We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, The Bad, The Ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Good: room nicely appointed, Wi-fi and USB charging ports, coffee maker, microwave and fridge. Nice bedding. Decent selection of TV channels. No disinfectant odor.
Bad: Thought bedside lamp bulb burned out. After swapping bulbs and further investigation it turned out maid had forgotten to plug it back in after vacuuming. Don't need this inconvenience. Clock radio totally useless. Maid probably sees this every day and yet did nothing until I complained. Air conditioning apparatus in hallway outside my room rattling like crazy. Not too noticeable in my room but makes me think they don't care about maintenance.
Ugly: Breakfast! Hot food provided not bad if only it had been replenished. When I came down into the breakfast room most everything was cleaned out, especially the coffee. (I need coffee to get me started). Took about twenty minutes to have the problem remedied. Same thing happened the 2nd morning of my stay. Aargh!
Bottom line: Staff is way behind the curve, Not on top of things. Complaint-driven and not pro-active in providing an amenable experience. I don't like to be a complainer, it makes me feel bad to do it, but they gave me no choice. Not a happy stay for $111/night.

Room Tip: Northeast corner, facing away from airport and US-99.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BudgetTraveler94010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2017

Not sure when the three reviews were given, but we had to cancel upon arrival. NO AC on a 100 degree day. No TV. They are in the process of changing from Comfort Inn to Best Western. Good luck, if you want to try it. Hall was full of units to be installed in rooms -- not ours -- and Comcast wasn't helping them with their "new" TV setup. Asked to speak to Mgr but he "wasn't available." They already had our cc # and now WE ARE HOPING FOR A REFUND. That will take good luck also. We went to Wyndham next door. Perfect!!

Room Tip: Seems they have many names. Check room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank leneley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Migual R, General Manager at Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Traveler, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel.I’m sorry this
has happened, and that your expectations were not met. We’re dedicated to customer Service and we would like to fix this problem for you. Please give us a call or contact our management team at visaliagatewayinn@gmail.com and one of our team members will get right back to you.

Miguel Renteria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

This was a great location for heading up to the Sequoia's from LA. The staff was exceptionally helpful with providing recommendations for our trip. The room was clean. There was a nice selection for the complimentary breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Migual R, General Manager at Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Happy Guest. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Down visiting family and needed a place to stay. Stop in and glad we did. Very friendly staff, clean room and great location right off Hwy 198. Park within walking distance and airport close by. Will stay here again

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank sharraluper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Migual R, General Manager at Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Even though the business that is being handled nearby is currently not going very well Antonio and a few other staff members, were very helpful, kind, caring and very informative all around great people to get to know at this hotel if I or someone I know comes to the town again I definitely recommend staying here

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Yvette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
0.2 km away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
898 reviews
5.9 km away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#5 of 14 in Visalia
491 reviews
4.4 km away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
9.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
219 reviews
12.7 km away
Best Western Town & Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn

Address: 9300 W Airport Dr, Near College of the Sequoias, Visalia, CA 93277-9500 (Formerly Visalia Sequoia Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Visalia
#5 Business Hotel in Visalia
Price Range: ₹ 4,741 - ₹ 8,508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of Visalia, CA just 39 miles West of the fabulous Sequoia National Park at Hwy 198 and only seconds from Hwy 99. All of our completely renovated rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. We serve Complimentary Full Hot Breakfast daily and offer Free WiFi for all our guests. Our Fitness center includes a weight system and other state of the art equipment. We welcome pets. Plaza Park Sports Complex is just across the street and it includes a fun dog park as well. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Visalia
Comfort Inn Visalia
Visalia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing