We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, would stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 April 2015

We stayed here while in Visalia for the weekend. We checked in at-nearly 9:00 pm and the front desk staff was very friendly and pleasant. Our room was clean and comfortable and has all the basic amenities you would want - refrigerator, microwave, TV, ice machine right down the hall. My family enjoyed using the pool which was open until 10:00. This hotel is right off 198, not very far from the 99. The freeway noise from the 198 was noticeable but not bothersome. The hotel was fully booked the night of our stay and we didn't have any issue with noise from other guests. Breakfast the next morning was pleasant, it wasn't anything fancy, but hot items were available and the waffle maker was fun to use. The woman who was working in the breakfast room was attentive and very friendly. She immediately noticed when anything needed to be refilled and made a lot of effort to make sure everyone in the dining area had everything they needed. She was very pleasant and sweet. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norcaltravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa F, Loyalty Champion at Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2015

Dear Norcaltravelmom, Thank you for taking the time to leave a kind review regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we could meet all of your needs when it comes to choosing a hotel to stay in while traveling. We do hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2015

I stayed at Comfort Inn for two nights during my recent business trip. The hotel is right off the highway, making it easy to access. My room was very nice and clean, bed was comfy, breakfast options were standard. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous, especially the sweet lady servicing the breakfast area. The hotel has a pool, a sauna (which I haven't checked out), and a small gym. The only negative was their A/C unit. It is extremely loud (probably because it is outdated), so I could not possibly sleep with it being on. Without the A/C on, the room gets stuffy pretty fast, even with the window open. You may want to test out the A/C unit in your room; I am fairly certain that if I asked, I could have been moved to a different room but I was just too tired to bother. Certainly, it was not the staff's fault by any extent. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to test the A/C unit for noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariya1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa F, Loyalty Champion at Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear M T,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us, it brings smiles to our faces to hear all the good things you had to say and lets us know we are doing a job well done with our staff services and insuring that our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay. We do hope that you will consider sting with us again if you are ever in the area again, again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015 via mobile

I'm a frequent traveler, so I have a few non-negotiable needs when on the road: bed must be clean, I want a hot breakfast, and there has to be plenty of towels. Check, check, and check.
Is it fancy? Heck, no - the wallpaper in the bathroom is outdated, the breakfast room desperately needs more (read better) lighting, and the towels were a little on the thin side. But if you're expecting a palace, the Hampton is right down the road and more than willing to charge $40 more per night. If you want a comfy bed and a full tummy without overly lightening your wallet, this will take care of your needs.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Arlene744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa F, Loyalty Champion at Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2015

Dear Arlene744,
We appreciate your review regarding your recent stay with us and we are pleased to hear that you got your three top things out of your stay with us. Our bathrooms are definitely one of the projects we hope to achieve this coming up year to make sure that we give our guests the whole package when it comes to their stay. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again if you are ever in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2015

The front desk personnel need to be aware of who is entering their hotel. There was an obviously homeless gentleman going through the garbage can in the front of the property and then walked
Past front desk attendant, then proceeded down the guest hallway. Not sure if he exited the hotel
Or went up to the second floor. I pointed this out to the staff person, I believe her name was Kim,
Totally clueless and not too concerned.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa F, Loyalty Champion at Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2015

Dear Melinda J,
We are very sorry about the actions that were not taken during the incident you had brought to the front desk staffs attention and we have had a talk with her along with the rest of the front desk staff to ensure that the proper actions are taken if it were to come up again, we do hope that the rest of your stay as enjoyable and that you will still consider staying with us if you are ever in the area again. Again we do apologize and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2015

We stumbled onto this property at 9:30 pm just looking for a good place to stay. The staff was gracious and accommodating. It was easy off - easy on the freeway, yet far enough off that it was totally quiet. The room was clean, and the beds comfortable. Breakfast in the morning included cereal, eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, juice and coffee. Checkout was simply turning in the key and collecting our statment. The clerk was leaving to go somewhere else, but when she saw me she turned around and came back to the counter to check us out. With a SMILE! I totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the clerk for what you need! We needed a handicap room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa F, Loyalty Champion at Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015

Dear Anne L,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your stay with us, our staff try’s its hardest to make sure our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay and your review ensures us the job is getting done. We do hope that you will continue to stay with us if you are ever in the area. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
0.2 km away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
899 reviews
5.9 km away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#4 of 14 in Visalia
491 reviews
4.4 km away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
9.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
219 reviews
12.7 km away
Best Western Town & Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn

Address: 9300 W Airport Dr, Near College of the Sequoias, Visalia, CA 93277-9500 (Formerly Visalia Sequoia Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Visalia
#5 Business Hotel in Visalia
Price Range: ₹ 4,820 - ₹ 8,598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of Visalia, CA just 39 miles West of the fabulous Sequoia National Park at Hwy 198 and only seconds from Hwy 99. All of our completely renovated rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. We serve Complimentary Full Hot Breakfast daily and offer Free WiFi for all our guests. Our Fitness center includes a weight system and other state of the art equipment. We welcome pets. Plaza Park Sports Complex is just across the street and it includes a fun dog park as well. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Visalia Sequoia Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Visalia
Comfort Inn Visalia
Visalia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing