste in our mouths and seemed to fit with the attitude of the Mondrian.

Room Tip: If pool side, get a high room to avoid noise. Any check your bill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraveltimeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your past stay. Thank you for the compliment about Sara’I at the front desk. I am glad she was able to accommodate an early check in for you. I am very shocked to read your comment regarding the $100.00 charge to your room for bellman porterage. It appears as though this was a slight misunderstanding and I apologize for any confusion this may have caused. We hope to welcome you back to Mondrian LA in the future. Sincerely, Chloe Linder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed here for three nights between Christmas and New Year. From arrival to departure all the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. We stayed midweek so it may be quieter than at the weekend, but we had a room overlooking the SkyBar, and heard no noise at all.

Our room was enormous - a King suite with a separate bedroom/living area. All the white scared me a little as I was convinced I was going to spill something! Lovely toiletries, and lots of space, although I couldn't for the life of me work out how to switch the bedside lights on.

Valet parking was expensive but so much easier, and you only pay once per day.

Didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment on the food - we walked right out of the hotel and ate breakfast at Starbucks, and dinner at the rodeo bar and the Cabo Cantina - both were a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah_jayne1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeGEM, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for choosing Mondrian for your recent stay. We really appreciate the compliment regarding the service in the hotel. I am also glad you enjoyed the layout and décor in your room. Please come back soon to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,740 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,038 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#14 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
436 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: ₹ 19,071 - ₹ 33,761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing