We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good launching point for other lakes in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Donner Lake Village
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Rooms are clean and cute. The older buildings do not have much lake view (some rooms have NONE) so I would ask for the newer one (probably costs more). They were redoing the parking lot when we were there so they gave a coupon for a future discount (would have rather had it NOW). Small beach and swimming dock. They need more comfortable outdoor seating and more on the patios. It was nice to hang out by the lake at the end of the day. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

Our main reason for staying here was easy access to various small lakes to kayak (Serene, Lake Valley, Fuller, Donner itself, and others) and for that it was convenient (I couldn't find anything but campgrounds really close to most of them). Also close to Boca, Prosser and Stampede reservoirs if you like big lakes.

We had a full kitchen to make meals. Pretty quiet at night, although you can hear Hwy 80 all the time and the trains come through at night.

Would possibly stay here again to explore more. We don't like the busyness of Tahoe, so it was preferable to staying there. Donner gets a lot of boat traffic but during the week after school started it was pretty calm. All in all good value.

Room Tip: Ask about the building directly facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HappySummer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for you great review of Donner Lake Village. I am glad it helped you have access to all the great kayaking areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

The front desk was Very friendly and helpful. The room was dated but comfortable. I wasnt real fond of the key codes for doors. Overall a nice place with a safe family atmosphere. Come see me at the Clark Fork Lodge sometime!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clarkforklodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for mentioning the Donner Lake Village front desk and friendly staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

It's right on the lake, but runs from the lake to the road, so most of the "view" rooms are actually partial, and they have put picnic tables in front most that seriously restrict the view. The other half of the rooms face the large parking lot with only a view of blacktop and/or cars. Rooms vary from standard motel to large units with full kitchens.

They make it clear there is no AC. It can get quite warm, and they do have fans in the rooms, but these also vary. We saw some very nice large ones in a few of the rooms, but we had a small floor model. We were smart, and brought one from home, just in case. Ours was much better.

The large lawn area with chaise lounges, tables and chairs is quite nice, but there is little shade and we would have enjoyed an umbrella.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SacramentoCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for highlighting Donner Lake Village's great location. Your umbrella idea is a good one! We will pass that on to the operations team.
Becky Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I paid over $530 for 2 nights and it was very outdated with old furniture and carpet. The toilet didn't flush correctly. We had to hold the handle down until the water circulated completely. There was NO water pressure in the shower. When I asked for a refund for the second night shortly after we checked in I was told no refunds even though I gave over 24 hour notice. My son said for the price we paid it should be a 5-star hotel and the clerk was rude and said they never claimed to be a 5-star hotel. they claim to have a beach and there really is NOT a beach at the hotel. When we complained about the condition of the rooms we were told the two we were in were amongst the 3 oldest rooms they had, yet I still had to pay the astronomical price. Won't go back to Donner Lake Village!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank whoshouse30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

My husband and I had mini one week vacation and stayed in Donner Lake Village in July. The weather was great! 80-87 degrees, night was cold 35-40.
We stayed in studio 223 on the 2nd floor and we had some view of the lake, the room itself was nice and comfortable with kitchen, comfortable bed.
Village has laundry and sauna. For some reason Sauna was open only till 4.30 pm Mn-Th and Fr- Sn till 9.30 pm.
They do not have air conditioner but have celling fan and extra one in the closet, we did not use. Day time room was very warm but at night you can leave door some open and it will cool down. Very quiet place. They have boats and other water equipment for rent. We mainly hiked and ran in area and really enjoyed our time. Truckee downtown is 4.5 miles away and has Safeway and few restaurants. Very cute downtown with old history.

Room Tip: very good quiet hotel on the west side of the Donner Lake, near hiking and biking trails. Will stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tatiana692017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for bringing to light all the great things about Donner Lake Village and the Truckee area. We hope we see you back at Donner Lake Village sometime soon.
Becky Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
15.1 km away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,895 reviews
15.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
10.8 km away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
628 reviews
14.9 km away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
342 reviews
6.5 km away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#11 of 13 in Truckee
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donner Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village

Address: 15695 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-3649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
Price Range: ₹ 6,597 - ₹ 14,876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Donner Lake Village 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Donner Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort
Donner Lake Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing