We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice of refreshments”

End of the Line Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Quick Bites in Dungeness
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 29 May 2021

We called in for a coffee in the middle of a sunny afternoon. The establishment is Covid safe. There's an excellent, well marked one way system, mask must be worn, hand sanitiser is available and contacless payment is available. There was a good choice of refreshments available and the staff were friendly and helpful. The coffee was very tasty and it was very enjoyable to sit outside in the sunshine. There was an added bustle when ever a train arrived. Ample free parking is also available right outside the restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2021

We visited the End of the Line Restaurant at Dungeness on a couple of occasions as part of a day out with some friends in May, we drove to Dungeness and there is ample free parking at the station though using the train is a viable option.
On the day of our visit no inside seating was available due to Covid 19 restrictions and patrons were served at the counter before taking their purchases outside. The café has an outside seating area primarily accessed from the platform though there was an open door leading from the café and we used this later on our second visit in the afternoon.
On the day of our visit, the café had a reasonable range of refreshments, most of our party bought a round of sandwiches with either crisps, biscuits or cakes to bolster these and either tea or a soft drink. The staff serving seemed helpful enough.
We used the café as a convenient place for refreshments whilst exploring the immediate area but it would also make an ideal stop for train passengers either starting, finishing or breaking their journeys here.
It is pleasant to sit in the outside seating area and enjoy the solitude of the area ‘away from the madding crowd’ before the periodic excitement of arriving train and departing trains makes the area busy.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 May 2021

A trip to Derek jarman's house while we're at Dungeness was a must however sadly the trip to the end of the line restaurant stroke coffee house was an unpleasant taste in my mouth. The staff were unwelcoming not friendly ,inattentive and to be frank if we hadn't of waved at them to advise them that we were standing there waiting to order they would have carried on chatting.They looked straight through us like ghosts until my normally shy daughter said 'can we order please?'.
I would like to think that this is just a blip as I would expect that after today there would be lots of people visiting and this type of establishment should be ready to welcome people after the year we've had with open arms.

Date of visit: May 2021
3  Thank Mummyparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

When we visited it was during COVID so the main restaurant was following Gov guidelines and was closed, so I cannot comment on the food. However the coffee machine was open for takeaways. The smell of freshly brewing coffee was a welcome delight and we sat in the outdoor seating area to have our caffeine fix. The staff were very helpful and filled our travel mugs with a second cup for us to enjoy on the beach.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank 408hazelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 April 2021

Remarkably they were open. Unsurprisingly it's a bit pricey (eatery attached to steam railway) and the range is never very wide but the tea and Mocha on Easter Sunday were nice.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank garysP7572XO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed End of the Line Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to End of the Line Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing