We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Thy need to decide whether they want to service their hotel guests or be a club that prevents their guests from sleeping” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palihouse West Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palihouse West Hollywood
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thy need to decide whether they want to service their hotel guests or be a club that prevents their guests from sleeping”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

Arrived Thursday, 3/24 & departed Sunday, 3/27. Palihouse Holloway, due to their location & room quality, has the potential to be a great property. However, all rooms at the hotel surround a central courtyard (with brick walls) on the first floor. So, on Friday & Saturday nights when & if the trendy WeHo scene decides to show up... the VERY SIGNIFICANT party noise is amplified by and bounces off the brick walls and echoes though the entire hotel. We could not sleep at all until after 2 am on Friday & Saturday night. The staff at the hotel thinks they are celebrities and can barely be bothered with talking to you & could care less if you didn't get any sleep! Boo hiss Palihouse!!! Will never stay here again!! Shame really!. Also, they need a separate entrance for 450.00/night room guests to enter the hotel & get to their rooms if they don't feel like elbowing their way through the packed bar/lobby of the hotel. I've never stayed at a hotel where I couldn't get sleep due to noise nor have I ever seen staff so disconnected from the service they are supposed to be providing!!! Hello...you are in the service industry!! If you want sleep, your room cleaned and a pleasant experience stay someone else. If you don't care if your room is ever cleaned, or if you like clever designed toiletries that are impossible to open and if you like dealing with staff composed of pompous little unprofessional brats...then stay at Palihouse.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Darsantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    40
    12
    12
    21
See reviews for
25
50
28
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
modesignmn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

Yes, the sound from the courtyard and the street can be a bit much, depending on how early you go to bed and which room you have. However, for an extended stay, you cannot beat the huge rooms, full kitchen and in-room laundry. For fun, you can't beat the location, ultra-comfortable beds, restaurant, downstairs scene, and hip spacious rooms. I stayed for 3 weeks along with a bunch of co-workers. some of them didn't love the noise factor and probably won't stay there again. However, the courtyard usually closes down by 11 and the rest of us loved it and can't wait to go back.

As for service, its for sure not like staying at a regular hotel. The front desk closes around 10 or 11 and they don't clean your room every day. But, for an extended stay its a far better option than renting a house or apartment week-by-week. They clean your room twice a week, you call ahead if you need anything and the fabulous staff will take care of it, and its more private and secure than any apartment would be.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank modesignmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

I was able to get an incredible price for the corner king suite from one of those daily-deal websites (about 60% off the standard rate), but the deal's fine print stated that my stay couldn't be until after about four weeks after I purchased the voucher. An email to Cara, Palihouse's Sales & Marketing Director, was all I needed to get the date I wanted (only a week after my purchase), but there was a catch. Turned out that the corner king suite was booked for the date that I needed. Cara offered to upgrade me to the two-story loft (!!) for 50% of the voucher's cost...in the end I still paid less than what the original suite would have cost me and I got a MASSIVE two-story loft on top of it. The loft was very comfortable. Designed and furnished like a modern work loft that could be found in LA or NY, the space included a full kitchen, two sleeping rooms, two bathrooms, central heating/air/stereo, dining table that seats 6, and a full sized patio overlooking the downstairs restaurant's outdoor area.

While the loft itself was gorgeous, the only disappointment I had was that it was a bit more plain looking than the photo of the corner king suite. On the Palihouse site, the corner king suite featured an exposed vintage brick wall with arched windows facing West Hollywood, an aged-looking leather sofa, and an overall warm/swanky vibe. My loft was more or less plain white walls that had lovely iridescent gray curtains, and a cool green/white & stainless steel kitchen but definitely wasn't as warm as the suite I was hoping to get (cool and minimalist was the loft's feeling). My view was of tall bamboo plants along the patio. Had I not previously seen the other suite, I would have been more than delighted by the loft's look and feel. The only other downside was that the hotel was hosting some kind of event and when I was checking out nobody was there to help me bring my bags to my car. I was traveling as a production, so I had three luggage carts full of heavy cases and the elevator system from the loft to the parking garage was less than intuitive. But for the price, I was still more than happy with my stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerenceP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

We checked in for 11 nights for a long leisurely trip to LA and expected to be in spacious comfort. Like some past disgusted guests, this place is highly over-rated. Don't be deceived by how big or cool the place looks on the website. There is party after party most busy nights and functions etc. We hardly got a wink of sleep and even tried to move rooms but to no avail. You simply cannot escape the noise from the courtyard and the street side. We had to leave early and told the desk but they insisted on charging us for extra nights as a penalty and with no understanding or appreciation of our reasons. The manager was nowhere to be found - only the reservations person who called all the shots and she wasn't even located at the hotel. We left in dispute ad were charged a couple of days later with our extra nights charged and no authority on our behalf or agreement with the hotel. THis is the most arrogant and rude treatment we have ever experienced at a hotel anywhere in the world! This place exists for parties, not the comfort of guests, who may actually want a night's sleep, so be very aware of this and take note. Absolute disgust and bad memory of LA and such awful treatment. No idea of what 'service' is.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RACHY-RACH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

whenever i go to LA i always stay at Palihouse. located in west hollywood, it is actually walking distance to shopping, food, and gyms...never have to worry about renting a car. when booking through a travel agent, i get an amazing deal - and for a 600 square foot room, i could never stay anywhere else! i can't imagine being crammed in a small room at the same price.
the staff have always been beyond helpful and extremely nice.
the only draw back is the restaurant/bar is in the center so noise travels up, do bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinsoutherngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#7 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palihouse West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse West Hollywood

Property: Palihouse West Hollywood
Address: 8465 Holloway Drive, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,282 - ₹ 28,988
Hotel Class:4 star — Palihouse West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Palihouse West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palihouse Holloway West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing