We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“guys weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Helpful staff, happy people, clean establishment, great mountain lodge close by, epic slopes, beautiful setting, easy to use shuttle bus service, and good food. I was 1 of 9 people and all of us agreed to come back next year.

Room Tip: Get a room with a full kitchen so you can make your own meals. Restaurants can be spendy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2015

Hi Adam H- Thanks for taking the time to submit your review & for staying with us. We know you have many choices of lodging in Tahoe & we're glad you chose Tahoe Mountain Lodging. Our multi-bedroom residences are great for group gatherings & when the Village is in full swing there's plenty to do for everyone. Please contact me when you are scheduling your next getaway & I'll be happy to personally assist your group.
Nicole, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2015

We have been taking ski vacations with our children, 8 and 11, since they were born. We know what works best for our family and book according to our specifications more that looking for the best deal. We have skied Vail, Beaver Creek, Aspen, Jackson Hole and other comparable resort areas, without disappointment. Each resort was true to its location, accommodations, amenities and customer service. As we pulled up to the Iron Horse we realized this was not going to be the 5 star resort that was advertised.

This was a limited rental property. Not a resort hotel that featured condominium accommodations. The on site features were in the village and not on the property. We were renting a privately owned condo.. The furniture is worn, sleeper sofa mattress was worn, couch and chair had stains, carpet needs to be replaced, only picture hanging in the bathroom has broken frame. There are no hooks or even a closet to hang your ski apparel after skiing. However, many rules from the owner on keeping there property in order or fees would apply. We did not choose to travel to rent someone else's vacation property. We were sold based on the 5 star/Vail management expectations.
It has been inconveniènt since our " rental" is not 100 yards from the gondola, grocery store is 15 minutes away. This was supposed to be a vacation. I did not intend to have to grocery shop, make beds, ensure the safe keeping of our room and have to leave the property for dining, pool, etc. We had many options at thè time we booked this vacation. We had booked months in advance.
I shared my concerns with the check in staff and was basically told I should try to call American Express travel and then their reservation manager. There was nothing they could do.. To top off the trip, which no one can control, the conditions for skiing are horrible. I called a week before coming with this concern. I spoke to a hotel,rep in reservtions that stated they were still running. Less than 1/2 the mountain is open. Did it truly change that much in a week?
This is my first review on a forum such as this after traveling with my husband for over 25 years. It makes a huge difference traveling with children, when the expectation does not meet what was represented.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
5  Thank NCmom6974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Hello NCmom6974-
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay at Iron Horse Lodge. We have looked into your concerns & noticed that you booked via American Express & Orbitz. In speaking with American Express & checking the Orbitz website, neither categorized us as a 5-star resort. We are user-rated as 4.2 & our property is accurately ranked as a 4-star; it's unfortunate you misunderstood this & had different expectations. Additionally, American Express, Orbitz & our website accurately depict our accommodations as privately owned, vacation rental condominiums; nowhere have we been represented as a hotel with full amenities in the lobby. Just steps Iron Horse Lodge, however, are The Village at Northstar shops, eateries, grocery, spa services & the on-site hot tubs, fitness center, etc; they are readily available & do not require a car or driving.
We will pass on your feedback about the furniture, sleeper sofa & carpets as our owners & staff take the upkeep of each residence very seriously & take pride in offering upscale accommodations. The picture frame is actually not broken but "distressed", as our maintenance staff mentioned to you, therefore the edges intentionally have a worn look.
Our Reservation Manager contacted you to see how we might make your stay more enjoyable. I understand you requested a refund & yet you still wanted to stay in the residence for the duration of your vacation. We are unable to offer a refund unless you vacate the premises, but if there are other ways we may be able to make your family's stay more pleasant, please let us know.
As we near the end of the 2015/2016 ski season snow conditions are not optimal, but hopefully you will enjoy the fresh powder from yesterday's storm.
Also, if you vacation at Lake Tahoe again might we suggest that The Ritz-Carlton would be a nice fit for your family. They will offer the five-star hotel experience you are seeking.
Safe travels & we sincerely apologize for the misunderstandings you seem to have encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

This past weekend I was delighted to stay in the Iron Horse (South) building in the Village at Northstar. These accommodations are 5 star all the way - From the check in process with the amazing front desk staff to the room or rather 2 bedroom condo with full kitchen and patio. We had great access to the fitness facilities as well as a prime location next to the Highland Gondola. The Village had a ton of great activities and dining. It was the perfect weekend to get away with my girlfriends and do some skiing!

Room Tip: Bring your own goodies to stock the fridge! The kitchen has everything you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015

Hi Amy K- Thanks for the wonderful review & for staying with us. We're happy you were able to make the most of our multi-bedroom accommodations & use the kitchen, enjoy the patio, amenities & the proximity to all that The Village at Northstar has to offer. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

A group of friends of mine got together for a girls weekend here. We had a delightful time and enjoyed every minute of our stay here. The condo was very spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Even unexpected things were in our condo from Martini glasses to informative guidebooks on the area and even a washer/dryer. Conveniently located steps away from great restaurants in the Village at Northstar and with a Gondola ride to the Ritz Carlton. We loved the Apres ski experience, ice-skating, skiing and shopping. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room that had a lovely patio outside to sit and enjoy the mountain scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank tahoegal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Hi Tahoe Gal- We're pleased you had a great time for your girl's weekend. Our residences do lend well to large families or groups wishing to stay together & are fully-outfitted with everything needed for a terrific visit. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Lovely, well equipped, and convenient We had a great time here. Very comfortable. Very easy to book and the property manager Lauren was awesome. Prompt responses to every request. Loved it. Too bad the snow wasn't great but still had a good time.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
5  Thank barbara94941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Hello Barbara-
We're pleased you had a wonderful stay & hoping a few storms are headed our way this week for fresh powder!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
1.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
11.9 km away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,915 reviews
0.1 km away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
632 reviews
38.7 km away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
913 reviews
6.2 km away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging

Address: 4001 Northstar Dr, Truckee, CA 96161-4250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Truckee
Price Range: ₹ 11,351 - ₹ 89,447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Horse Lodge, slopeside in The Village at Northstar, offers luxurious one, two, three and four-bedroom condominium accommodations. Residences include a complete kitchen (or kitchenette), great room, fireplace (most) and outdoor terrace showcasing expansive views of the surrounding mountains or Village excitement. Located mere steps from the gondola and set among boutique shops and restaurants, Iron Horse Lodge guests have access to a year-round, heated, outdoor swimming pool and hot tubs, fitness centers, steam and locker rooms plus complimentary underground parking and private ski storage lockers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing