We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Police came as soon as we arrived!!!!”
Review of Alta Cienega Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alta Cienega Motel
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The police came as soon as we got there because of gun fire and possible drugs in the room next to ours. On the other side of us was transgender call girls doing their jobs with the men. When my brother-in-law came to pick us up there was a giant cricket in the bed. and burn marks in a non smoking room , a gas heater which had to be lit and a nassty bath room. It will never be forgoten

Room Tip: very gross and don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ilizlovespongebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed there for 6 nights and i must say i expected something really worse. The room was not so bad, no bed bugs tho as other reviews say. Bed was small but quite comfortable, the room was cleaned every day. It is not a 5 star hotel but if you dont want to pay a fortune for hotel and rather spend money for shopping and sighseeing thats a place where you want to stay really. The location is very good santa monica blvd just 1 minute from metro which gets you everywhere. I would stay there again no problem

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
6  Thank abc025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here on June 19 and 20. We requested room 32 where Jim Morrison had lived part of the time. The room is great! There is writing all over the walls, honoring him with his own lyrics and other praises. The room had new carpet put in a few months back and it was very clean. We loved the feel of the place. If you are a Jim Morrison fan this place is a must. The price is right! I would have never thought I could find a hotel located in such a perfect spot for such little $. The hotel is located at a busy intersection but it is fun to watch out the window as I imagined Jim did at times with a big bottle of jack Daniels. I felt completely safe and the place was quiet. Great location! We walked to the Rainbow for some excellent pizza and star gazing and to the House of Blues to watch Steel Panther, they totally rocked!! We also walked to Barney's Beanery which is a couple of blocks away and Jim Morrison used to hang out there and drink. There is a plaque on the counter with his name on it. Oh, and have their home brewed beer, yum! You are within walking distance of all the places that you want to see on the Sunset. The Roxy, Viper Room, Rainbow, House of Blues etc...

Room Tip: you have to call the motel to get reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkbspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I booked into this seedy dive for one reason only, and that was to spend an afternoon in Jim Morrison's room, Number 32.

It truly is a disgusting little hole in-the-wall, and I am surprised that anyone besides drug dealers and Doors fans actually frequent the place....that being said, it is a piece of Los Angeles history and I truly hope that the hotel, and Jim's room do not get knocked down to make way for something new.

The hotel leaves Jim's room as it is, and for this reason, it is absolutely covered from floor to ceiling with some amazing, and some disgusting, graffiti. Every SINGLE INCH of the room is covered. Even the inside of the shower and inside the little cupboard in the bathroom. Every light switch, and even the ceiling is plasted with lyrics and poetry.

We spent a few hours here just reading it all, taking photos, and visiting a few local Jim hangouts, such as Barney's Beanery.

If you are a Jim fan, I would definately recommend a visit.....I don't kno if I would want to spend a night in this hotel, but it was OK for a day. You do have to book and pay for the whole night, but I tjought the US$90 was worth it to spend some time in the last place Jim lived before moving to paris and passing away in 1971.

Definately visit Barney's Beanery just about 100m away at 8447 Santa Monica Blvd. Jim drank here almost daily while they recorded LA woman at the "Doors Workshop" accross the road. Barney's also saw a lot of drinking done by Janis Joplin, and was actually the last place she drank on the night she died. Quentin Tarantino wrote Pulp Fiction while sitting at one of the front tables here, and the staff will point out his booth if you ask. He wrote almost teh whole thing in there. The bar here was also featured in the Doors movie, where Val Kilmer is drinking with Billy Idol, and he urinates on the floor at the bar. This apparently did happen, according to the staff, and there is now a plaque on the bar which marks Jim's favourite seat in the house.

Accross the street is the Mexican restaurant, funnily enough, called "Mexico"! It is at 8512 Santa Monica Blvd. "Mexico" resides in what was the doors final recording studio, known as the "Doors Workshop". This is where they recorded LA Woman, and if you visit the restaurant, make sure you take a look in the downstairs bathroom, as this was the room Jim used for his vocals on LA Woman. He apparently liked the accoustics in this little room, and the management have kept it as-is, and have added some frame Doors albums and photos of Jim to the walls. There were candles burning when I went in, and it was quite amazing really! On the front wall of the restaurant is a plaque that recognises that this was the doors workshop. Jim had his office here and spent most of his time here in the last year he had in LA.

Jim would move around West Hollywood between his room at the Alta Cienega, Barney's, the Doors Workshop and would also pay regular visits to a liquor store called Monaco liquors, which is still there and you can visit it at 8513 Santa Monica Blvd.

Before you visit Jim's place, make sure you watch his arthouse film HWY. In one of the final scenes, Jim's room at the Alta Cienega is featured, where he is urinating in the toilet of room 32.

All in all, I would say.....If you are a Doors or Jim Morrison fan, DEFINATELY spend a day ithis little corner of LA. You will have to book the room specifically asking for Room 32, and it can be booked up well in advance so make sre you arrange it ahead of time.

If you are NOT a doors fan and have no interest, I would say you will really find nothing favourable about this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank odyssey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

First off, this review is way, way, way overdue but I thought it was necessary to share my experience. I cannot remember exactly how much I paid but cause I stayed for more than a week, there was a weekly charge which is cheaper when you divide it by the number of days. I'm pretty sure it was either the same or someone in the ballpark of what is printed on the website.

I was staying in WeHo for 3 months and after my rental on Fountain Ave ended, my roommate and I had to look for somewhere affordable and yet central for our last 2 weeks in Los Angeles. We had spent the last 3 months on Fountain Ave which is a short walk from where Alta Cienega is, and preferred a location which we would be familiar with.
We had always caught buses from either of the bus stops at the same junction that Alta Cienega is located at (La Cienega/Santa Monica Blvd) so we were always aware that such a motel existed.

First off, Bessy the person-in-charge is NOT the owner. She is a salaried worker and runs the motel and I daresay she does a really great job. She was great to deal with and perhaps it was because we were especially nice to her that's why she and her husband were kind enough to stow our luggage aside for us when we booked out of the hotel for a weekend (we were going to Las Vegas - didn't see a point in paying for the weekend). Furthermore, she knew we were travelling on budget and also moved a microwave oven in to our room for us! Great for all those tv dinners we bought from Vons.
The room had WIFI so we were still able to surf the Net etc. The room itself is old but NOT dirty - also no such bed bugs that other reviews have mentioned. The cleaning lady is an elderly lady who cleans the rooms daily and is very conscientious. In my case, I had a king room since I was sharing with a friend. It looks exactly like how the owner-uploaded photo shows it to be. Comes with a round table, 2/3 chairs. Bed has bedside tables, one for each side. Beneath the suspended TV, there is a short cabinet with 2 pull-out drawers. Next to it is the dresser and then a small fridge and a litter bin. The room has a little area to hang your clothes. The toilet is clean, with hot water. Shower with a small mirror, sink and bowl. I would recommend bringing your own towels because the towels provided (as with some other motels that i've stayed at in San Diego, Anaheim) are rather small.

The location is fantastic. It is right across from CVS and beyond that, there's an iHOP to feed all your pancake cravings. If you walk up the hill a little further, there is a 7-Eleven across the road from the gas station. If you want to party, Santa Monica Blvd is one place that will be happening at night. Take a short stroll down past Koo Koo Roo's (chicken place) and The Mexican (which roof is where The Doors apparently recorded their songs), and eventually you'll past some boutique stores and Citibank. There're also Starbucks outlets there. You'll find a Citibank bank next to Millions of Milkshakes. The USPS post office is right behind the American Apparel. When night falls, clubs like RAGE and The Abbey, come alive. There's a gay community here so it gets really colorful (literally) especially during Pride Weekend. I also really liked that VONS (fabulous 24hr supermarket) was located on that strip.

If you like walking along Sunset Blvd, take a 10-15min walk up the hill and you'll reach the junction of Sunset and La Cienega. Hotels like The Standard are located on this strip. There's a strip club, Pinches Tacos, MacDonalds right before Sunset 5 (theatre) where you'll also find Trader Joe's (supermarket). In the Sunset 5 building itself, you can also find Pinkberry (yoghurt shop). If you take a bus down that strip, you can hit Sunset & Vine.

All buses serving that area will connect you straight to places you need to go to. Take a bus down La Cienega and you'll go pass Beverly Centre and eventually hit Wilshire Blvd. Take a bus from the bus stop outside CVS and it's a straight road down into Santa Monica. Take a bus from ACROSS the road (opposite CVS) and it'll take you to Fairfax where you can change a bus and go to the Farmers' Market and The Grove. Or stay on the bus and you'll hit Union Station.
There's also bus that will also take you near the tourist hotspot - Hollywood Blvd (walk of fame, Grauman's Chinese Theatre). You will have to alight at that iHOP branch (NOT the one near the motel). At the same time, try In 'n Out burger which is right across the road from that iHOP. Great burgers!

All in all, if you're on a budget, you really wouldn't think twice about staying at this place. It's a fantastic location and at this price, it would be kind of cheap to expect more! ;)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monsieurguillotine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
436 reviews
West Hollywood
The Standard, Hollywood
The Standard, Hollywood
#16 of 19 in West Hollywood
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#138 of 355 in Los Angeles
313 reviews
West Hollywood
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#14 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Cienega Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Cienega Motel

Address: 1005 N La Cienega Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4105
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Price Range: ₹ 5,749 - ₹ 6,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Alta Cienega Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alta Cienega Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Cienega Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing