We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Donner Lake Village
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Reviewed 10 January 2016

I feel sorry about giving this a one-star, because all the staff we interacted with were exceptionally nice and helpful. But the facility is literally a dump. Most of the electrical outlets in our room did not work. The overhead light flicked on and off. The bed made us sore. It was shockingly bad. I'm not a grump - I've never given any restaurant, hotel or business a one-star review. Stay away!

Room Tip: The condos are individually owned, so some of them may be better than the dump we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MoAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thank you for your complements about our staff in your review. They work hard to take care of all our guest's needs. We were sorry to read the rest of your comments about your room and wish that you had contacted us during your stay to fix the lighting issues. We are in the process of room and furniture upgrades at Donner Lake Village. It sounds like the room you stayed in has not had a bed upgrade yet. I would like your assistance in identifying which room you were in so we can improve the upgrade speed. I hope to speak with you directly about your experience. Please contact me at Info@donnerlakevillage.com or at (530)583-5500 x4013. Again, we are very sorry about your experience and are working hard to make important improvements at Donner Lake Village.
Thank you,
Becky Moore
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2015

The location is nice but the hotel lacks any character. With all the other charming hotels in Tahoe and air bnb, I won't choose Donner Lake Village again unless everything else is booked. Be wary of making a reservation here if there is any chance at all you might not be able to keep it - their 'policy' is to keep the full cost of your stay if you need to change dates (no matter what the emergency), even if they are able to rent your room to someone else. Customer service? Not at Donner Lake Village.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

I am sorry you had a poor customer service experience at Donner Lake Village. While we understand that plans change and sympathize with your frustration, our 7 day cancellation policy is communicated clearly throughout the reservation and confirmation process. When plans do change, we do make efforts to rebook the room however in this case, during the holiday season and on short notice, we were unable to do so. I hope you can understand the need for such a policy. Thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Becky Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

I went skiing and needed a last minute hotel, so I booked a room at Donner Lake Village via hotels.com and got an excellent rate. The rooms were clean and had plenty of space for 2 or 3 people (1 Queen bed and a sofa-bed) and were setup for a ski audience. A small kitchenette allows you to make your own breakfast / coffee without a problem. My room had excellent wifi connection (5 bars) and was very fast, streaming video without any problems.

In the summer I would recommend to get a room with lake view, for skiing I was fine with any room. All rooms seem to be quite and have no street noise.

The hotel is about 10 - 15 min away from Sugar Bowl ski resort. Fair warning the most direct way to the ski resort goes up a mountain road where you might need chains or 4 wheel drive, otherwise you have to go to the Sugar Bowl via I80, which takes a few min longer, but is still very close.

Overall a great last minute pick, I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ThomasHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

I went with my family just a few days ago. It was snowing outside, and the view of the lake was stunning. The service was nice; we said we needed something, they gave it to us by the end of the day. Also, the room had heating, so everyone stayed warm throughout the night.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Stayed here for one night on a road trip around America. The location is amazing, in the middle of the forest on a lake, the scenery is stunning! We checked in very late at night and had to use an outdoor phone to gain access to the building - would have been better to have someone on a desk or 24 hour reception service, was quite daunting being out in the woods on our own not knowing if we were going to make it to our room! The room was a little outdated and on the small side for four adults, with one double bed and a double sofa bed (a bit like a contraption out of a SAW movie) wasnt the most comfortable nights sleep but the room had all the essential amenities for us to relax. The room was generally clean and tidy. The lake looked amazing in the morning but we didnt stick around long enough to enjoy this hotel to its potential. Would happily stay here again for longer to enjoy the location.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura_S_D_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
15.1 km away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,897 reviews
15.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
10.8 km away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
628 reviews
14.9 km away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
342 reviews
6.5 km away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#11 of 13 in Truckee
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donner Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village

Address: 15695 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-3649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
Price Range: ₹ 6,645 - ₹ 15,115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Donner Lake Village 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Donner Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort
Donner Lake Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing