We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome at The Standard, West Hollywood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in West Hollywood
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm welcome at The Standard, West Hollywood”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

From the moment we arrived we were given a warm and helpful welcome. From the front desk to the bar, well trained staff made our stay a pleasure. A glitch with the new shower was handled quickly and appropriately. Rooms are simple, beds comfortable. Great location and the staff will help with recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kippie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    236
    132
    105
    111
See reviews for
34
200
89
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Was a awesome experience. My gf was staying there and I went up to meet her. Talked to the concierge about a few things and she came through above all my expectations. The place is clean and the staff is great. Just a great experience all around. Located around everything. Stay here and enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
km59257
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

good things- Jen at front desk and Art the hot valet were absolute angels, location, restaurant, bar, WiFi and lobby decor were all excellent. I had a grapefruit gimlet and spaghetti-- divine!!
the less good things- we love the Standard Downtown, so we thought this would be the same. We were not as thrilled with the room we had here, but they are apparently renovating so maybe that includes a room update. The rooms are Ikea circa 1997, BUT i will say that the bed is super comfortable, and the linens and carpets were very clean. The housekeeping situation was a little on the rough side-- we stayed three nights and didn't receive maid service at all during our stay. Im not shy so i just stole fresh towels off the cart on another floor :) for the amount of booze offered in the minibar, a coffee maker would have been sweet. We booked this for the location mostly, not to stay in the room all day, so overall we were happy with everything. the valet guys were all nice and super super fast. way better than san franisco :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank km59257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

So after arriving earlier than expected the hotel staff were very accommodating in getting me a room to check in earlier than what was the standard - no pun intended of course :).
After having read various reviews and checking the hotel's website I have to say that aside from the fancy furnishings, the rooms are not all that they are cracked up to be.
The decor and the furnishings are meant to give an art deco appearance, and labelling of various things such as the air con which is labelled "blow" and then the settings are "hard" and "harder" - slightly tongue in cheek I would say.
Apart from the funky lobby, and some unusual furnishings, such as bean bags, and ergonomic chairs, the location is all that the hotel has going for it.
Right on Sunset Blvd and close to most of the major local haunts.
The biggest downfall is that the toilet seat was quite dusty.
In the end my two night stay was reduced to only 1 night...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleksP1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stayed at The Standard this past weekend and had a blast! My girlfriend and I were bumming around West Hollywood for the first time and you could not ask for a better location. The weather was great so we hung out at the pool all day. Great drink list and fun people. The service could have been a tad quicker - but we had fun. The 24-hour diner inside the hotel serves a perfect after-bar grilled cheese!! Yum!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,675 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 20 in West Hollywood
384 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 20 in West Hollywood
2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 20 in West Hollywood
2,016 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 20 in West Hollywood
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Property: The Standard, Hollywood
Address: 8300 W Sunset Blvd, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,656 - ₹ 28,027
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing