We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
23
7
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a great place to spend great fitness center tahoe mountain villa bedroom pool toiletries appliances snow
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Wonderful cabins. Great workout facilities. Cool pool. Views to die for.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HarrisBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Old Greenwood Resort - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review for your stay in our cabins at Old Greenwood! I totally agree with you about the views, my favorite is the view from the 16th hole of the Old Greenwood golf course. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We went to Old Greenwood for a family reunion this summer. Tahoe is beautiful in the summer. It's got a quiet, lazy and peaceful vibe to it different from the snowy winters, which is also beautiful.
Someone in the family has a fractional ownership - and loves the place so much that we all ended up there. Each family rented their own townhome or villa.
We loved that each townhome has its own driveway and parking garage. They actually are built to feel like you're in your own separate house. The proximity of other property to each other is well spaced, so it didn't feel cluttered at all. We stayed in a three bedroom 3 bedroom, 3 1/2 bath townhome. We loved the high ceilings, the high end kitchen appliances and materials. It's beautifully decorated to match the mountain theme. We had a great view of a natural pond off the golf course. Apparently it's a good place to go fly-fishing in the morning.
I agree with another post about how easy it is to get to. It's right off of the I-80 just past downtown Truckee. Once you exit, you go down a small street and you're immediately thrust into a feeling of privacy and seclusion. They developed this area and maintained its natural setting.
Big kudos for the water feature for kids and the swimming pools. The largest pool is a zero entry swimming pool meaning that it has a gradual entry. GREAT for young kids! We loved that and more importantly so did our toddler son. We also loved the water slide. It landed you in shallow water.
Food and service was decent at the pool. It had nice clean bathrooms and showers. Towels were readily available. We loved that it wasn't that crowded there. Much better than staying in a hotel. Of course weekends are much busier - Monday was even more quiet and much more pleasant.
Old Greenwood also has a spa and the gym looked great. They have some exercise classes that you can take. It's a beautiful resort and we never even left while we were there. Looks like we will be here again. It's a great place for families and it's close to everything!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorCal_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Old Greenwood Resort - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the townhomes at Old Greenwood! I am happy to hear that your family had a fantastic reunion and that you were able to enjoy the residence itself as well as many of the facilities that are available at Old Greenwood. I say it quite often, but Old Greenwood is a special, gathering place for friends and families and I truly believe that your review is just another testament to that. I hope to see your entire extended family back at Old Greenwood soon but if it's just you and your immediate family, that would be wonderful as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

My aunt has a time share here & this is our 2nd trip out for a week. We really enjoy it. Great for the kids. Spacious & well equipped unit & beautiful pool. Good food & reasonably priced at the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfldvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Old Greenwood Resort - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Welcome Back to Old Greenwood and thank you for taking the time to review our resort and properties. Without a doubt, you and your family are aware that you have found a hidden treasure in North Lake Tahoe. You all have done a fantastic job enjoying so much that Old Greenwood offers our guests. I too love the pools! I truly hope this is just the beginning of a family tradition for you all and look forward to seeing you here again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

My family, extended family, and friends from all over the country have been coming up to OG for over 5 yrs now and I wanted to write a review because this place is fantastic, and the staff deserves kudos for sure!
They have truly thought of everything when they built this place.
To start off, the resort is very easy to get to and it is close to downtown Truckee, shopping, and restaurants. It is also a 10 minute drive to Northstar, 40 minutes to Reno airport and if you want to gamble you can hit the Hyatt at King's Beach about 35 minutes away. Our family usually comes during ski season but summertime is fantastic too. The cabins are very nice, great kitchen, king size beds, fireplaces etc.
They have 3 great swimming pools, one for the kiddies, a community pool with a water slide and lifeguards on duty, and a lap pool in a more secluded area if you want to chillax.
They have waiters at poolside bringing you drinks and food, and if you want to eat inside they have a very cool little cafe inside the pavilion.
They also have great tennis courts, and you can sign up for a lesson ( my 10 year old son took a group lesson and loved it) The instructor was a very upbeat, enthusiastic lady who was great with the kids. I don't golf but my Father in law is an avid golfer and said the course is "first rate".
If you have kids , they also have a" kids club" in the pavilion with a game room, and computers and a pool table, and they also offer "movie night"(dinner included) , so you and you're husband can drop off the kids and go out to dinner and they take care of everything else. They also have a smaller "kids club" for the younger kids with an attached playground. There is also a little store in the pavilion if you need to pick up some groceries but don't feel like driving into town. They also have a shuttle service that runs daily to Northstar if you don't want to drive. The Alpine Club, Schaffer's camp and the Wild goose are just some of the things that are so fantastic about OG, it is really hard to beat!
OG also has a GREAT gym and spa and the ladies locker room has a wonderful steam room. I will tell you that a few of the lockers were not working but they had others that were so it wasn't a big deal.
The staff at the front desk are friendly, competent and helpful. The maintenance staff has ALWAYS been great as well, if anything was broken or not working properly they are on it. Every year we have 2 full cabins full of friends coming to visit, simply because OLD GREENWOOD is a beautiful place with so many great amenities, a stellar staff and a top notch vacation experience!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aabergstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I just stayed at an old greenwood cabin over the new year's holiday and it was wonderful. Very spacious and lovely decorations. The gourmet kitchen was great and made cooking fun and even a little elegant.

The cabins are an easy drive from the Reno airport (about half hour) and very close to Northstar skiing (about 10 minutes).

The staff was also very friendly, but the accommodations really 'speak' for themselves.

It was a great getaway!!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddosquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews